We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second Stay at Catalonia Royal, Loved it more the second time !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Ranked #44 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Rochester,New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Second Stay at Catalonia Royal, Loved it more the second time !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2011

Like the title says this was our second stay, we found this resort last February and liked it so much it was an easy choice for this years Caribbean get away. We were here Feb 8-17, 2011. We again upgraded to the villa's with the private pool, in our opinion it is worth every penny. Absolutely loved having our own private infinity pool to float around in. These villas are two floors, very large, nicely decorated and the staff was kind enough to arrange for us to have the exact same room this year as we had last year THANK YOU !! The maid service was great, we tipped the maid everyday because they did such a nice job they deserved it. She always re-stocked our mini fridge with plenty of water, pop and beer.

This year we celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary and decided to book the private dinner for two on the beach. This was wonderful, our waiter Juan-Pablo was great, he was funny and very attentive. The menu we chose was absolutely wonderful. This was a perfect way to celebrate our anniversary and well worth the $110.00. We ate breakfast almost everyday at the main buffet, we thought it was very good, we ate breakfast at the Thalassa once but did not care for it. We ate lunch at the Sea Blue and it was very good, last year they also served breakfast there but this year no breakfast service, I wish they would bring back breakfast to the Sea Blue. We also went to the regular side for lunch or an afternoon snack, the wood-fired pizza there was great. One of the staff members at the pizza place was working at the resort last year and she immediately recognized us and greeted us with a big hug, it was wonderful to see her again !!

We had Valentines dinner at the Thalassa and we thought it was wonderful, our waiter was outstanding and the food was really good. We had dinner at the mexican, steak house, japanese and the italian restaurant, we enjoyed all our meals at these restaurants.

The concierge staff is wonderful, they are so helpful and friendly. We found again this year all the staff on the Royal side extremely helpful and very polite.

The beach is perfect, no waves and very shallow, you can snorkel right off the beach. We usually went to the beach late in the morning and were always able to find a chair, but as usual there were tons of chairs being "saved" and no one is there for hours. We met a very funny, energetic group from Iowa and a very nice young couple from Minnesota a big hello to all of you !!

Like other reviews mention, the Royal side is quiet and peaceful and most guests are couples looking for a quiet get away. Thank You again to the Royal staff for making our vacation as nice as it was and we look forward to returning again in Feb 2012.

If anyone has questions feel free to e mail.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fitzright2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,880
    1,518
    583
    191
    149
See reviews for
361
3,942
83
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,009)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2011

We stayed Feb 5-12 in one of the junior suites which I believe is the standard room without any upgrades. It was beautiful. Clean, big, nice bathroom with stand-up shower, water was hot when it was supposed to be and cold when it was supposed to be. No creepy bathroom crud or smells. Balcony was cute, with hammock and bistro table/chair set. TV was surprisingly good! Lots of english channels including a few movie channels that showed stuff you actually want to watch. A/C had 4 settings including high-powered ice cold. Also had a ceiling fan above bed to circulate the A/C. VERY impressed with the room. Bed was FANTASTIC. I'm sure the upgrades are nice but you do NOT need to spend extra money to get a nice room at this hotel.

Service is great. Tipping the maid gets you extra cookies, tons of extra water, extra bath products, etc. Tipping the bartenders gets you the "good stuff". Special shout out to Kelvin at the Palmeral Bar! We loved him! The staff at this hotel is very friendly - the DR is a country of wonderful ppl.

The most important point I want to raise: I echo previous reviewers when I say that the Royal (adults only) side is quiet. Peaceful, not crowded, very clean. If that's what you're looking for, you won't be disappointed. We very much enjoyed staying on the Royal side, but we did spend A LOT of time on the main Bavaro side. The Palmeral Bar was big and lively, situated near the theatre, so the music and sounds of the nightly entertainment floated into the bar area which was lovely. If you want to go and have drinks, this is the place to go. Tons of ppl to meet while sitting at the bar, the bartenders are friendly, lots of ppl-watching. We went there every evening.

Wood-burning pizza oven on main side is phenomenal. Ate there every day (I know, we're pigs). Creperie (same place as pizza oven) is also amazing. Ate there almost every night. Ham-and-cheese crepe SOOOOO GOOOOOOD.

Buffets were meh. But that's because they're buffets. Sea Blue grill was good. Thalassa was meh. Mexican restaurant meh. Didn't try Italian, steak place or Tapas on the Royal side. Don't bother ordering dessert anywhere, they're all extremely sub-par and stale, recycled from the buffet trays, no doubt. GO TO THE CREPERIE!!!

Gym is small, to say the least. You won't be impressed if you intend to get a few good workouts in on your vacation. However, apparently they have a great golf course (don't golf) and we played tennis every day - the courts were in excellent shape and always available.

We went deep sea fishing (caught nothing, 2 other boats out at the same time caught nothing) on the Bavaro Beach side (kind of "around the bend" from the Catalonia). I have to say that their beach put our beach to shame. The Catalonia is a lovely hotel, but its location can't compete. If you could pick it up and move it to the better beach, that would be awesome!

Don't go here if you're single and looking to party. Royal side was all couples. Main side was all families or couples who didn't want to pay extra for adults only. We saw some young guys in their 20s chillin' by the bar hoping to score and they were in for a real disappointment.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank E1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuntaCanaCabezaToro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, 18 February 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor, following your recent stay with us at Catalonia Royal Bavaro. This will certainly motivate our team to continue to deliver the best service to all our guests.

It is always very rewarding to receive such compliments to ensure that every guest leaves with great satisfaction.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Catalonia Royal Bavaro.

Sincerely,

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elverson, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2011

My wife and I just return from 9 wonderful days at the catalonia royal. We both stayed at the catalonia bavaro back in 2002 and enjoyed that hotel but the royal was much better. We were both glad to pay a little extra on our trip for this hotel. The restaurants were all excellent for service,food quality and presentation.The breakfast served in thalassa restaurant could stand some improvement with the breakfast meats , the bacon and sausage were pretty bad , but the rest of the buffet was ok. The lunch and dinners were excellent here as well as the sea blue and tappas Our room was in building 42 and the air condition was fine and the room was clean. On two ocassions, the electric went out. You might want to bring a flashlight to be on the safe side. Our trip package included free golf green fees everyday and we played three times during our stay. The cost was $35.00 per person for the cart which was cheap for resort golf anywhere including in New Jersey where we live.The cost at the Iberostar bavaro golf club was $165.00 and at Cocotal was $155.00 per person so $35.00 is a great deal. The catalonia caribe 18 hole course was in excellent shape and we completed our round in under 4hrs. The 9 hole course on the hotel property was fun and had some narror fairways as well as water on several holes. The greens were not as good as the caribe course.We would certainly go back to the Royal for the golf, food ,beach pools and excellent service

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank golflovers46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuntaCanaCabezaToro, Director General at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, 18 February 2011
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments!

We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and also liked to play Golf at our Golf courses.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future!

Best regards,

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2011

This resort was absolutely beautiful. This was only my 3rd time to the caribbean but I found this hotel to be the nicest one yet.
FOOD - We tried all of the restaurants. Sea blue right off the beach we had lunch everyday the burger and dominican style chicken are excellente! Our favorite restaurant for dinner was the cata tapas spanish restaurant. It was small portions but everything looked beautiful and was very tasty. We didn't really like the Italian Thalessa restaurant for lunch or dinner, but the 4 chocolate desert was amazing and we had our breakfast there everyday as buffet style. We also tried the Italian, Japanese, Mexican, Rodeo steak house buffet on the other side of the resort and all 4 of us managed to find something that we liked. I guess we aren't picky people? Oh and there is a 24 hour snack bar on the other side that has pizza, chicken, nachos etc. That came in handy after the disco ;)
ROOMS - We had room 4402. Bottom floor facing the pool with the swim up bar. My boyfriend and I had no issues with the room. The beds were a little hard and there was a little musty smell but not enough to complain about. Our friends had their toilet break and safe break but they were both fixed immediately.
STAFF - They were all amazing. Most of the staff could speak enough english to communicate but what other reviewers are saying is true. It DOES make a big difference to learn a little bit of spanish, they really appreciate when you try :)
ENTERTAINMENT - We saw the last half of the MJ show and it was really entertaining. We went to the beach party on thursday which was also lots of fun. The casino is quite small just one black jack table and one roulette table, but big enough to loose your money haha. We also went to the disco a couple nights, not too much action but we had fun.
EXCURSIONS - We did two. The glass bottom boat tour that is just off the beach. It was 50 each you drove by dolphin island and kinda peeked in at what they were doing which was a little weird cause you couldn't really see anything, then we went away from all the boats pretty far out in the rough water and attempted to snorkel, then went to a natural pool with a bunch of party boats . Not really worth it when you can just snorkel off of the beach at catalonia and see more fish that way. TIP- some of the guys were putting bread into water bottles so when you get underwater you squeeze the bottle and bits of bread come out to feed the fish and take pictures. We also did horseback riding for 25 each 3 hours you run along the beach and a lady takes some good action shots. It was fun but there was a lot of garbage along the beach which is sad and the horses don't look well fed either :(
SHOPPING - we went to the market (if your facing the beach walk to the right about 5 minutes) there were 21 little shops with all the same stuff. They are very pushy for you to buy something. You can talk them down to a good price but its a little stressful if your not used to it.
POOLS we spent most days lounging by the infinity pool. The swim up bar pool closer to the lobby has a little more action but is usually harder to find a spot to sit. We also went to the large pool on the other side of the resort and they had a water polo game set up every afternoon for the guest to play.
Overall we had a great trip. What we all liked is that the royal side is a lot more laid back and relaxing but if we got bored we could always find something to do on the other side which was only a 5 minute walk and thats dominican time! Let me know if you have any questions! Obviously I could talk about this resort all day!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank karentwist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2011

We stayed at the resort February 6 - 13th. Temperatures were perfect at this time with highs in the mid-80s dipping down to the low 70s at night with some occasional rain at night. The hotel provides you an umbrella in your room. The resort was extremely well maintained with workers all over the place. We had issues with power to our villa, which then effected the A/C and possibly the hot water as well. It's a 3rd world country though and constant electricity is a luxury. We took these things in stride, especially when back home they were suffering bone chilling temperatures. We enjoyed the laid back atmosphere of the royal side and only ventured over to the other resort for some shows and restaurants. We found the food to be much better on the Royal side as you would imagine with it being more pricey as an adults-only. The Sea Blue restaurant has grilled lobster so we indulged there quite a bit. The Wi-Fi reception was spotty at times. There is an included internet room, but I found the keyboard to be challenging. Good idea to bring your own laptop. Loved the stocked fridge. It is stocked with Brahma beer, which we found to taste better than El Presidente which is everywhere but your room. The beach is clean and the seaweed is raked daily. No shortage of chairs at either the pool by the lobby or on the beach. I would echo comments that the lobby on the non-royal side is much better by comparison as well as the beds get some getting use to (hard). As for the shows, do not miss the Michael Jackson one. Very entertaining, but did not include any 70s MJ. (my favorite period) Bring your own celery salt if you like Bloody Marys. There build-your-owns didn't have that ingredient. It definitely helps to know some Spanish while there, but not required. We took in a dual massage at the spa and their rates were not outrageous. Well worth it after spending days in the sun. There are shops off the beach to the right as you face the ocean as well as some right on the resort. There isn't much else close to this resort, which we liked as you can walk a long way in each direction. My significant other won $200 on a nickel slot in the small casino. Always play the max bet on those machines. Our Apple Rep said we picked a very good resort and I would agree, especially on the royal side.

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Belexes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobourg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2011

Had one of the best holidays ever - This is an over 18 resort. I would definitely not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. There is one free round/person allowed per day although you do have to pay $35 for the cart but if you are a golfer you have a choice of an 18 and 9 hole course-both very challenging the rooms and the grounds were beautiful and always kept clean. The food was fantastic and the service superb - your drink was never empty and the food presentation was something equivalent to eating out at a high end restaurant. We ate lunch every day at the Catalapa restaurant ( fantastic dishes ) near the beach and be sure to look for Armstrong Ruiz - he always recognized us and greeted us with a big smile- he always uplifed our spirits - it was obvious, seeing the others guests, that everyone in the restaurant loved Armstrong. The weather was perfect, the beach very clean and great swimming in the ocean. The only negative was the humidity in the room but when we asked for a dehumidifier it was in our room within the hour and problem solved - whatever you needed the staff was always courteous and polite. I am looking forward to returning next year Gerald T. stark@cogeco.net

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeraldT60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuntaCanaCabezaToro, Director General at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, 12 February 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your Catalonia Royal Bavaro experiences on TripAdvisor and for choosing to spend your holiday with us.

We are delighted to hear that your overall experience at our property was absolutely perfect and that you had an enjoyable vacation. All your kind comments are greatly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2011

My husband and I have travelled frequently in the Caribbean and found the Catalonia Royal to be one of the best resorts we've experienced. We stayed Feb 1-8, 2011 and for the first time in our travels, wished we could have stayed much longer. With use of the Catalonia Bavaro Beach side, there were so many options available: so many restaurants, bars, pools, and beach areas to try. The grounds were unbelievably beautiful, especially on the Catalonia Bavaro Beach side where the gardens were mature. Also, the grounds at both resorts were so clean. The infinity pool at the Royal was lovely. These resorts hold many people, yet at no time did we feel crowded. It was wonderful enjoying the party atmosphere, bars and restaurants at the Catalonia Bavaro Beach, then walking the short distance back to the quiet elegance of Catalonia Royal.
The staff at both resorts fell over backwards to help us and some treated us like family; they were wonderful! What a contrast between the excellent service at these resorts and the service we've had at Toronto restaurants since returning home. Many thanks to all of the staff at both Catalonia Royal and Catalonia Bavaro Beach, and particularly to Frasisco and Armstrong at Sea Blue, Martha at Mariachi, Amarylis at the Maloo juice bar, Juliette at Gran Caribe, and Rosemary and the waitresses at the main lobby bar. Thanks also to staff at the front desk. Amazing service and friendliness. They even appreciated our attempts to learn some Spanish from them!
Our room (junior deluxe suite) was elegant, comfortable and very roomy. I could live in it! We loved the canopy bed, walk-in shower, huge tub, and satellite TV late at night. When we needed something, we left a note and our need was met.
We tried the Mariachi, Rodeo, Cata Tapa, Mikado and Sea Blue restaurants and found the food and service to be excellent at each of these. We really enjoyed the chef’s show at the Mikado; thanks again to the chef and waiter at Mikado for adjusting my meal to meet my dietary needs. The 24 hour snack restaurant at the pool was handy and had great handmade potato chips and unusual pizza. The Gran Caribe had no sugar added desserts (a real treat for someone who can’t eat sugar) and Thalassa, Sea Blue, Palapas and Gran Caribe had whole grain breads. Thanks to Frasisco and Armstrong at Sea Blue for making sure that my lunches were made with full grain bread. Despite dietary health problems, I found (too) much to eat and all of it delicious. No fears eating here.
My husband played the 9 and 18 hole golf courses and found both to be good, with the 18 hole course more challenging. We went to the 18 hole golf course around 3:30 pm to avoid the heat; the golf course staff stayed later to allow my husband to play, and dropped what they were doing to take us back to the resort when we were done. The service was amazing.
We highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for an excellent adult only resort. We plan to return as soon as possible.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Love_to_Travel775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuntaCanaCabezaToro, General Manager at Catalonia Royal Bavaro, responded to this review, 11 February 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent Catalonia Royal Bavaro experiences on TripAdvisor.

It is a pleasure to hear that you had great experience and that you enjoyed your stay with us. All your kind comments with regards to the service and facilities at the property are greatly appreciated.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Josep Castellnou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
9.7 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#23 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
12.7 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#47 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
1.2 mi away
Catalonia Bavaro Beach, Casino & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Ambar Green Don Pablo Collection
6.2 mi away
The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium
7.8 mi away
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
#80 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Royal Bavaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Royal Bavaro

Property: Catalonia Royal Bavaro
Address: Cabeza de Toro, Punta Cana 837, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#17 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#28 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Catalonia Royal Bavaro 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the authentic Caribbean at an exclusive, adults-only resort. Its small details make big your stay and the personalized service you receive will make you feel as if you were in heaven. Exclusive suites, innovative restaurants, dreamlike swimming pools…relax in this tropical paradise and enjoy the best vacation you’ve ever had. Have an extraordinary experience, and leave the worrying to us; we’ll take care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelbag, Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Catalonia Royal Bavaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Royal Bavaro Hotel Punta Cana
Catalonia Royal Bavaro Punta Cana
Royal Catalonia Bavaro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing