We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real nice place to go”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Ranked #43 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Boisbriand, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A real nice place to go”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

This Hotel is apart of the other strip, but so more quiet and can be party animal too!!

The employees always smiling and ready to give the best service ever!

The animation team work really hard and always there for you with a big smile.

The room and all the toilette, restaurant, area are very clean.

Room Tip: In the middle, 4242 is good, near the beach and the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Management Assistant at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Eric S,

Thank you for sharing your comment on Trip Advisor, what a pleasure to confirm you enjoyed our facilities and received the best service from our staff! Thank you for choosing us, we will be waiting for your next visit at Catalonia Royal Bavaro.

Best regards.

Ysabel Sosa
Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,950
    1,555
    591
    196
    154
See reviews for
372
4,037
84
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,032)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness,Scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel service excellent from all staff. There are 7 a la carte restaurants plus 2 buffet restaurant's to choose from, steakhouse was our favourite. Good selection of bar's so you won't go thirsty. Entertainment same as most resorts nothing exciting. The Royal is adults only so pools nice and quiet. If you are a beach person you might be a bit disappointed lovely sand but a lot of seaweed although they do there best to keep it clear. My wife had a massage at the spa and really enjoyed it. Did not do any trips as we just wanted to relax and chill for two weeks. If you want any more info just ask and I will try and help Neil.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank neelix31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Management Assistant at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear neelix31,

Greetings from Catalonia Royal Bavaro, we would like to thank you for sharing your excellent review on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled to read our restaurant and Spa services were of your enjoyment. We look forward to welcome you back for a second memorable holiday.
Receive warm regards from the team!

Ysabel Sosa
Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albert, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

This was our first visit to this resort. The hotel could use some updating, especially the main lobby as it is quite small. The doors are heavy to open, I was surprised they did not open automatically. Another nice touch we have received in other resorts is a welcome cocktail which they do not offer at this resort.

The main pool area could use more loungers however what they had were comfortable.
The other pool near the Sea Blu restaurant was lovely for swimming.
The staff are very friendly. Ask for Raphael a terrific bartender. He realized my margarita was not well made, and delivered another one which was the best I had.

The spa was okay. It needs work to match the advertisements (only two rooms for massages with double tables) however two therapists that were amazing were Martha (very strong hands for a deep tissue massage) and Jane.

The wait service could be great and other times very very slow.

Overall I would recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Room 3848 is great, an end room with lots of privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tkpkgk1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Mrs / Mr. tkpkgk1986,

Thank you for choosing Catalonia Royal Bavaro for your holidays in Punta Cana. We are pleased to receive your comment and valuable feedback of our services. We kindly clarify in regards of the Spa services we count with three massage rooms plus the Spa Palapa in the beach area.

Please be informed welcome drinks are provided upon check in, we will revise with the departments in charge, please receive our apologies. We take important note of your suggestions for improvements.

We are content to read you received a great service form our staff especially Rafael and Marta, we will make sure to congratulate them on your behalf. Once again thank you and we hope to welcome you back soon at Catalonia Royal Bavaro.

Best regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I don't know if I was lucky or not, but had a very, very good time at Catalonia Royal Bavaro. Fast and warm welcome at the check-in and good experience on the site up to check-out. Got room 4652 at 3rd floor with view on the main pool. Sunrise in the room just to remind you that it is still nice and sunny out there. Room clean, air conditioner worked great, no bugs, perfect.

Resort not over crowded. No "à la carte dinner" reservations required which is great as you can decide last minute what you feel to eat, we would wait a maximum of 2 min. before getting seated. Food generally very good, but maybe to salty for us. Good variety of restaurants and buffet always available if you want a quick lunch. There is also a service room for food which is very rare on resort. We didn't have anything from the service room, as everything is a walking distance. BBQ's on the beach and next to the pool was great. Only one bad comment is the Japanese restaurant. Great concept, but the chef/cook was using the same kitchen tools to mix vegetables and raw meal without cleaning the tools in between … Chef Gordon Ramsay would not be happy to see this.

Staff very good and smiley. Room cleaning done and put back refreshments every day.

Always had a place either at the beach or at the pool. Yes, some people go put their towel and stuff early in the morning to have the "greatest" sun spot, but we always find a place to sit and relax. At the beach, yes you will get people offering excursions, but if you say "no thanks!" they will move one to the next people beside you. Beach is clean and can do catamaran and kayak.

As we booked with Sunwing, 18 holes golf course was free. Only had to paid 35$ for the cart and no caddy required. Decent golf and not crowded, so I've played 3 rounds and took me 2 hours each rounds. 14 hole has a great scenery. It isn't the Punta Cana best scenery golf club, but for 35$.

Would recommend this resort to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask you room with pool view or can pay a little extra to get the Luxury villa with your own small po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DT-QC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Mrs. / Mr. DT-QC,

Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor; we are delighted to read in regards of your recent stay at Catalonia Royal Bavaro. It’s always a pleasure to confirm you had a great time enjoying our room accommodations, restaurants and facilities.

Thank you for your valuable feedback of the Japanese restaurants, we take important attention and will share your comment with the manager at Catalonia Bavaro Resort, we ensure you high quality and hygiene standards are followed.

We appreciate your kind words of our staff; they strive to create unforgettable memories for your holidays. Once again thank you for recommending us, we will be waiting for your next visit soon!

Best regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This was our fifth stay & we do feel home away fr home. Quiet resort..,not loud or busy or no party life. Perfect for us!! Service is great, food was the best ever this visit. Grounds were perfect. We loved it!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank piecingit2gether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Dear Mrs./ Mr.piecingit2gether,

Thank you for sharing your comment on Trip Advisor, it was a pleasure to welcome you for your fifth holidays, our kitchen staff is pleased to read we exceeded your expectations.

We hope to welcome you back soon at your second home!

Regards from the Catalonia Royal team.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Very poor for the money.
We are here at the moment and have asked for the pillow menu on day 1 but nothing has arrived as of 7 days later. They ran out of steaks twice now and the lobster - we have water coming through the light bulbs and air con unit onto the floor - have told them everyday but no one has come to see - very dangerous as slippy and It's water dripping through the electrics. Our bath/tub doesn't work as the stopper is broken - no one cares. Don't come here for a 5 star holiday. To the manager we are in room 4409 please sort out the leak and can we have clean towels as ours are on the floor soaking up the water. We are not the only ones affected by this problem.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bobdavies66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coldwater
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Second stay at the Royal Catalonia. Very nice with some need to rejuvenate. Breakfast buffet very good and the service is excellent. Very friendly staff that has obviously been trained very well. The GM of food and beverage - Luis Francisco Cedano - has done a great job with his people. Carlos A Guilera is a top notch server that remembered our names (4 of us) after the first day! Ask for him if you eat at the restaurant by reception.
The beach is beautiful and long enough for a nice walk.
If you are a non-smoker, there is not a lot of relief from the puffers. Even non-smoking rooms have the smell wafting up on the balconies. Regardless, a good spot and great value for an adult only resort that is quiet yet fun.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AvocoBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Mrs. / Mr. GGW17,

Greetings! Thank you for choosing Catalonia Royal Bavaro for the second visit. We are content to know you received once again a great service; we will be delighted to share your kind remarks to Luis Cedano and Carlos Aguilera.

Thank you for your excellent recommendations and valuable feedback. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards.

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
9.7 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#24 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,712 reviews
12.7 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#46 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
1.2 mi away
Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
6.2 mi away
The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium
7.8 mi away
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
#80 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Royal Bavaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Royal Bavaro

Property: Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Address: Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana 837, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Catalonia Royal Bavaro 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the authentic Caribbean at an exclusive, adults-only resort. Its small details make big your stay and the personalized service you receive will make you feel as if you were in heaven. Exclusive suites, innovative restaurants, dreamlike swimming pools…relax in this tropical paradise and enjoy the best vacation you’ve ever had. Have an extraordinary experience, and leave the worrying to us; we’ll take care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelbag, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Catalonia Royal Bavaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Royal Bavaro Hotel Punta Cana
Catalonia Royal Bavaro Punta Cana
Royal Catalonia Bavaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing