We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$367
US$324
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$340
US$219
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Breathless Punta Cana Resort & Spa(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$371
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$253
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$392
US$293
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$459
US$325
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$285
US$261
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dreams Palm Beach Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$305
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$331
US$248
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$771
US$578
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (670)
Filter reviews
670 results
Traveller rating
577
59
20
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
577
59
20
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla yolavilla managerbamboo restaurantthrough customsgolf cartsix sensesvip serviceecological reservebedroom villafresh water lagoonspunta espadainternational airportocean frontfour seasonsvip loungeprivate beachbaggage claim
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
476 - 481 of 670 reviews
Reviewed 9 February 2010

Tortuga Bay is absolutely beautiful and incredibly relaxing. Our family enjoyed our vacation and will go back. The Villas are very private and just steps away from the ocean!
The staff is very friendly and willing to please.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelloKentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puntacana Resor... a, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2016

Dear Mr./Mrs. HelloKentucky,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback following your stay at the Tortuga Bay. I was absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we met your expectations. We all look forward to welcoming you back once again in the near future.

My best wishes,

Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Tel. (809) 959-8229 Ext. 7220
Cel. (829) 797-1121

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2010

Incredible and awesome experience. The movie star service at the airport is unparalled. The resort and the quality of the Villa and the staff cannot be beat. .

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank habho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puntacana Resor... a, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2016

Dear Mr./Mrs. habho,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback following your stay at the Tortuga Bay. I was absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we met your expectations. We all look forward to welcoming you back once again in the near future.

My best wishes,

Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Tel. (809) 959-8229 Ext. 7220
Cel. (829) 797-1121

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2010

Believe all the wonderful things you read on here!! the reviews are totally accurate, and if anything, don't do the hotel and entire experience any justice!

We booked our flight to Punta Cana before really looking into hotels and as soon as we saw the reviews for Tortuga Bay, were completely hooked.

From the minute we walked off the steps of the airplane, we were treated to first class service and got a taste of what it must be to be a celebrity - ushered from the plane, taken past the massive queues for immigration &through security with our own personal VIP service (she filled in all our visa forms etc) and then met by private car to whisk us to the hotel (immaculate roads and there in about 15mins!)

The service then continues - your luggage goes off to the villa without you even lifting a finger. Your private villa manager takes you by separate buggy to the stunning villa,where they check you in and show you around the villa, give you the keys to your own golf kart (big fun!!) and give you your mobile phone that's at your disposal for the entire stay.

The rooms are incredible - we had a one bedroom on the first floor (giant 2 bed beneath us and another one bedroom next door) and it was exquisite! I really am a fuss pot and can normally find something wrong with a room, but this blew us away. Just the right amount of Caribbean colour mixed with a relaxing Ocean / Ralph Lauren beach feel. You don't hear any sounds from the people around you and the balcony is incredibly private (if you feel the need to sit up there, personally, we wanted to be on the beach!)

It was my partners birthday whilst we were there and i had organised a surprise dinner on the beach, liaising with the hotel via email. However, when her birtday arrived, so did a Hurricane!! The Villa Manager helped me rapidly arrange a plan B (Playa Blanca - FANTASTIC - thoroughly spoilt, AMAZING food, brlliant location, great music, they surprised her with a GORGEOUS birthday cake). When we came back from dinner, the team had lit candles, placed flowers every where and run a candlelit bath filled with frangipans & chilled one of bottles of champayne - ABSOLUTELY INCREDIBLE!

The hurricane sadly stayed for almost as long as we did, however, this did not deter the villa manager from arranging the dinner - almost every day they would update me with the weather and whether we would be able to arrange the dinner!!! We did eventually and it was out of this world. They arranged it away from the villas, lit the table area with 4 giant torches, and half way through the evening, laid on a surprise 3 man mariachi band to serenade us!! To say it was one of the best nights is an understatement

Other highlights for us - the beach really is as beautiful and deserted as it looks & people say it is. Every day, twice a day it is swept clean - its amazing to run along and we went for frequent walks around to the golf club / spa area. You never see a soul!!

Some people have queried the quality of the food - we are from london and are lucky enough to frequent great restaurants and, without a doubt, Playa Blanca and Bamboo were top notch. The cocktails from Blag and Bertorelli were awesome (as were the plantin chips and dips - you must try, but not before dinner or you'll be stuffed!!)

Its not a huge resort, which again, we found blissful - we were there for 7 days and did not get bored!! We were a little more adventurous than a lot of guests & asked our villa manager for a recommendation for a good mexican restaurant off site and we went to her favourite. They arranged for a hotel car to take us there, and just said to call them when we wanted picking up with our mobile - it worked a treat and the food was so tasty. It was great to eat off site and chat with some of the locals (though it made me realise i really need to learn more Spanish!) (sadly can't remember the name of the Mexican, but apparently its owned by the same people as Mama Luisa's)

We also went to Punta Cana Village for dinner one night and ate at Mama Luisa's - what incredible food!! Some of the best Italian we have ever eaten and great price too! However, other than Mama Luisa, the Village was a bit of a ghost town - it was early in the season, but none of the restaurants were busy, and the bowling alley had closed down!!

Unrelated to the hotel, but as a birthday treat, i arranged a private day tour with Extreme Buggy - would highly recommend them. Again, top notch service, with tailor made tour - not as expensive as it sounds (and definitely not more expensive than the quad bike tours that take massive groups of tourists around the same spots)

The service is second to none - the staff definitely out number the guests and not only are you met with the biggest smiles where ever you go, nothing is too much trouble and they go the extra step to think of things before you can even think of them. There are too many favourite members of staff to mention - Ruth, our cleaner, was simply out of this world - always full of smiles, and even though she didn't speak English, she always chatted with us, left us incredible flowers, "towel birds" etc and various treats each day. Octavio, Michelle, Marella, Viktor, Melissa, Maximo & all the boys at breakfast who spoilt my partner with unending supplies of turkey sauasges...so many people who made our trip so special and to each of you, THANK YOU!!

It broke our hearts to leave - the blow was slightly softened by being able to make the most of our last few hours of sunshine by being given a temporary room to store our luggage and get showered in. The service doesn't end there though - you are taken back to the airport in a private car, met again by the VIP service, whisked through check in, security and passport control and taken to a Tortuga Bay exclusive lounge - only hotel guests are in there (there was only ourselves and one other couple in there!!!) When the flight is called, we were escorted past the lines, on to a golf kart and taken straight to the plane (whilst every one else had to walk!!)

With out a doubt, this is the best holiday we have ever been on - the location, the people, the food, the ambience, the relaxation - it is total and utter unadulterated bliss!! We don't like to go back to places once we've been as there are so many places to visit in the world....but we are already planning when we can get back there!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gashton75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puntacana Resor... a, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2016

Dear Mr./Mrs. Gashton75,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback following your stay at the Tortuga Bay. I was absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we met your expectations. We all look forward to welcoming you back once again in the near future.

My best wishes,

Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Tel. (809) 959-8229 Ext. 7220
Cel. (829) 797-1121

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2010

We just returned from a week at Tortuga bay with our three children (5, 3 and 5 months), and we can't honestly think of one bad thing to say about the place. We stayed in a 2 bedroom lower-level villa right on the beach (620). The view was amazing, the rooms were spacious and clean, the beds were extremely comfortable, and we did not hear the people above us. Above all, each and every member of the staff was courteous, professional, and - most importantly - friendly. They really seemed to enjoy their jobs, and did not once give us the impression that they resented us (which is the way we have felt at some of the other Caribbean resorts we have visited). They also really seemed to like kids: each and every one took the time to interact with ours, and it did not seem to be forced.
One of the best things about Tortuga Bay is that you are in a secluded little haven, with access to the entire Punta Cana resort and its many restaurants and activities. The villa came with a golf cart, so we had easy access to the entire resort. We went to a different restaurant for lunch every day, and ended up ordering in most evenings. There is a room service menu, but if you want something from one of the other restaurants, they will take care of it for you. In fact, the room service people consistently went above and beyond the call of duty: when I requested soy milk, they went and bought some for me; they also called to find out what time we wanted breakfast the one morning I neglected to write it on the form; also, when it was too windy to eat outside in the evening, they brought the table in for us, then brought it back out as quietly as possible to ensure they did not wake our sleeping infant.
In terms of activities, there is a dive center with kayaks and other water sports; we did not utilize this service, but we did go on a motor boat tour of the coastline. You can also rent bikes to tour the resort. The kids club at Punta Cana is a nice feature; it is outdoors, but nicely shaded, with many different climbing structures and rocking-horse-type things for the younger kids to play on. It is next to the main Punta Cana pool, which is a great place to hang out when you are in need of a break from the beach =)
Speaking of the beach, the sand is absolutely gorgeous, and the ocean is an amazing turquoise color. The beach at Tortuga Bay is restricted to guests of Tortuga Bay only, and there is even beverage service provided by the friendly staff at Bamboo.
The VIP service at the airport is another major perk: the representative whisked us to the front of each and every line, both upon arriving, and when departing. The VIP lounge is another nice feature, as it is air conditioned, clean and QUIET.

I could go on and on (and on) about how wonderful the place is. We have been to many Caribbean resorts (Cap Juluca, CuisinArt, La Samanna, Four Seasons Nevis, to name a few), and Tortuga Bay is by far our favorite (though Nevis was a close second). Definitely worth a visit!!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank britcanuckusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puntacana Resor... a, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2016

Dear Mr./Mrs. britcanuckusa,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback following your stay at the Tortuga Bay. I was absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we met your expectations. We all look forward to welcoming you back once again in the near future.

My best wishes,

Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Tel. (809) 959-8229 Ext. 7220
Cel. (829) 797-1121

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2010

The staff never missed a beat here and met all our needs. The 2 bedroom villa was spacious, comfortably decorated. Beach views, great food, nice club and golf. Great for couples, families and in our case, a group of women. I think it was at 80% capacity when we were there and it never felt crowded. We were able to get last minute dinner reservations and had our own space on the beach.

Tortuga Bay deserves it's 5 star rating. It may be expensive, but worth every penny if you want a relaxing, hassle-free, amazing vacation. I'll be back and I'll tell others it's the only place to go in the D.R.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puntacana Resor... a, General Manager at Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2016

Dear Mr. chrisozz,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback following your stay at the Tortuga Bay. I was absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we met your expectations. We all look forward to welcoming you back once again in the near future.

My best wishes,

Vincenzo Calcerano
General Manager Hotel TORTUGA BAY
Tortuga Bay, Puntacana Resort & Club
Tel. (809) 959-8229 Ext. 7220
Cel. (829) 797-1121

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews