We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as Dominican Resorts can get, this is excellent.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Catalonia Royal Bavaro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Ranked #47 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“As good as Dominican Resorts can get, this is excellent.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

My second trip to the D.R., I'll break this down into a few parts; as an FYI, the complaints I have read in other reviews, I can relate to some, whereas others are completely preposterous..(ie. "Vacation sucked because someone stole my stuff" That could be anyone, anywhere!)

Overall, the experience was great. Some of the problems we had were out of our control (a little too hot for me on some days) and some were things I think the hotel can improve on. Compared to our last Dominican vacation the Royal does very very well, I would recommend it and I would go back.

Food:
The A-La cartes were mixed in terms of overall experience. Some people we spoke with loved the ones we hated and vice-versa, so I think it largely comes down to personal taste.

The service was always good and at times excellent.

To get the bad out of the way, In our opinion Tapas was the worst one. I had the chicken and my partner a vegetarian lasagna. It was not good at all. That said, some people we spoke to loved it. Tip: if you don't like it, just go to another restaurant, or save room for the snack bar!

The Breakfast buffet (Tahlassa) contained the same items every morning, which was fine; there was a good variety and the food, although sometimes salty, was really good overall (I really liked the Mangu, I'm looking for a recipe now!

The staff in the morning I find are really good and attentive, you don't have to wait too long for a coffee refill (coffee is excellent!) I can't recall the names of the female servers working near the buffet end of the restaurant, but they were sweethearts.

Thalassa as an a-la carte is good. They didn't knock it out of the park, but it was good.

We ate at Sea blue quite often. I found the food there pretty good. The burgers, california roll and mozza sticks are exceptionally good!

We visited the snack bar on the "other side" a few times, nice variety for pizza but some of the toppings had me confused (Tuna on Pizza? And Corn? Ooookay..) The rotisserie chicken is really good as well, so it's worth your while to head over.

Mariachi (Mexican) was pretty good. We had the fajita's, the quesedilla's. The nacho's were so-so, but tasty (good guacamole)

Steakhouse was OK, being a BIG wing lover I was really looking forward to the starter wings, alas, they were flat out gross in terms of texture (slimy) and sauce (boring); the potato skins were not worth it (think cheese whiz and a few bacon bits) The steak was cooked to order and was pretty good. Tip: You'll need to order a few sides, the tempura vegetables was only 2 peices of deep fried cauliflower, 3 onion rings and a small potato.

Italian was really good. My partner called it her favorite. She had the pork and I had carbonara, which was a little watery. The waiter, Luis was excellent, I wish they worked half as hard as he did in restaurants at home.


The Room;
We were put into a first floor room initially and immediately asked for a change (dark and a bit dank) You need to remind yourself you are in the tropics, it's hot and muggy, rooms can be a little musty.

The room is pretty clean overall and the maids do a good job (tipping a $5 per day got us a couple extra beers and a few extra cookies!) We were facing the other resort, but it was no big deal. I will echo what other reviewers have said and get a room facing the pool side. It's out of the evening sun and you can sit to do some people watching.

We managed to hang with a couple that was in one of the executive suites with splash pool. Cool spot, if you can afford it, get it!

Casino: Nice spot for a game of cards, slots, blackjack, etc., went there one night, it was a bit of fun.

Excursions: We didn't do any excursions. Didn't want to, so no comment.

Beach Party: One night they brought a DJ down on the beach, with a light show and stuff. That was fun to stand around in the sand and have a few drinks.

The DRINKS!
Pretty darn good for the most part, but after a week, I was getting tired of sugary drinks (ie. Pina colada, Banana Mamma's) and was tired of the Presidente after a few days (I really like a variety of beers)

The bartenders make a special per day which is sometimes good, sometimes not so. (again, up to your personal tastes) but at least it's there and they make an effort. If they aren't busy ask for something blended. The Crazy Monkey is a nice chocolate/banana drink.

As a suggestion to improve, I'd like to see a variety of beer and some less-sugary options.

The Bars:
The Beach Bar is a nice spot to enjoy the view the bartenders are enthusiastic and friendly. It's shady for those who are not sun bathers. But my god, the music was TERRIBLE... Think porn music. I asked the bartender if he could turn it off and he said no and sincerely looked like he'd thank me if I yanked the speaker off the post.

The juice bar (Moo-Loo) is nice, variety of fresh-fruit and vegetable drinks some tasty items there. (Josep, if you are reading me this, can you send me the ingredients to the Bagua drink? Trying to make it at home!)

The Piano Bar/Lobby is really nice, but I wish there was a non-smoking area. If you go in there on a hot day and a few are smoking, it's pretty unbearable with the smoke and heat. It's a great spot for a mid-morning espresso. The coffee is so good down there...

The main pool bar is nice and it has a little more of a party vibe than the other bars. I think that is what the point is for that bar and they are achieving it well. It's nice, the bartenders are having fun and the drinks are good. (Music is better!) We aren't really pool people but we sat by it one day for a few drinks and to take it all in.

The Beach:
Gorgeous.

I read complaints about the seaweed, but they are preposterous. The staff is always down cleaning it up and if you don't like it, step over it! It's the ocean for gods sake. Bring a snorkel and go out by the cement pipe thing and you can see all kinds of neat tropical fish.

You'll see some people going topless, which can be a mixed blessing ;)

You need to get down fairly early to reserve a shady spot, one morning I was down there at 6:30 and a few were taken, by 8am, you can forget it. We aren't sunbathers, so we spent one morning moving our chairs around to keep out of the sun.

Some suggestions I would like to make to the management:

1) Music at the beach bar. Either get rid of it or give the staff the ability to put something else on. It was really annoying and drove us out of there at one point. That trancey stuff is hard on the ears and gets annoying after an hour.

2) Piano Bar - Have a designated, Air Conditioned non-smoking area, OR get a good smoke-eater. We were breathing too much second hand smoke when we just wanted a cool place to sit.

3) Dress Code - Long pants and close-toe shoes for the a-la cartes is too much. You should alter it to be "Long pants preferred, dress-shorts accepted. No Flip-Flops/Beachwear" It's way too warm for me to be wearing long pants.

4) Gym/Fitness area - A couple of fans would be an excellent addition here. The A/C didn't cool it fast enough for me. After 30 minutes of running I nearly passed out from the heat, had to cut my workouts short.

In summary, If this is your first trip to the Dominican, you need to manage your expectations on certain things. I think some of the naysayers here have probably never been down to the D.R. before. Either way, if you have or have not been here before, this place is definitely an excellent choice!

Room Tip: Facing the pool side. Second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank NavEEdTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear Guest,

What a joy to receive your post on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read we earn a five star score from your vacation experience and for recommending us!

Thank you for your detailed review of our different service areas at our resort. We are always glad to receive your comments and suggestions to be aware and do our best to improve in these areas. I will gladly send you a message with the ingredients.

Thank you, we will be waiting for your next holidays.

Best regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,809
    1,494
    579
    191
    172
See reviews for
357
3,888
80
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (998)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We were 3 couples in their late fifty's early sixty's who stayed at the Royal between April 10th and 17th and we would highly recommend it. Those folks who have been to the large resorts and are looking for something more relaxed may appreciate the size of this place. When we first walked into the lobby we thought we may have made a terrible mistake.(Think Holiday Inn Lobby). This resorts reception area, bar and main restaurant would fit in some of the larger resorts lobbies. In this case smaller is better. A 5 minute walk will take you from the lobby all the way to the beach. The service was impeccable and the staff were bend over backwards friendly. All three restaurants are sit down waiter service. The Thalassa in the lobby and the Cata Tapa by the infinity pool are air-conditioned. The Sea Blue beach restaurant is open air .For breakfast at the Thalassa you order your eggs/omelets at your table and then go off to the buffet line which I would compare, in size anyways to any hotel chain that offers a breakfast buffet . By the time you are done filling up your plate and get back to your table your eggs/omelets are ready for you. No waiting in the omelet line like most resorts. There are four more restaurants and the buffet over in the sister family resort. The buffet is open air but the food is displayed in an air-conditioned room but after a day outside we prefer to eat dinner inside and in an air-conditioned atmosphere and we found the buffet a bit warm. Something to keep in mind if you are not a fan of a dining experience every night you may not like the time it takes to get through a meal as it is anywhere from one and a half to two hours in length. For the most part all the meals were very well done and presented and with six people we were able to try most of the meals on the menus and only a couple were not satisfied with the meal they were served but not bad enough to complain about or return. The lobby bar is air-conditioned but is small and they do allow smoking in there which is disappointing as just outside the bar is an outdoor area which is mostly used by smokers as well but we survived. The lobby has 3 computers for those folks who want to contact home. Everyone seems to have a Facebook page. This is an honor system so don’t be a hog as some folks tended to be. I found if you stand behind one of these people they tend to log off though. Like other folks have said the towel game is in play here at the beach and the pools if you want one of the huts. For the beach 6am will get you a hut and the pools 8am will do. There is plenty of shade on the beach without the huts and there are several spots where we could set up our chairs and all get either shade or sun depending on our mood. The beach is beautiful and we spent every day there though the last three days were quite windy. The water is only waist deep in the roped off area and at the farthest point within the roped off area they have built an artificial reef where you can just stand and all the fish will come out and visit you. There are no resorts on either side of this complex so the beaches outside the complex are public . The public beach to the right as you enter the beach area has a few vendors set up. I would not recommend that wives and girlfriends go by themselves as we found some of the vendors quite aggressive. Having said that “Danny Boy” is quite a character if you should venture up there. Go to the shopping area in the family resort first to get an idea of what the prices are so you will be better able to barter with these guys. As for the rooms they are getting a bit dated but no worse than any other 7 or 8 year old resort we have been to. I believe villas 36 and 38 are the newest followed by 40,42,44,46 and villas 18 and 19. Villas 18 and 19 were originally part of the family side but now are considered part of the Royal side. We had read reviews of people being put in the older villas 18 and 19 so were a bit concerned about their age. As it turned out we were assigned to villa 18 but when I said no thank you we would prefer the rooms in villas 40 to 46 which we believed we were paying for they were willing to accommodate us and put us all side by side in three rooms in villa 42. We later met two couples on the beach who had been assigned to villa 19 and after one day were not happy with their room conditions and they asked to be moved and they were also accommodated. All rooms are identical in that they have a balcony, a sitting area, a four poster bed, a large tub next to the bed and your typical resort bathroom. So if the age of the room is of no concern then any one of the villas would be fine. We had no problems with the maids and when we had a problem with our safe there was a fellow there in less than 10 minutes to fix it. I will make one last comment in that we did have one bad experience and it was really our own stupidly and nothing to do with this resort but rather the folks at the Punta Cana Airport. In all the years we have traveled to the Caribbean or anywhere in the world for that matter we have gotten in the habit of packing our cameras and jewelry in our luggage and had faith in the security systems of various airports that whatever we put in our luggage we would still have when we got home. This was not the case on this trip. As we were the only plane in the Punta Cana airport the morning we left the folks behind the scenes must have had lots of time to go through people’s luggage and in our case take all our jewelry and our cameras. I can’t believe this theft happened in our home airport of Halifax. Lesson learned and in future vacations we will have any valuable items with us in our carry on. I would be curious if anyone else had problems with the early morning flights out of this airport All in all we had a great time and could easily see why most folks rated the Royal 4 and 5 stars. If we were ever to go to a place twice this would be it.

Room Tip: Villas 40,42,44,46 have 12 rooms per floor.The lower numbers 1-6 face the other resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Rgr3193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

I want to start by saying this is my 6th trip to this resort. I read the reviews ALOT. I here of the complaints and I think I know the resort pretty well. I traveled with a group of 10 people.

A lot of the concerns that people had or complaints I now have feel been addressed. One of mine was the last few trips the loungers by the infinity pool needed new mats on them desperately. They had grown to be completely flat. Well surprisingly they had been replaced. They had a good 1 inch or more matting on them that made for a more comfortable rest near the nice quiet infinity pool. yes you had to play the towel game to get one since hotel was at 100%. My philosophy on this is well it sucks but if you get up early enough to reserve one with your towel and you are there by 10 to 11am after breakfast then you earned it. There are only about 10 or so of these loungers and hundreds of people staying at resort. Don't get mad if its taken. Just get up and try to get one yourself. We got up at 5am. Some people earlier than that. Some I think were saving from the night before ( this I don't agree with) It is what it is so just go with it and enjoy your vacation. If someone is not at there lounger by 11 or so I feel then they shouldn't have it. That is my opinion take it or leave it.

another item or complaint I see often that was addressed was the beach towel issue and the maids coming in late at night to exchange them. They fixed this by placing towels in the room at arrival and then placing towel exchange centers near the pool and beach so you can exchange them when you want a new one or receive a card so you can either have a towel or cards. I thought that was great cause every day I would exchange the towel before going back to the room for a card and then got a new towel in the morning. This was great so that I didn't have to carry the towels everywhere.

Also on a side note I think the crepe place got moved back to the mall area next to the ice cream shop..

Also I think it was a good move to have the maids put a note under your door for service if you had your Do Not Disturb sign on the door and they came for turn down service or cleaning etc.. This way you know they stopped by and if you wanted them to return then you could call front desk and ask them to come back if not you could just let it go. I thought that was a good way to save time for the maids and get things done more efficiently.

the food was great as usual, I see they stopped using ketchup in the Japanese restaurant and went back to soy sauce. I was glad since that was my favorite restaurant. They went to flour tortillas at the Mexican instead of the corn which also was better in my opinion for the fajitas. I had a hard time finding a good margarita this trip usually they are great at the Mexican restaurant but something was off about them this time, not sure if it was the sweet and sour mix or what. could of just been the way they were made that night. Honestly not a big issue. LOL

A vacation is what you make of it. I saw alot of repeat visitors this trip, so apparently Im not the only one that loves this place. The people are great and the service is wonderful. I hope to be back again. Contact Josep or Cynthia to help make your trip even better. If you have concerns they WILL help you.

Thanks again Catalonia Royal for a great time.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank reba5646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

This was our third trip to Catalonia Royal Bavaro and will certainly not be our last! We met so many people that were there for the second and third time also.
We stayed April 7 to 14, 2012. The past 2 years we were there in January and we found it to be a little quieter at that time of the year which we prefer.
When we arrived at the resort just after 10:30am, we were greeted by some familiar faces with very big smiles! Once again Breney recognized us from our previous visits. Luis Cedano, Food and Beverage Manager, stopped to say hello and welcomed us back with a very warm greeting and a big hug. It is a wonderful feeling to know that the staff here appreciate the guests, especially when they return.
We checked in but could not have our room until later. We were aware of this so we were prepared with a small bag to change into beach clothing and headed straight to the beach. We immediately stopped at the beach bar to see if Roberto Reyes was working and to our delight he was there. The look on his face when he saw us was one of surprise and delight with wide eyes and a huge smile. He came out from the bar and gave both of us a huge hug and welcomed us back. Amarilis and Jorges were also working on the beach and along with Roberto, were absolutely fabulous at taking care of us during our vacation. The Ma Loo Juice bar was wonderful. When we arrived we headed there after saying hello to our friends. Fresh fruit smoothies...excellent way to start the day!
Our room was in villa 36 (at our request), first floor over looking the fountains. It was a lovely room, cleaned daily and the mini bar was always stocked with lots of water and soft drinks. We have read other reviews that the rooms have a musty smell. We did notice this but we expect that in a country that is very humid. This did not bother us at all.
Breakfast was always at Thalassa where you could order omlettes and eggs any style or choose from a variety of breads and pastries, pancakes, muffins etc from the buffet. Dominga was always so happy to see us and would sit us at "our table" every morning.
Lunch most days was at Sea Blue which was good. Francisco,Ruben, Lorenzo, and many others were always very attentive. We really enjoyed the food there.
For dinner at Sea Blue you could have lobster and steak from the BBQ which was very good. The lobster this year was slightly over cooked but beautifully presented. Kenia Rosario greeted us at Cata Tapas and was very pleased to see us return. The food was excellent with a little of everything to sample. Cecilia made our evening a great deal of fun there! At Thalassa the food was also excellent and always such a beautiful presentation. Our favourites there were the onion soup and the seafood croquettes! The service at all the restaurants was always outstanding. We had a lovely comment from a young waiter named Franklin. He was just starting out as a server last year when we visited and he was assigned our table. It was obvious to us that he was new at this but it was wonderful to see how hard he was trying to do everything "right". We encouraged him and thanked him a great deal for his attentive service. This year when he saw us, he was so happy and told us that we "inspired him to do a great job" and he thanked us for being wonderful people. This made us feel very special indeed!
The beach was beautiful. This year was busier than the past 2 years and we figured that it was because of the time of year we had been before. I also noticed that the age group was much younger compared to our last visits....again, perhaps because of the time of year. We had to be up very early...to see the sun rise...to reserve our "front row" loungers for the day! We really love being by the ocean and having the breeze during the hot hot days we spent there. It was alway clean and free of sea weed. Hernandez and a couple of others took good care of the beach for the guests.
Lunch on the beach on Friday was amazing! The two chefs stood in the hot mid day sun and cooked a huge pan of paella with a variety of seafood in it. It tasted out of this world! I missed it last year and asked when it was the week we were there so I was counting the days until lunch on the beach on Friday!!
I have travelled to many other islands in the Caribbean and Catalonia Royal Bavaro in the Dominican Republic is by far one of the best resorts for food, service, quality and amazing management and staff. They could not do enough to make our stay wonderful. We cannot wait to return again....hope to see you next year!

Room Tip: Villas 36, 38, 40 facing the fountains or spa are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ailsa-66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

This was our first trip to the DR for my wife and myself (April 11th-19th), a friend had recommended upgrading to the Deluxe loft suite with individual Infinity pool. WOW was he right!!!! If you do decide to go to the Cat Royal, you should try it at least once or even for a couple of nights.
The Room we stayed in was excellent 3410 - right in the middle of the resort, close to the Sea Blue-beach and also the main lounge, but nice and quiet.
The staff were excellent everywhere we went, a little effort to speak their language, goes a Long way, so does a little tipping- special thanks to Roberto, JC, Andrea, all the staff at the Thalasa lounge.
Food was awesome, to accompany the drinks, you never wanted for anything, and if you wanted MORE lobster,all you had to do was ask.
Shows on the Bavaro side, seemed o.k., watched a little from a distance
over all excellent resort, would definitely recommend it to all
Also while we were there, they had an offer to go to a Sister Boutique resort, same deal (AI) Sivory Punta Cana Boutique, if you are looking for even more peace and quiet, check it out

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alymer1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Stayed at the Catalonia Royal in November 2011, and loved every minute!! Lovely resort and good attentive staff, the days around the pool bar were great (i think). Restaurants are all good although Cata Tapa isnt really the European tapas you would expect, its served on one plate so defeats the object of the 'sharing' philosophy of tapas. As said in other reviews rooms do smell a little musty, but nothing too bad, what do you expect its a very humid place. Room service is also good and on time. The only problem is the price seems to have gone up dramatically this year with Thompsons so a return is unlikely.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to know you enjoyed every minute of your vacation stay with us. Also we are very appreciative of your feedback, it’s important for us to be aware of your valuable suggestions. We hope to have the pleasure of a second visit.

Kindest regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new brunswick
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

My wife and I have stayed at Catalonia Royal twice and are planning our third trip. Everything about our trips has been completely wonderful. We have been south 10+ times and the food at Catalonia is has been by far the best. The staff is freindly and always willing to help. We can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dirtdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear guest,

It was our pleasures to provide a wonderful service, to earn you trust in our service.

Thank you for giving us excellent score on Trip Advisor, we look forward to welcoming you back for your third stay.

Receive warm regards from all the staff!

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
9.7 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#25 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,621 reviews
12.7 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#42 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
1.2 mi away
Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium
57.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Bouganville Don Pablo Collection
57.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe La Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Royal Bavaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Royal Bavaro

Property: Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Address: Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana 837, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#30 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#42 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Catalonia Royal Bavaro 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the authentic Caribbean at an exclusive, adults-only resort. Its small details make big your stay and the personalized service you receive will make you feel as if you were in heaven. Exclusive suites, innovative restaurants, dreamlike swimming pools…relax in this tropical paradise and enjoy the best vacation you’ve ever had. Have an extraordinary experience, and leave the worrying to us; we’ll take care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays and Ebookers so you can book your Catalonia Royal Bavaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Royal Bavaro Hotel Punta Cana
Catalonia Royal Bavaro Punta Cana
Royal Catalonia Bavaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing