We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent All-Inclusive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Ranked #48 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 8 May 2014

After spending one night at the relaxing and quiet AxSol Luxury VIllage, we moved onto the Royal Catalonia for the remainder of our stay in Punta Cana. Short and Sweet: EXCELLENT accommodations, customer service and food. I can say that I have not one complaint. By far the best, all-inclusive I have been to thus far. And there were many patrons who had been back to the resort time and time again...so the proof is in the pudding!! Can't wait to return this lovely country!!

Room Tip: Any problems or issues, speak to the manager Angela. She is a DELIGHT. Staff will handle all your n...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shanikhaalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Director General at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear shanikhaalis,

Greetings from Catalonia Royal Bavaro! We are pleased to read you had such a great holiday experience with us. Thank you for rating us the best all inclusive, it was our pleasure to exceed your expectations. We will be waiting your second visit!

Best regards.

Ivan Cunillera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,854)
There are newer reviews for Catalonia Royal Bavaro
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,918 - 1,924 of 5,855 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed for two weeks end of Feb 2014 to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. After a very good flight on the Dream liner we faced the visa queue at the airport hot and time consuming but not to bad. The bus trip was short and sweet. Arrived at reception and was shown to our room 3814 ground floor facing the water spout feature great location half way between beach and reception. The room was amazing huge bed and double bath in the room with a bathroom with shower and loo. Fruit and rum and anniversary banner on our door lovely touch.
The main restaurant serves al a carte menu which is the same every night with a different special chefs menu each night, lunch is varied every day. You can use all the restaurants on site no need to book including the ones at the neighbouring Catalonia although I would give them a miss as they were not a patch on the ones in our grounds. The grounds and gardens at both hotels were beautiful and well kept.
All the bar staff were very good and all other areas were well staffed always a happy helpful bunch, Carlos at the pool bar with George Piña were good entertainment singing and dancing. but all staff very good. No need for tips although they are gratefully received.
Would def return and recommend this resort to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms facing pool side have better out looks
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paws7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Director General at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear paws7,

What a pleasant surprise to receive your comment, we were delighted to welcome you for your anniversary holidays. It’s great to read our accommodations and services provided you an unforgettable experience. We will make sure Carlos and Jorge Piña receive your congratulations. Once again thank you, we hope to see you back soon!

Best regards.

Ivan Cunillera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My wife and I were there April 28th-May 3rd and had an amazing time. When they say adults only, they deliver. We witnessed a large family of 8-10 people asked to leave our side of the resort because they had one 6ish year old girl with them. We don't have anything against children but we wanted a calm and relaxing atmosphere and that is what we got. They have a very good concierge, we dealt with Ana mostly, and the excursions we booked through the in house representative were spot on. My only two drawbacks were when we tried to call the front desk, or any other service, from our room, and the bed. It would generally take about 10 minutes to get in touch with someone and we would be disconnected 2 or 3 times during the process. This was frustrating when we were trying to check out and had a time crunch. The bed was very firm and I had a little trouble sleeping. I realize this is a personal preference and will not impact everyone like it did me. Jeffery at the infinity pool was awesome! He always made sure we had drinks and remembered us from day to day. Overall a very good experience and we would recommend this resort to anyone looking to go to the Dominican Republic.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wes C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Director General at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear Wes C,

Thank you for your recent stay at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, we appreciate your review on Trip Advisor. We are glad you found in our Resort a relaxing atmosphere and great service especially from Ana and Jeffrey; we will extend your kind words to them! We would like to apologize for the setback with the call service; we take great attention for improvements. Thank you for recommending us; it would be a joy to welcome you back for your next holidays.

Best regards.

Ivan Cunillera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

spent a 6 nights here April 10- 16 and were very pleased with the the resort. The service and food were great specially Carlos at Tao, He was excellent with everything . The rooms are quite large and the maids do an excellent job of cleaning and replenishing the fridge and snacks. The one thing we did not like was the activities in the hotel where limited nothing to do, sitting on the beach. The beach is a bit small but good swimming. The staff at the spa was really good, we got massage at beach

Room Tip: The villa by the pool bar what's really good.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cutie2527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Director General at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Cutie2527,

Thank you for your recent stay at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, we are content to receive your review on Trip Advisor. It’s a delight to read you enjoyed our facilities and services, especially from Carlos at the Tao Cat! We appreciate your valuable feedback regarding the activities, we are pleased to inform you we count with an activities calendar available at the lobby board and guest service desk. It would be a great joy to welcome you back soon to exceed your expectations!

Receive warm regards from the team.

Ivan Cunillera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I hope that you will find my review helpful... The ones who hesitate, don't.. it is a great place to relax with nice food and drinks.
We travelled with Thomson and we were really nicely surprised with the service we received (much better than before and we did travel with them a few times). If you are considering whether to purchase premium seats in the Boeing 787, the standard ones are fine for someone who is 5.8 feet and 6.2 feet tall with plenty of space.

People
People work extremely hard from gardeners to the housekeepers. We never had a bad experience with any of the employees. As already mentioned by other people, it's hard to find out who the tips are given to, if you leave them on a table. The tips should be split - as there are so many people involved in serving you in a restaurant. The people who made our stay are: Edward (the best mojito in the hotel) the barman at Sea Blue, Jeffery (the waiter at the infinity pool) always smiley and kept our glasses full, Carlos (waiter at the beach), Maria (entertainment) and Monica who run the pilates/stretching classes on the beach every day at 11am and Jeorge (not sure if I spelt your name correct) at the beach or pool bar (depending on the day) remembered our favourite drinks after 2 visits- carpirinia and whiskey and “our usual greeting with him” :-) Jenny - concierge - what a lovely and smiley girl - made my parents anniversary a very special day, thank you. Abbey - who was greeting people in the restaurants - she was delightful to talk to and always smiley.

Food
We ate in all the restaurants. The best ones are at the Royal Side.

The choice for breakfast is more limited that at the family side, but the food is much nicer.

The Thalassa has an amazing onion soup and the Cata Tapa has amazing ribs.

The pizza at the main pool was delicious - the best we had in that part of the world.

The buffet at the family side has a great choice, but be aware of the birds that fly everywhere and dip into people's food. I found it a bit distressing to protect my plate from birds when eating.

The Mexican, Steak House and Japanese (with life cooking) at the family side were very good, the Italian was average.

We also had a romantic dinner (lobster dinner) on the beach. We didn't enjoy that as much as we did in Mexico, but it was ok.

Ma Loo - the fresh juice bar - is great!

Gym/Entertainment
If you are a gym lover, you will not be impressed, the gym floor is tiny with very old equipment. However, if you do the body weight training, you can use the deck on the beach - it worked for me. I also attended the pilates with Monica, who helped me a lot with my back stretching.

If you want entertainment, you need to go the family side, they do offer plenty to choose from - even the foam party in the pool. The evening entertainment was good especially the circus night and the Michael Jackson.

The hotel also organises the white party (without food but with drinks) on Mondays and the beach party (with food and drinks) on Thursdays, both were great fun. The people who organised that made an effort to ensure that it all works.

Room
We stayed in the romm 3849. Slightly dated room, but it didn't bother us. very specious, the aircon didn't work well, but was cool enough for us. The receptionist offered to change the room, but we decided to stay as it was on the top floor at the end of the corridor so it was quiet and no one disturbed us.
The bathroom is open (apart from the toilet) but it was fine for us.
There was no hammock but after calling the reception, it was delivered to us within 30 min, I asked to replace it, as it was mouldy, but without any luck.
We asked for room service once (dinner) and it arrived within 30 minutes, the food was hot and very tasty (chicken wings and chicken breast).

Beach
if you want the beach front sun loungers be prepared to get up at 6am to reserve them, but if you are happy with any of them, there are always plenty free chairs on the beach.
Be careful with the rocks on the beach that look like sand, we hurt ourselves...
The beach is cleaned every day (or even twice daily) and they try to remove the sea weed as much as possible. The sea is very ward and calm so easy to snorkel, with plenty of fish.
We used the free catamaran once, it was a great fun without any problems.
We were not hassled by anyone on the beach.
The cooks also prepare twice a week paella on the beach at lunchtime - we tried and it was really nice.

Trips
We went to Saona island with the people who offer the catamaran on the beach, it was good, but be prepared for sales peach at every single step. We were told not buy anything before boarding the catamaran from the people selling on the parking, only to be taken to the "toilet" on the way back from the trip that was based in the big shop in order to buy from them, and if you did, they asked for the name of the person who brought you to them , so they can share money with them. On the catamaran you are asked to pose to the pictures and film, so they can sell this to you later. And the worse one was to pose with the dead star fish that they pretended to find it in the natural pool. We said it was dead and they said that it wasn't and it was only scared that's why it was pretending to be dead. It's not true as we found one the day before in the sea near the hotel, so we knew exactly how it behaves. Be aware of the massage ladies on the Saona island, they will not leave you in peace!

SPA
I booked a massage on the beach 3 days in advance, but when iI turned up, they forgot! When I asked if I can have it in spa rather than on the beach, they said it was fine, but forgot to mention that it will cost extra $14. As no one informed me about this, they were happy for me to pay the "beach price". The massage itself was good.

Other
There is a market - 2 minutes walk on the beach (go right),be prepared to negotiate the price! ;-)
There is also a health centre open every day at the family side and the pharmacy if you need any medical attention.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank PKN333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Director General at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear PKN333,

Greetings from Catalonia Royal Bavaro, thank you for choosing us for your holidays. We appreciate your time invested in sharing your comments on Trip Advisor. We value your feedback regarding our facilities and services. We take important note of the details mentioned regarding the room accommodations and Spa services, to revise and ensure it does not repeat in the future. On another note we are delighted to read you received an outstanding service from Edward, Jeffery, Carlos Maria Monica Jeorge Jenny it will be a great joy for us to congratulate them on your behalf. We hope to have the honor to welcome you back soon and exceed your expectations.

Best regards.

Ivan Cunillera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Six of us spent a week here April 25 - May 2 and were very pleased with the the resort. The service and food were great! The rooms are quite large and the maids do an excellent job of cleaning and replenishing the fridge and snacks. The one thing we did miss was a 24 hour spot as we like to have a coffee early in the morning while sitting on the beach. The beach is a bit small but good swimming. The staff at this resort aim to please and we were fortunate not to have any encounters with the sales pitch. Great adult resort!

Room Tip: I don't think there are any bad rooms
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 4friendsNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Director General at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear 4friendsNovaScotia,

Greetings from Catalonia Royal Bavaro! We are pleased to read you had a great holiday with friends. Thank you for your comments regarding our rooms, restaurants and staff services, we are glad they were of your enjoyment. We appreciate your feedback; we would like to share the good news that we have now available Sea Blue Breakfast menu with beach view starting at 8:00 a.m. also we count with a Coffee Break at the Piano Bar starting from 5:30 a.m. It would be a great joy to welcome you back soon.

Best regards from all the team.

Ivan Cunillera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This is a great resort. The rooms are large and clean. We tipped the maid daily and got the best service. We were in villa 38 which is in the perfect location - halfway between the beach and the main lobby. There was a nice balcony with a hammock, wifi was okay most of the time, surprisingly quiet in the rooms and there are quite a few english tv channels.

The only thing that bothered us about the towel game on the beach was the people who saved chairs first thing in the morning and didn't show up until late afternoon. It's okay to leave your stuff there while you have lunch or take a walk on the beach but all day is a little much. We noticed that most people go to the beach in the morning and leave in the afternoon so there are plenty of chairs available at that time - no need to reserve if you don't go to the beach until the afternoon. Unfortunately no one monitors this. The snorkeling was pretty good out by the man-made concrete pipe - lots of different fish. The oddest fish we saw was a scrawled filefish - pretty cool looking.

The food was great. We enjoyed the a la cartes - especially the ribs at Cata Tapa. Best ribs ever!!! We never had to wait and loved that we did not have to make reservations. We had breakfast every morning at Thalassa. I loved the omelets and tipped the chef a few times. My wife usually ate off the buffet and totally enjoyed everything. Great service there especially Anderson! The buffet on the other side was good - lots to choose from and they cooked some dishes fresh for you. We ate at the Rodeo Steakhouse twice and it was excellent both times. We also found the service bad at Sea Blue but the food was very good so we put up with it but didn't always tip there. We enjoyed the Juice Bar at the beach every morning and the Beach Bar every afternoon. Great service at both.

I went golfing twice at the 18-hole and once at the 9-hole and both were very good. The best part was the singing driver that took us to and from the courses - highly entertaining!

We wondered about tipping in the restaurants as there are so many people involved in your meal - the person who seats you, the person who brings you a drink, the person who takes your order, the person who brings your order and the person who cleans the table. We were told to give the tip directly to the person who gave you good service as they do not share in the tips.

We didn't care for the staff who tried to pressure us into the hotel tour every time we went to the lobby. This is a total turn-off and we were surprised that the resort does this to their guests - not cool!

We met some really nice people here from all over the world - Copenhagen, PEI, Wiarton, Thunder Bay, Brantford and Ohio. Thanks for making our vacation better.

All in all, this is a beautiful resort with a great beach, nice pools, excellent food and friendly staff. We would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TMac_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CataloniaRoyalBavaro, Director General at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear TMac_10,

Thank you for your recent stay at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, and for posting your review on Trip Advisor. We a content to read our room accommodations and restaurants were of your enjoyment, we will congratulate the staff for the excellent work, as well take note of the feedback provided. We apologize for the inconvenience at the beach and we will take action in order to resolve it. Please be assured that the resort does not encourage this activity. Once again thank you, we hope to have the opportunity to be your choice once again in the near future.

Best regards.

Ivan Cunillera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
12.7 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#44 of 112 in Punta Cana
975 reviews
9.7 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#23 of 112 in Punta Cana
1,876 reviews
42.2 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
Sanctuary Cap Cana by AlSol
#38 of 112 in Punta Cana
4,862 reviews
9.6 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
57.2 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Bouganville Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Royal Bavaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Royal Bavaro

Address: Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana 837, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#45 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: £144 - £481 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Catalonia Royal Bavaro 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the authentic Caribbean at an exclusive, adults-only resort. Its small details make big your stay and the personalized service you receive will make you feel as if you were in heaven. Exclusive suites, innovative restaurants, dreamlike swimming pools…relax in this tropical paradise and enjoy the best vacation you’ve ever had. Have an extraordinary experience, and leave the worrying to us; we’ll take care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Royal Bavaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Royal Bavaro Hotel Punta Cana
Catalonia Royal Bavaro Punta Cana
Royal Catalonia Bavaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing