We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Locals”
Review of Occidental Caribe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Occidental Caribe
Ranked #60 of 112 Hotels in Punta Cana
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I don't know if I expressed this in my other reviews but it has been bothering me ever since. If I have a really bad opinion about this resort, it's the fact that you are bombarded by the locals on the weekend and the vendors. You pay all that money to have a good time but the locals are allowed to come to the resort on the weekends to make up for the lost revenue. They are very rude and feel that they should have run of the resort even though they haven't paid half or a quarter of what visitors paid to stay there. When you complain security turns their head and allow them to do what they want. They throw trash everywhere and try to start arguments with the visitors. When it come to the vendors, they are relentless. You can't even walk back to your room without them hounding you to buy something even when you tell them no. The rest of my vacation was fine but these two things irked my nerves. Maybe if the resort remodel and come up with more upscale food then they could draw in the crowd without relying on the locals to cover their lost in revenue. Also, make sure the vendors know that they can harass the visitors but approach them with respect and learn how to accept the word "No."

Room Tip: Again make sure you get a suite for the full enjoyment of your room and privacy. Plus they are large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barcelopc, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Barcelo Punta Cana for your holidays. In the name of our entire staff, we want to thank you for taking time to share your review with other travelers.

We genuinely regret that felt disturbed by the presence of the local groups. Please be informed that we have an international clientele at our hotel but unfortunately it is impossible to know prior to arrival how our guests will behave at the hotel. However, we are always keen to advise all our guest of the importance to respect other guests needs for privacy and quietness.

We thank you for your feedback. It helps us to improve our standards of service.
Please feel free to contact us, in case you decide to visit us again.
Yours Sincerely,

General Manager at Barceló Punta Cana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (9,434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,960 - 2,966 of 9,436 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2014

We just came back from Barcelo Punta Cana
Resort is ok,service is just is unspeakable. Front,guest desk wouldnt lift a finger without tipping them or helping. We have paid for 2 rooms with Selloffvacations,both king size beds,when arrived with our 1 year old baby,nothing was ready,so we had to beg them to change the rooms and give us a baby crib,guess what??? nothing was done or followed up,so our son slept with me on a single bed all week. So the front desk has offered us to put 2 single beds together, so we would have our king size bed..... Paid 3900$ for 3 people for 1 week,absolutely is a big slap,even though we did our research b4.....travel a lot,and have never experienced anything like that....So sad resort is well kept,grounds,pools,but the service sux;i feel bad for the owner who invested a lot of money,food is repetitive despite of variety,ala cart restaurants-dont even want to go there,cooking &service is just-OMG:( (and people are complaining about Cuban food,go to this resort u will compare) My boyfriend was food poisoned for 3 days from the beach restaurant,to get the water refill u had to really,really try to convince them that u really need that 2 bottles of water... and our baby ended up at Punta Cana hospital b4 the flight....
beach,ocean was good,if you r travelling with ur lil one check the waves report,cause the waves were so high all week,almost 4 foot, so ur kid wouldnt be able to swim...
will never come back,never recommend
toronto

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dana x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barcelopc, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear guest,

First of all, we want to thank you for having chosen Barceló Punta Cana as your holiday destination and for taking time to post your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

We are deeply sorry to read that our hotel premises, facilities and services could not ensure you a memorable and relaxing stay. We are really sorry that you did not have a pleasant experience at our resort.

We have read thoroughly your comments, because they are very important for us as a responsible and professional hotel chain.

On behalf of our entire team, we would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any difficulties you may experience during your stay with other services that we are offering.

Barceló and its team are working very hard to improve our service on the daily basis.

We hope to give us the opportunity to provide the care and quality you deserve at a future visit.

We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance you might need before your visit.

Yours sincerely,

General Manager at Barceló Punta Cana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Just back from a great week of sun and sand on a beautiful beach with two other couples. Our second trip to Punta Cana but our first and last stay at Barcelo. Like other posts we had no warm much less hot water all week and front desk staff made empty promises and excuses while nothing was done about it. Disappointing since otherwise we loved the resort grounds pool beach and japanese restaurant. We had plenty of servers but each time we ordered a drink we got a surprise. Never the same or what we ordered. The Bahia Principe just up the beach was a better run resort on our previous trip.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BowmanvilleOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barcelopc, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen Barceló Hotels & Resorts and for sharing your experience with us through this website.
We really appreciate your valuable information. Feedback from our clients gives us the opportunity to evaluate our development and help us to improve our services.

We very much lament the inconveniences that you have encountered with the hot water. We had some technical shortcomings with broken pipe, which affected negatively this service, but It was correct that during your stay. We sincerely apologies for that.

We deeply regret any negative situation you have experienced.
It would be a pleasure if you can give us the opportunity to welcome you back.
Barceló Hotels & Resorts, your all-inclusive hotels in Punta Cana.
Always at your disposal,

General Manager at Barceló Punta Cana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Just back from 8 nights, the resort is perfect size, gorgeous beach goes on forever, decent food & hard-working friendly staff! However will unfortunately not return because at the end of a long day on the beach or by the pool I like a hot (even Luke warm) shower! Barcelo needs to spend the money to fix this one issue to ensure repeat business!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jriviere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barcelopc, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for selecting Barceló Punta Cana your holidays and sharing your feedback with the online community.

Our ultimate aim is to provide service excellence; our guests’ feedback shifts our focus on any possible deficiencies that may exist throughout our Resort and helps us improve the quality of our services and facilities.

We very much lament the inconveniences that you have encountered with the hot water. We had some technical shortcomings with broken pipe, which affected negatively this service, but It was correct that during your stay. We sincerely apologies for that.

It would be a pleasure if you can give us the opportunity to welcome you back.
Barceló Hotels & Resorts, your all-inclusive hotels in Punta Cana.

Always at your disposal,

General Manager at Barceló Punta Cana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Loved this resort, the waterpark was awesome for my 3 year old. The grounds were kept great, and the staff were great for the most part. We were in building 7 and the rooms were a little date, needed to be refurbished, I would recommend building 1-4 as I hear they have been updated. Just our bathrooms needed some work and the fridge in my mom's room never got fixed or replace. Hint, don't go to the front desk to get things for your room, just press 0 from your room phone, much quicker. The pizza restaurant was awesome and the Japanese a la carte was our fav. The burgers by the pool, the chef was fantastic, I think we had a burger and fries everyday :) We had 2 rooms on the first floor, and our keys gave access to both rooms which was very convenient. Rosa was awesome at the front desk, Ceaser & Salvador were the best bar tenders in the lobby, and Fransico the life guard/security guard was really nice too. They all work so hard and long hours, but had such great attitudes.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawife7878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barcelopc, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Guest,

We thank you for trusting in Barceló Punta Cana for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.
We really appreciate all your wonderful comments regarding to our resort. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed all services in our resort. For us it is very important to know, what experience our guests have during their stay with us. Thanks for choosing us as a destination for your stay.
We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance you might need before your next visit.
As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from a satisfied customer. It’s our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.
Warm regards,

General Manager at Barceló Punta Cana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Im 25 years old, I went there with a couple of my friends and we had a blast! Check in was fast and organized, took us 20 minutes. Very clean, nice room. Very good service, food and drinks are fast. The food is amazing, a lot of variety of food, just wonderful. The crew, chefs, bartenders are really friendly and nice. It's a big resort, the nightly events were really cool and entertaining. Entertainment at a hugee theatre, music, dancing and shows, acrobats. The pools are really nice, a lot of activities on the beach, everything you want to try is right there. The beach is the most beautiful beach I have ever seen. Alott of girls on the beach. I would recommend for singles, couple, old or young, we met all kind of different ages of people from all over the world. I can't say anything bad about the resort. It had everything, trust me, food, drinks, girls, nice beach, nice pool,, nice weather, what more do you want

Room Tip: Get the Prestge class, for around 70$ more we got to choose our room at a higher level, closer to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miguel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barcelopc, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Miguel,

I am delighted to hear about your recent experience at Barceló Punta Cana; as well I would like to thank you for having taken some of your valuable time to write your impressions.

Exceeding the expectations of our guests and offer truly exceptional experiences is our goal. We know that in order to achieve this it is necessary to provide good service and attitude; therefore I am proud to hear that our staff went above and beyond in their effort to fulfill all your needs.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again at Barceló Punta Cana and continue providing the most unforgettable experiences.

Best regards,

General Manager at Barceló Punta Cana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Pros and cons

My husband and I vacation a lot and I looked at reviews before booking it, as for the negatives i had to see for myself. my husband and i just came back from vacationing at this resort. Pros about the resort...... Good liquor, beautiful resort, clean, staff are friendly and hardworking. Our cabin overlooking the beach is breath taking, bed sheets are soft, comfortable and good quality. The mattress is very comfortable as well. Air conditioner in bedroom is nice and cold. The excursions are amazing, one of the best experiences ever was The Bravo Splash has3 excursions in one... Like speedboat ride, scuba diving and snorkeling and it was for 60 pp. The shows are the best shows ever! The singers are incredible and there are a bunch of talented people! The beach is incredibly clean and beautiful, I was surprised that others preferred to stay in in the pool rather than the beach.

The cons...Food is not good, it a shame because the food would have really made a huge difference. Buffet is not open all day and there was not much main meals just a bunch of little greasy fried appetizers. La Roma restaurant was only opened twice during my stay and it was booked out. The food they have is poor quality an extremely greasy! The juices served are Tang powdered drinks or either unripened fruit shakes. The black birds fly around you when you eat at the buffet because there are no windows. There is nothing French about the French restaurant.The Tokyo and Dominican restaurant restaurant not great, but still better than buffet food...however they serve small portions leaving you still hungry because the chef cooks one big meal to split between 10 people in your group. There is no Air Conditioner throughout the entire hotel except the cabins. The moment you step out of your cabin you will feel hot and sweaty throughout the entire resort! The bugs will be chewing away so bring bug spray. There is no free WIFI you have to pay $27.00 for 3 days. There is not not much entertainment in this resort you have to book an excursion. There is no hot water at certain times and there is no water pressure. The rooms are not sound prof you can hear everything, even the people walking by. Most vacationers here were families that had never vacationed before. So before you book this hotel just know that the food quality you search for will not be the same as your other vacation experiences. If this is your first time vacationing here then this vacation will be for you. If this is not your first time don't be cheap like me and stay at a better resort with better quality.

Room Tip: Spa is ok a bit overpriced. $80.00 for 60 minute back massage. The excursions is a must lots of fun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doll P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barcelopc, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Barcelo Punta Cana.
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.
We would like to extend our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences or difficulties you may have experienced during your stay.
Concerning your comments about the quality of our food, we would like to point out that our menus are composed by carefully selected products, and done taking into consideration the diversity of our guests. Indeed, our satisfaction’s questionnaires always reflect high punctuations. Your observations are taking into great consideration and have been shared with the Executive Chef of our Resort for their analysis.
We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at any of our Hotels, and that way be able to change any negative perception you may have about us.

Kind regards,

General Manager at Barceló Punta Cana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
15.5 mi away
The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club
3.6 mi away
Occidental Punta Cana
Occidental Punta Cana
#18 of 27 in Bavaro
1,944 reviews
5.9 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Palace
0.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
#62 of 112 in Punta Cana
10,631 reviews
3.1 mi away
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
Paradisus Punta Cana Resort
#25 of 112 in Punta Cana
13,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Caribe

Address: Carretera Macao s/n | Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic (Formerly Barcelo Punta Cana)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#53 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#54 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#56 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range: £96 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Occidental Caribe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 798
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Occidental Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Breezes Punta Cana
Barcelo Punta Cana Resort
Barcelo Premium Punta Cana
Barcelo Dominican Punta Cana
Punta Cana Barcelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing