We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon - We'll Be Returning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
Ranked #7 of 114 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My Husband and I spent our honeymoon at Tortuga Bay and we couldn't have stayed a better place. The staff took the time to talk to us and ask us questions and it really showed that they care about their guests. The amenities that the hotel and the resort group provides are incredible. The food is delicious, the rooms are gorgeous and the views are spectacular. The beaches are gorgeous, TB provides you with kayaks to get out and explore the water and amazing lounge chairs to relax on the beach. The entire experience was 5 star. We loved having VIP assistance through the airport on our way into Punta Cana and VIP assistance through the airport on our way out of Punta Cana. Our favorite part about Tortuga Bay was the privacy - we were able to really spend time and relax together without being disturbed. TB also provides you with a golf cart to use to travel to the other hotels and restaurants in the resort group- making everything so convenient. Tortuga Bay truly was paradise and we had a honeymoon we will never forget. We are already looking at planning our trip to come back, soon!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mackenzie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Mr. / Mrs. Mackenzie ,



We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Tortuga Bay Hotel on Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from your Honeymoon at Tortuga Bay!

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.

As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club , and give you a “ one- of a- kind’’ Leading Experience on your first weeding anniversary .


Yours sincerely,


Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Abraham Lincoln 960, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Tel. (809) 959-8229 Ext. 7220
Cel. (829) 797-1121

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (656)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 656 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

My wife and I had been thinking about visiting the D.R. for many years. My niece and husband, who is Dominican, live in Santo Domingo. When we told them we were coming, they said that Tortuga Bay was the only place to stay. From our arrival at Punta Cana airport, we were treated like VIP's. We were met on the tarmac and were escorted though customs and at Tortuga in 25 minutes from landing. We were escorted to our room and given a tour of the property. The beach was private and long with soft, white sand. There was some seaweed, but it was meticulously cleaned everyday. Our breakfast, which they called Continental, was anything but. It was simply wonderful and extensive. The service, especially Ramon, Francisco, Juan and Antonio were friendly and professional. Our room was a second floor Ocean Front Villa. It was clean, spacious and beautiful. The dining was very good to excellent at all the restaurants, including the Westin. La Yola, at the marina, was our favorite and the best. Dining was expensive, so be prepared. But if you want the best, you would expect to pay more for it. It was worth it. Finally, on a side note, Maria, who was at our beckon call with a cellphone that they gave us upon registration, noticed that my birthday fell on one of the days we were staying there. I didn't tell anyone. Well, my birthday arrived and everyone I saw that day wished me a Happy Birthday. After dinner, we arrived back at our villa only to find balloons, a Happy Birthday banner and a Birthday cake. How wonderful was that! All in all, a fabulous trip that we will remember and look forward to our return. By the way, the weather was wonderful, just one afternoon of thunderstorms, which actually gave us a break ffrom the sun. I didn't play any golf, but I will next time. The courses looked great. Also, we used the Spa, Six Senses, which was also nice.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor for better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SleeperLongIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Mr./ Mrs. Sleeper longlsland,

We appreciate that you took the time to write a review to share your vacation experience and are glad to hear you enjoyed your holiday with us. We hope you visit us again, as you are already part of the Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again to Tortuga Bay, and give you a "Leading" Experience.


Yours sincerely,


Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Abraham Lincoln 960, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Tel. (809) 959-8229 Ext. 7220
Cel. (829) 797-1121

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband and I spent 4 nights at Tortuga Bay for our honeymoon during the first week of June 2014 and we cannot stop thinking about our time in paradise. The first class treatment started with the airport pickup. The ease of getting from the plane to the resort was amazing. The villa itself was gorgeous. We were on the second floor of a unit just slightly back from the beachfront. The views were spectacular and we loved having two bathrooms.

Everyone on the staff was so pleasant and friendly. We enjoyed breakfast each morning at Bamboo (amazing fresh squeezed juice!!) and then spent much of our time on the beach. It was almost like having a private beach, with everyone spread across the sand. We ordered drinks and appetizers on the beach most afternoons and enjoyed all of the dinners that were scheduled for us. Our villa manager made sure we had plans each night and transportation to dinner each night was prompt. We loved dinner so much as Brassa (in the Westin in Punta Cana), that we went two nights in a row!

The golf cart and bikes were well loved. We enjoyed biking the resort. Our favorite activity was snorkeling, which we set up through the aquatic center. We boarded a boat with a captain and tour guide and the 4 of us enjoyed a great experience. The water was perfect and our tour guide pointed out many fish as we swam happily.

All in all, it was a perfect trip. My husband wants to spend every anniversary at Tortuga Bay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Mr. / Mrs. Lindsay ,



We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Tortuga Bay Hotel on Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from your Honeymoon at Tortuga Bay!
I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.

As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club , and give you a “ one- of a- kind’’ Leading Experience on your first weeding anniversary .


Yours sincerely,


Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Abraham Lincoln 960, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Tel. (809) 959-8229 Ext. 7220
Cel. (829) 797-1121

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We just returned from a 4 night trip at Tortuga Bay. Let's just say to start off, 4 nights isn't nearly long enough, 5 would have been perfect. The resort is extremely quiet and you hardly see anyone else. There were many times we were the only couple at breakfast. The staff there is truly amazing. Jose, Juan, Francisco and our favorite bartender Rafael! Everyone is very attentive. The free kayaks were very fun, we did it everyday and got to see some great sea life! There was quite a bit more seaweed than we anticipated but they have people cleaning it all day. The restaurants that are nearby are pretty expensive, you can expect to pay anywhere from $200-$300 per dinner, but they were all very lovely and in our opinion, worth it! We did the romantic beach dinner for our 10 year anniversary and it was amazing. Do it! The staff surprised us with candle light and ride petal turndown service. They also had a warm rose petal bath waiting for is after dinner with a banner and balloons that said happy anniversary. Again, 1st class. We went to Hard Rock one night for dinner and gambling and couldn't wait to get back to our quiet, quaint resort! A trip to remember. We will definitely be back to see our friends!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jennybgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Mr./ Mrs. Jennybgraham,


First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your comments about your recent stay at our Tortuga Bay Hotel. As we are deeply committed to achieving our guest’s total satisfaction, your opinion is very important to us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Tortuga Bay in the future, and give you a "a one - of a kind Leading Experience''.


Yours sincerely,





Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Tel. (809) 959-8229

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This was our second stay. The first 2 years ago was wonderful...Lovely service, beautiful suite,great beach...We went with friends in JA. 2014 for our second visit. The trouble started before we arrived when we learned that our stay and our friends had been pre charged on our credit card. While this was clearly against the policy ALL attempts to rectify it failed. We were subjected to many assurances that the charges had been credited back, & they never were. After wee arrived, we protested to the manager that we were supposed to be in villas next to each other...He was argumentative, escalating and rude...But things went RAPIDLY downhill! Our friends unit was old and tired looking...unlike the very healthy roaches that were scurrying all around their fruit platter, refrigerator, night table and eventually their bed. The manager was AGAIN outrageous insisting that all of the units were "sprayed," & insect free! He insulted us wi/ an offer of a free night or two in the middle of the summer when we wld never come!! Finally he gave us a dinner and a beach barbeque ...then, on night three, moved our friends. In the end, they credited two nights of the stay to us and to our friends. It was all VERY stressful...horrible actually. We will never go there again. It wld have made a huge difference if the manager had been polite, professional and immediatly moved our friends and offered some compensation. None of that occurred without many confrontations with him, and many e-mails to our travel agent at home.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank 456ScreenName1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Mr./ Mrs. 456 ScreenName1,



First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your comments from your stay in Tortuga Bay. As we are deeply committed to achieving our guest's total satisfaction, your opinion is very important to us.

We would like to offer our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience that you have experienced throughout your stay . At the same time you can feel assured that your comments helped us identify or focus on any possible deficiencies that may exist in Tortuga Bay and take whatever corrective actions may be necessary.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again to Tortuga Bay, and give you a "Leading" Experience.

Yours sincerely,


Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Abraham Lincoln 960, Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Tel. (809) 959-8229 Ext. 7220
Cel. (829) 797-1121
Fax (809) 959-8230

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Spent 4 days of our honeymoon here in early June 2013, will just run through the benefits sequentially:
-Customs/getting through the airport upon arriving was extremely painless, very well taken care of.
-Receive a golf cart upon arriving, which was fantastic for heading over to La Cana (neighboring private property with the spa/golf), Westin (can probably skip, still a bit under construction - although looked nice and Brasa was not a bad steak!) and La Yola/Marina (our favorite piece of travel).
-If you're going to go, get an Ocean Front villa suite (top floor) - fantastic breeze + as close to the beach as I have ever been at a hotel (see pics).
-Food at the resort was great - free breakfast (well stocked) + decent snacks menu (for beach eating) and the dinners we had at the Bamboo restaurant were FANTASTIC.
-Nice little cigar lounge/bar next to the main restaurant - they have music Thurs-Sat and Rafael (bartender) is a pretty nice guy (ask him for his cigar "tip" haha)
-Close to an "ecological reserve" which was kind of cool but ultimately can probably be missed (the local kids hang out there a bit and do some diving).
-La Yola is fantastic for a meal - recommend getting there a bit early if on Fri-Sat, otherwise think you can go whenever and get great service. Ceviche in particular was a highlight.
-Spa was nice but ultimately a tad forgettable - the bar at La Cana right next to the spa is quite nice though, so do check that out.
-The 9 at Arrecife (La Cana) is a fun play if you want a quick bit of fun (the Tortuga 9 was closed when we were there, would recommend that one if it's open). Don't miss Corales if you are a serious golfer, beautiful/well-appointed golf course with virtually no traffic...

A few cons (very minor in the scheme of things...)
-We had a few nights where we woke up with some nastyyy bug bites all over our legs - presume they were some of the little guys that had snuck into the bed. That was unpleasant but oh well.
-Be aware that it gets to be a fairly pricey trip if you plan on enjoying yourself at dinner/otherwise - as a frame of reference, we roughly came out at ~45% of room bill in dinner/extras over 4 days.

Overall, fantastic place to go for some peace and quiet - as long as you can afford it!

Room Tip: Believe the 1-bedroom "Villas" are the top floor options, which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bdriggs85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Mr. / Mrs. Bdriggs ,


We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Tortuga Bay Hotel on Tripadvisor! It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from your Honeymoon at Tortuga Bay!
I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.

As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again at Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club , and give you a “ one- of a- kind’’ Leading Experience on your first weeding anniversary .



Vincenzo Calcerano
GERENTE GENERAL TORTUGA BAY
809.959.8229 Ext.7220
MOBILE:829.797.1121

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Starting with its exquisite dinning options, Tortuga Bay Hotel offers all the amenities couples, family and friends are looking for in a perfect stay. Ideal place for people to enjoy a wonderful experience. Come visit!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Eloisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vcalcerano, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Mrs. Eloise,

We appreciate that you took the time to write a review to share your vacation experience and are glad to hear you enjoyed your holiday with us. We hope you visit us again, as you are already part of the Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club.

Once more, thank you for your comments. We hope to be able to welcome you again to Tortuga Bay, and give you a "Leading" Experience.


Yours sincerely,


Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager
Tortuga Bay Puntacana Resort & Club
Vcalcerano@puntacana.Com
1 829 797-1121

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
3.7 mi away
Sanctuary Cap Cana by Playa Hotels & Resorts
11.6 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
5.7 mi away
Eden Roc at Cap Cana
Eden Roc at Cap Cana
#4 of 114 in Punta Cana
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
11.4 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
13.6 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club

Address: Puntacana Resort & Club, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 114 Hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range: £481 - £1,692 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find yourself in the jewel of the Caribbean. The only AAA Five Diamond Awarded property of the luxury Dominican republic hotels, Tortuga Bay offers responsible luxury, impeccable service and villas with interiors designed by the world-famous Oscar de la Renta. As a Tortuga Bay guest, our friendly, professional staff has every detail taken care of from the moment you touch down at our own Punta Cana International Airport (PUJ). Our VIP Service will whisk you through customs to a private car that has been awaiting your arrival. After a brief ride through the lush and vibrant Dominican scenery, your personal concierge will welcome you, check you in at your villa and provide you with your own golf cart for convenient travel throughout the resort. Located in a private enclave within the resort, this hotel includes 13 luxurious beachfront Dominican Republic villas offering unrivaled luxury, privacy, security and five-star service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Stayforlong S.L., Booking.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing