We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Excellence Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$411
US$390
Excellence Resorts
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$249
US$196
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Breathless Punta Cana Resort & Spa(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$371
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$253
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Paradisus Palma Real Golf & Spa Resort(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$391
US$293
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$437
US$428
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$433
US$325
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$280
US$261
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana(Punta Cana)(Great Value!)
US$331
US$248
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$771
US$578
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (6,390)
Filter reviews
6,390 results
Traveller rating
3,481
1,799
685
238
187
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,481
1,799
685
238
187
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal sideinfinity poolpiano barcata tapathalassa restauranttapas restaurantthe sea blue restauranttao catrodeo steak housejuice barroyal guestsla toscanaswim up barsister resortsea grassmusty smellmain restaurant
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,920 - 2,925 of 6,390 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2012

While the resort was breathtakingly gorgeous and our exclusive room with a private pool was the highlight of our vacay, the food was not good at all. When I say not good, I mean bordering on disgusting. The pizza was average and so we lived off of pizza for 5 days. My fiance and I loved the place, all the rooms are big and beautiful, clean, spacious and perfect. The grounds are of course well kept, the staff extremely friendly as well but the food was just bad. The breakfast at Thalassa restaurant was edible and so we filled ourselves to the brim in preparation to most likely starve for the rest of the day. The Tapas restaurant wasn't terrible but its only open for dinner and the portions are tiny- its a tapas restaurant so I guess I cannot complain about portion size. All in all I give Royal Catalonia a 3.5 overall, if the food were at all edible it would be a 4.5, most definitely.

Room Tip: Definitely shell out the extra dough to get the exclusive suite with the private swimming pool, it was sooooo worth it!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gingerbeer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Management Assistant at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your time invested in this comment.

First of all we appreciate your comments about our resort grounds and rooms; also it’s a delight to know you received always a friendly service from our staff. We are sorry to read about the discontent with the food service, it would have been a pleasure to be aware at the moment to do our best in assisting you. It would be an honor to welcome you back, to exceed your expectations.

Best regards

Ysabel Sosa
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We spent our honeymoon at the Catalonia Royal Bavaro. I had high expectations based on the reviews and was slightly disappointed.
I will start with the bad first:
THE FOOD was the biggest disappointment. Thalassa was by far the best place we ate. Their pasta dishes were pretty good. We ate at the steak house on the other side one night and did not have a great meal. My husband ordered the churassco, I would recommend that. Stay away from the crab cakes, I don't even know how to describe them except they were cold, and reminded me more of sausage, didn't even resemble or taste crab. The Italian restaurant on the other side was pretty good, we ended up eating there twice because on the last night we tried to go the Hibatchi restaurant and it was closed. Weird. Also, the restaurants close from 6p-7p, you cannot get any food anywhere between those times-that includes drinks. Stay away from room service-that food was just horrible.
THE ROOM was the next disappointment. It was dark and always felt damp. It smelled of mildew and the sheets always felt wet. We could have asked for another room, why didn't we? I dont have a good reason except that it didn't seem to bother my husband.
HORSEBACK RIDING excursion was sad. The horses looked tired, had scabs. Just sad.
The good:
THE DRINKS were always flowing, great options, always had service at the beach, the bar, the restaurants. The price of the all inclusive is worth every penny if you like to drink.
THE STAFF was awesome. Friendly, helpful, always smiling, saying hello. Concierge could have been a bit more knowledgable but at least they were friendly.
THE GROUNDS were beautiful, well kept. You can tell the staff cares about what the place looks like. The restaurants were clean and very nice looking-each with different decor. The other side was just gorgeous.
PRIVACY was perfect. We could be social if we wanted and with it being adult only, we didn't run into screaming kids or annoying drunk people. You can get that though, just go next door. So I loved that there were options.
THE BEACH was breath taking. Lots of places to lounge, always found a spot to lay out and shade for my hubby.
SONOA ISLAND excursion was amazing. Catamaran out to the island was lovely and the island was gorgeous, felt like we were stranded on a deserted island.
LOCATION to the airport was great, it is the closest to the airport which made for a short car ride which I really appreciated because the people in the DR drive like lunatics-and I come from NYC.
OVERALL I would not recommend or go back to this resort. It was a great honeymoon and we had a lovely time but we are both foodies, the lack of great food was a big deal for us so we splurged one night and went to the JELLYFISH, a local restaurant off the resort. That was not only the best meal we had in the DR, but one of the best we have ever had. Worth every penny.

Room Tip: Stay off the first floor, you will likely have more light in your room which will probably help with the mildew problem we encountered.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Audra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Management Assistant at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment on Trip Advisor, and for choosing us for your honeymoon holidays.
We appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff, grounds and ambiance; we are content overall you enjoyed a lovely honeymoon with us. Also we apologize for your disappointment with the restaurants service, we kindly clarify restaurants on the family side open at 6:30 p.m. also they count with the snack bar 24hours. We look forward to change your mind and have the chance to welcome you back, and show the excellent service we can provide.

Kind regards.

Ysabel Sosa
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed here and absolutely loved it and after going on a European Thomson couples holiday this year we noticed a significant difference on quality and had to spend the time saying how much more we preferred the Dominican!! 
The cocktails and drinks and food choice and quality were amazing!! It really is all inclusive. The amount of choice of restaurant is great too! That you can go over to the other side, we especially loved the Italian and Mexican.
The room was very spacious and gorgeous. We stayed in just a basic double room but didn't require anything more! A giant bath tub in the room next to a four poster bed what's not to love! It was also very clean and air con worked fine.
The entire grounds were beautiful. There was the rowdy pool near reception if you like a bit of action, if you prefer there was the option of a more quieter pool, there is the infinity one next to the beach. The beach is beautiful and so spacious! A wonderful breeze and you never feel like your on top of each other!
I would recommend and go back!
The only slight nag was that women first or queuing first certainly doesn't count with the bar staff especially on the beach. It was always those holding a dollar that got served first which was quite annoying. 

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hayleyc1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Management Assistant at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your post on Trip Advisor!
And for choosing us for your holidays in Punta Cana, we appreciate your excellent evaluation of our services. It’s a delight to know you found our resort amazing, it was our pleasure to welcome you, thank you for recommending us! We look forward to your next visit!

Kind regards.

Ysabel Sosa
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Our room looked updated, was spacious, and had normal wear and tear. I would recommend a pool view on the top floor. We were in villa 38 and thought it was a good location in between everything.
The landscaping was great. All the vegetation was kept up and looked immaculate everyday.
The side we stayed on was the Royal side. It was adults only (mostly couples) and very relaxing. If someone is looking for entertainment and lively action, they could walk to the other side which had more restaurants, night club, casino, etc. This side seemed to be a little more family friendly and popular among Europeans. One nice benefit was that Royal guest could visit their side, but the Royal side was only for Royal guest only.
There are private villas with their own infinity pools. This looked very nice, but we like being able to have drinks severed to us from the bar and socialize with other people. The private villas might be better for someone who wants total solitude.
Overall, I would recommend this place to someone else. There are plenty of dinning options (we didn’t even get to try them all), the food was good for an island, and we did not have to wait for any type of service.

Tips: Make sure you brush up on your Spanish before going. While everyone is bilingual, Spanish is the main spoken language. American dollars are taken, so no need to use the monetary exchange.

Room Tip: Villa 38 on top floor was nice. Ask for a pool view.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Management Assistant at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review on trip Advisor!

Thank you for choosing us for your visit to the Dominican Republic; it’s always a pleasure to receive your positive comments. It’s an honor to receive your recommendations; we will be delighted to welcome you back again in the future.
.
Receive warm regards from all the staff!

Ysabel Sosa
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

My husband, my parents and myself visited this hotel last year and we absolutely loved our stay there. We all have been to many hotels in the DR, not only in Punta Cana but in many other areas and this one is for sure one of the best we have visited there. The food was excellent, our rooms were very beautiful, big and very comfortable. We loved the quiet pool at the Royal side and liked the fact that we could go to the other side have some fun and when we have had enough, we could go back to our quiet side. We went back to the DR after that and went to another hotel just because we like to try different hotels and it wasn't as nice. Unfortunately we now have a baby so we won't be able to go back to the Royal side, otherwise I would go back without hesitation. Loved it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wdal11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Management Assistant at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comment, and for rating us excellent on Trip Advisor!
We are content you had a wonderful family vacation at Catalonia Royal, enjoyed the great service we strive to provide to make your holidays unforgettable. Once again thank you for your kind comments, it was our pleasure to exceed your expectations!

Warmest regards.

Ysabel Sosa
Management Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews