We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great family destination”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
Ranked #2 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great family destination”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

It was our first vacation with the baby, went with my parents and shared a 2 bedroom villa right on the beach. It surpassed all our expectations. The service was top notch (all except one time we needed a ride from the golf club and we waited an hour, otherwise we never waited more than 10minutes for the complimentary shuttle), food very good (they accommodated all requests with regard to hold the salt, light oil etc), accommodations very nice. There was no question the villa manager or front office couldn't answer for me. Even provided baby bottle cleaning items. Only complaint would be the small roaches in the kitchenette, but as soon as we mentioned, they sprayed the next day and that helped a lot. My husband loved the golf, play every day and had no problems getting tee time. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: ocean front worth every penny, you stroll 50 steps to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kaye H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Haye,

On behalf of team members & myself , thank you for taking the time to complete our guest comment form on your recent stay at Tortuga Bay.

I am delighted to read that your expectations were met or exceeded and that you will return to us when you next visit at Tortuga Bay. Your feedback is invaluable and much appreciated, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we provide to our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Tortuga Bay in the future, and give you a “ for one – of a kind Leading Experience’’.

Yours sincerely,


Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY.
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Tel (8090 959-8229 ext 7220
Cel.(829) 797-1121
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    530
    57
    19
    6
    7
See reviews for
168
342
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

We had our wedding at the Tortuga Bay Club House it was amazing and the service was incredible! Ms.Bianelkys weddig coordinator helped our dream wedding come true thank you sooo much! As far as our stay at the Tortuga Bay we stayed at villa 620 Jr Honeymoon suite which was amazing the beach was our backyard! and the service was incredible also staff was super nice Ms.Giselle & Karin thank you so much for everything you exceeded our expectations. This is not an all inclusive but the prices for food were decent and food was good,it was the best vacation by far and I will be coming back hopefully with my entire family! Thank You Tortuga Bay Family!

Room Tip: The room was excellent no complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Mrs. Diana,

On behalf of the Tortuga bay family.

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your comments about your recent stay at our Tortuga Bay Hotel. As we are deeply committed to achieving our guest’s total satisfaction, your opinion is very important to us.

I am delighted to read that your expectations were met or exceeded and that you will return to us when you next visit at Tortuga Bay. Your feedback is invaluable and much appreciated, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we provide to our guests.


Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again to our Tortuga Bay hotel, and give you a “Leading” Experience.


Yours sincerely,




Vincenzo Calcerano
General l Manager
Tortuga Bay Puntacana resort & Club
Tel 959-2262 ext 7220
vcalcerano@puntacana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012 via mobile

Well, there are not too many negative things said on here about TB and I don't necessarily want to repeat the great points about this place, but I will :)
It is unlikely you will be disappointed going here. The staff is incredibly friendly, genuine and seemingly very proud to work at such a great place. Our villa manager, Yanidel, was wonderful. Her warm smile and calming manner added to our experience. The restaurant service staff was always personable and engaging every morning we came to breakfast (which was always delicious. It's not everyday, back in the real world, where I could eat as much fresh papaya as I wanted every morning.)
The grounds are exquisitely manicured. An amazing variety of palm tree types are everywhere. They must have spent quite a bit of money on these when they created the place 6 or so years ago. The orchids creatively placed on some of the palm trunks are a nice touch.
Driving around on the golf carts or walking the grounds was a big add to the experience since it was so beautiful. Be sure and ask for one of the newer, electric cart since the gas ones are louder and have fumes.
Our extended family (17 of us) went here and we had 3 villas simultaneously. We had the staff arrange a barbecue one evening on the deck of one villa and it was great. Two of our villas were right on the beach with incredible views and a huge lawn for the kids to play on. The rooms were large and decorated well. The main living area had plenty of space and places to leave stuff around which tends to happen on trips. I forgot to mention to the staff that my in-room safe in 6181 smelled like old fruit but hopefully they read this and rectify.
One drawback to the experience was the somewhat lack of dining establishments. The food was good, varied and of good quality, but a place such as this should have a higher level of a restaurant available. The ability to go to the other restaurants in the larger Punta Cana resort complex was good but none of them truly matched the luxury of the Tortuga Bay atmosphere.
We had 8 kids with us, all under 11. They had a great time with each other and there were surprisingly many other couples with kids. Jeez, I could go on!
Anyway, in short...Highly Recommended.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Mr. / Mrs. John,

On behalf of the Tortuga bay family.

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your comments about your recent stay at our Tortuga Bay Hotel. As we are deeply committed to achieving our guest’s total satisfaction, your opinion is very important to us.

I am delighted to read that your expectations were met or exceeded and that you will return to us when you next visit at Tortuga Bay. Your feedback is invaluable and much appreciated, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we provide to our guests.


Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again to our Tortuga Bay hotel, and give you a “Leading” Experience.


Yours sincerely,




Vincenzo Calcerano
General l Manager
Tortuga Bay Puntacana resort & Club
vcalcerano@puntacana.com
Tel 809 959-2262 ext 7220
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012 via mobile

We are just concluding a 10 day visit to Tortuga Bay, and we find ourselves looking forward to returning some time soon. For perspective, we are a family of four, with two daughters who are 8 & 9. We stayed in villa #615, which was HUGE, and right on the beach. We are a family who compares everything to Four Seasons, and this villa easily met those standards. We were told ours was one of four that were this large, but I suspect we would have been equally happy in one of the smaller units.
While we have stayed in nicer overall hotels, we felt this deserved 5 stars given the fact we were in the Dominican Republic, and not the South of France. This is as good as you will find in the DR, and just about anywhere we have been in the Caribbean. The property is extremely well maintained, it's well laid out and spacious, and the staff goes out of there way to be pleasant and helpful. We would give the staff a rating of 6 if such a rating existed.
The beach is very well groomed with nice sand and plenty of comfortable seating. You don't need to worry about running down in the morning to reserve chairs...there is plenty, even at peak capacity. The golf courses looked fantastic, and the tennis facility as well. We used neither, but regret not doing so. We had great massages at the spa, and they even had specials for the girls, which they absolutely loved. Our girls loved riding the bikes they provide upon arrival, and they were safe exploring on their own without needing us to be with them. This provided some much needed alone time for mom and dad. The girls really loved the equestrian center, and took several riding lessons while they were here. The facility is well maintained, as were the horses. The instructor, Reuben, speaks no English, but is extemely patient and competent We will likely schedule daily lessons next trip given the quality of the experience and affordability. Worthy of note is the VIP service at the airport, which cannot be understated. You get off the plane, and someone is waiting for you on the Tarmac to ease you thru customs. It's saves a huge amount of time and headache, and is a really nice way to start the vacation. It's complimentary only for Tortuga Bay guests.
As with any vacation spot, there are seem short-comings. None of which we would consider major problems, but worth noting for the purpose of a quality review. First, we had a queen bed in the master suite. They said they have plans to upgrade them to kings, but the beds seems little small relative to the size of the rooms. We also had a crying baby upstairs, which we could hear very clearly. I would be certain to ask for a family with children above you, and have them remove the complimentary slippers they leave in the rooms. They sound like sand paper as people walk upstairs, and it's very annoying to hear early in the morning. You could request the upstairs units if you only need a single room, and not worry about this issue.
Overall, we leave feeling like we got our money's worth from our time here. The weather was good, the food was good, the facility and service was great. We would highly recommend for couples or families.

Stayed May 2011
Helpful?
14 Thank Jcwgolf1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Dear Sir,

On behalf of team members & myself , thank you for taking the time to complete our guest comment form on your recent stay at Tortuga Bay.

I am delighted to read that your expectations were met or exceeded and that you will return to us when you next visit at Tortuga Bay. Your feedback is invaluable and much appreciated, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we provide to our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Tortuga Bay in the future, and give you a “ for one – of a kind Leading Experience’’.

Yours sincerely,


Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY.
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Tel (8090 959-8229 ext 7220
Cel.(829) 797-1121
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Everything that can be a hassle about traveling in the Caribbean is eliminated when you stay at Tortuga Bay. They meet you at the bottom of the steps of the plane, whisk you through immigration and customs, collect your luggage and load you into an air conditioned car which takes you the 10 minute drive to your villa. Landing to beach is about 35 minutes. From then on, everything you need is taken care of. The food is great- simple grilled meats, seafood and vegetables. The rooms are beautiful- decorated by Oscar de la Renta and Bunny Williams. The beach is empty and lovely. The staff is flawless. The manager bends over backward to meet every request. It could not be better!!!

Room Tip: You can't get a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank decarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Decarts,

On behalf of team members & myself , thank you for taking the time to complete our guest comment form on your recent stay at Tortuga Bay.

I am delighted to read that your expectations were met or exceeded and that you will return to us when you next visit at Tortuga Bay. Your feedback is invaluable and much appreciated, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we provide to our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Tortuga Bay in the future, and give you a “ for one – of a kind Leading Experience’’.

Yours sincerely,


Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY.
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Tel (8090 959-8229 ext 7220
Cel.(829) 797-1121
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We just got back this morning from a wonderful week at Tortuga Bay and can't wait to return. The service level was simply amazing! Our daughters (15/12) were with us and we all stayed in the ground level two bedroom beachfront villa (Villa 622). Giselle, our Villa Manager, provided a very personal concierge service to our Family and we are forever grateful for her willingness to make our spring break trip so special. We participated in most, if not all of the activities in the area, and she was very good at setting up the logistics around. Clearly, Tortuga Bay is one of those special places that you find rarely, and in a strange way, selfishly want to keep it to yourself. Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ketch77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Sir,

On behalf of team members & myself , thank you for taking the time to complete our guest comment form on your recent stay at Tortuga Bay.

I am delighted to read that your expectations were met or exceeded and that you will return to us when you next visit at Tortuga Bay. Your feedback is invaluable and much appreciated, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we provide to our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Tortuga Bay in the future, and give you a “ for one – of a kind Leading Experience’’.

Yours sincerely,


Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY.
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Tel (8090 959-8229 ext 7220
Cel.(829) 797-1121
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Upon our arrival, we were greeted by the staff of Tortuga Bay and driven through the long lines of customs into a fast, private customs line. Our luggage was handled and brought to our room.

The villa was superb!!!! Ocean front. Room length balcony. HUGE room. We were given our own golf cart to roam the grounds with for our stay.
Great facial at the beautiful spa and the golf course overlooks the ocean. Grounds were beautiful!

Crystal clear water. Great drink selections and wine lists. Food was terrific!

Room Tip: idk how the regular rooms are, but the villas were superb. I cannot imagine you could go wrong here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Goodfood72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Sir,


On behalf of team members & myself , thank you for taking the time to complete our guest comment form on your recent stay at Tortuga Bay.

I am delighted to read that your expectations were met or exceeded and that you will return to us when you next visit at Tortuga Bay. Your feedback is invaluable and much appreciated, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we provide to our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Tortuga Bay in the future, and give you a “ for one – of a kind Leading Experience’’.

Yours sincerely,


Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY.
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Tel (8090 959-8229 ext 7220
Cel.(829) 797-1121
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
3.7 mi away
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
#42 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,429 reviews
14.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
27.3 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#3 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
13.6 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
5.7 mi away
Eden Roc at Cap Cana
Eden Roc at Cap Cana
#9 of 110 in Punta Cana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club

Property: Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
Address: Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find yourself in the jewel of the Caribbean. The only AAA Five Diamond Awarded property of the luxury Dominican republic hotels, Tortuga Bay offers responsible luxury, impeccable service and villas with interiors designed by the world-famous Oscar de la Renta. As a Tortuga Bay guest, our friendly, professional staff has every detail taken care of from the moment you touch down at our own Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ). Our VIP Service will whisk you through customs to a private car that has been awaiting your arrival. After a brief ride through the lush and vibrant Dominican scenery, your personal concierge will welcome you, check you in at your villa and provide you with your own golf cart for convenient travel throughout the resort. Located in a private enclave within the resort, this boutique hotel includes 13 luxurious beachfront Dominican Republic villas offering unrivaled luxury, privacy, security and five-star service. Guests may choose from a variety of accommodations: 1 bedroom junior suites, 2 bedroom suites, 3 or 4 bedroom villas, all situated along a private white sand beach, with every convenience within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing