We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worse vacation”
Review of Occidental Caribe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Occidental Caribe
Ranked #65 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“worse vacation”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

i must say the shows and entertaiment staff are awesome..
customer service horrible jennifer manager worse.. no water in the hotel for 2 days.. they gave you a stupid bottle of champagne are you kidding me hotel lost my luggage.. they are call jet blue u need 3 hours just to check out because they don't find ur payments jet blue shame on you..

Room Tip: don't stay here horrible horrible i tell you
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear guest,

We very much lamented any inconveniences that you have experienced while you were staying in our hotel, incident happens anywhere, but rest assured that this is not our policy or standard. We deeply regret the impression that was carried of our staff and our services, this is in no way the image we want to project, on the contrary to perceive our collaborators with the warmth and friendliness that characterizes the Dominican people, always providing the service expected by our customers. besides that Barcelo Punta Cana is working very strong training the staff to provide the highest level of satisfaction. Our employees are doing their best every day to achieve this goal.

It is our sincere desire to have the opportunity to welcome you in the near future to our resort again, so we can show that the situations described in your feedback does not correspond to our performance and service overall. We strongly believe that the next time putting our best efforts, we will be able to exceed your expectations, so that we can regain your confidence in our company

Sincerely,

General Manager Barceló Punta Cana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,436
    2,462
    1,338
    793
    732
See reviews for
3,277
2,636
196
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,248)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Not only was the resort beautiful and it had everything you could possibly think of available when you needed it, but the experience was wonderful as well. All of the workers were wonderful and always had a smile on their face or were dancing around while doing their job. Francisco Fresita and Jesse Perez were always around and we felt as though we made two wonderful friends. Them along with all of the entertainment crew really made our trip wonderful and made the resort stand out as different. The beach was clean and beautiful. There was a good variety of food always available. The rooms had all of the necessary components but for the price you can't expect something spectacular. I would recommend this resort to everyone and I will definitely be going back soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djalv2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Guest,

I appreciate the time you have taken to write your feedback and I am delight to read you had an awesome experience at our Barceló Punta Cana.

It pleases us greatly to hear that you appreciate the exceptional hospitality service provided by our staff to make your stay a memorable one. We do our best to make our guests feel at home.

Our guest’s opinion is very important and valuable for us; I take your feedback for a continuous improvement.

Regards,

General Manager at Barceló Punta Cana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Even though the customer service wasn't all that great, the animation team made my stay there incredible. They have shows at night and day activities which are nice all thanks to Jesse Perez, la Fresa, Jairo, Quanderson and Christopher. If it weren't for them, I don't think I would have made it through my whole week at the resort.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lily V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear guest,

First of all we thank you for choosing our hotel Barcelo Punta Cana for your holidays and for the time you took to share your review with the Tripadvisor community.

Please be sure that your observations are taken into great consideration for their analysis, in order to improve the points you mentioned.
We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at Barcelo Punta Cana to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

We will be honored to welcome you back. Do not hesitate to contact us prior your next visit.

Warm regards,

General Manager at Barceló Punta Cana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The view from the room and the beaches were awesome. The service left a lot to be be desired, the buffet and restaurants have limited times of service and room service is not included in the all inclusive. Eggs were $18.00 from room service. Pizza closed prior to posted times which left no food available upon the return from our excursion. Internet service is purchased and works approximately 10% of the time. Hot water was barely available during the early evening hours. Water was shut off for 14 hours in the rooms, pool, beach, hotel and restaurant areas. Understand stuff happens but the staff was extremely rude when asked when water service would be returned along with any other questions. AC did not work in some rooms, doors would open when shut, sewer smell in the bathroom. If you do not speak conversational Spanish you will struggle communicating with the majority of the staff and some staff would just ignore you. The general topic of conversation in public areas was how poor service and friendliness was at Barcelo Punta Cana.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Troylene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear guest,

First of all we wish to express our sincere apologies for any inconvenience that you may have encountered. Our ultimate aim is to provide service excellence; our guests’ feedback shifts our focus on any possible deficiencies that may exist throughout our Resort and helps us improve the quality of our services and facilities.

Regarding your comments about our customer service, we must say that we constantly monitor our employees through our Human Resources and Quality Department. We have taken note of your comments and please allow us to inform you that we are developing several improvements projects.
In reference to our employees and the language barrier, Barcelo Punta Cana is working hard giving staff training and English class every day, in order to provide the highest level of satisfaction. Our employees are doing their best every day to this goal quarterdeck.

We very much lament the inconveniences with the rooms; we have a meeting with all our managers where all raised points were discussed in detail with to ensured that those issues never happen again. We are very sorry that we felt short of their expectation.

In reference to the issue with the water; it was only one day and it was a very difficult situation for us, unfortunately thing happen, but it was fixed the same day.

It is our sincere desire to have the opportunity to welcome them in the near future to our resort again, so we can show that the situations described in their review does not correspond to our performance and service overall. We strongly believe that the next time putting our best efforts, we will be able to exceed their expectations, so that we can regain their confidence in our company.

We look forward to welcoming them on a future occasion, in this way show our commitment for service and customer satisfaction, and quality assurance stamp of our Barceló Hotels & Resorts family.

Kind regards.

General Manager Barceló Punta Cana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Had a relaxing holiday in this wonderful hotel. The staff were friendly and in most areas very attentive to our needs. The choice of food in the buffet was great and catered for all tastes. The restaurants were varied and we enjoyed the fine dining experiences. The French restaurant was at an extra cost but was well worth it. My husband played golf and took advantage of the money off vouchers we received at check in. The adults only pool was much quieter than the larger family pools. Take US dollars to pay for the entry visa to the country as pesos are not accepted at the airport. Dollars are also requested first in all the shops in the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms starting 8 are nearest to the golf course club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ambocsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear guest,

We thank you for choosing Barceló Punta Cana for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.

We are very happy to read that your positive lines regarding the friendliness of our staff, the variety of our gastronomy, and the beauty and cleanness of our premises which ensured you a pleasant holiday.

Exceeding the expectations of our guests and offer truly exceptional experiences is our goal. We know that in order to achieve this it is necessary to provide good service and attitude; therefore I am proud to hear that our staff went above and beyond in their effort to fulfill all your needs.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again at Barceló Punta Cana and continue providing the most unforgettable experiences.

Best regards,

General Manager at Barceló Punta Cana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Stayed here in February 2014 during spring break. The hotel itself is slightly older compared to other hotels in the area. The layout of the hotel is great because every room has ocean front view.
The daily dinner buffet was mediocre, but the A la carte's were all great. The hotel allows you to go to a different A la carte every night if you choose. When you first arrive you get 3 random a la cartes. If you go to the concierge desk and ask, you can set up restaurants for every night of your stay for free.

The pools are nice, they have 2 pools. One is more kid friendly, where the other pool is more adult orientated with a pool bar and music.

Customer service was excellent, and the room was always clean.

The only real down side was the resort looks older and not as modern as some. Also, its really not near anything outside of the resort. So unless you book day trips, you will be staying on the resort for the week.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnTheGo-2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear guest,

First of all we thank you for choosing our hotel Barcelo Punta Cana for your holidays and for the time you took to share your review with the Tripadvisor community.

We would like to thank you for highlighting our strengths and weaknesses. Please be sure that your observations are taken into great consideration for their analysis, in order to improve the points you mentioned.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at Barcelo Punta Cana to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities and change any negative perception you may have about us

We will be honored to welcome you back. Do not hesitate to contact us prior your next visit.

Warm regards,

General Manager at Barceló Punta Cana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Let me start by saying that I’m not a complainer by nature, and I’ve never taken the time to review a resort before, but I felt compelled to do so here. I sincerely hope to save someone else the disastrous vacation experience we’ve just endured....

My family and I returned last night and the first 3.5 days of our 8 days were spent in vacation hell, aka: Barcelo Punta Cana.

While I realize the resort is billed as budget friendly and only 3.5 stars, the time we spent there was a complete disaster – none of which had to do with its budget-friendliness or 3.5 stars – all of which had to do with its lack of knowing how to run a resort.

The resort had NO WATER for an entire day, which meant no shower, no flushing the toilet, no showers near the pool, and the pool was disgustingly low.

We resorted to “showering off” our sandy beach bodies by using the water bottle from the barely working mini-fridge. None of us had enough water to wash our hair.

The next day there was no hot water and the showers near the pool came out at a dribble. And the pool was absolutely foul (milky white). By the end of the day it was littered with empty drink cups/straws and other bits of trash. I've never seen anything so gross in my entire life. My children weren’t permitted in the pool – how is that a vacation??

There were constantly no pool towels available and when we did manage to get some (after walking up three and four times throughout the day) they were musty and gross. We didn't even use them. Everyone kept returning them to the very, very non-friendly towel woman. She really didn't care about the inconvenience.

The food was barely edible and there were constant (and I do mean constant) lines at every customize-able food station at the buffet. To make restaurant reservations you had to stand in a never-ending line. Every time I attempted to make a reservation for my family there were at least seven to ten people standing there waiting. I gave up.

The resort was incredibly crowded - it's an enormous resort - and while that's not a bad thing, the frustration for us came from the lines, lines, lines at every twist and turn. The front desk was a zoo - I've actually never seen anything like it. At times there had to be a hundred people waiting. There simply weren't enough people working to accommodate the guests - they need to double the staff.

It seemed like all we did was wait while we were there. Wait to check in, wait for the buffet to open (it closed for very long stretches of time and the only other food option was to stand in an obscenely long line—like, twenty people long, for a cheeseburger or hot dog), wait to be served at the bar (again, always a looooong line of people and one bartender!!).

Our entire time spent there was a massive ball of frustration and that just isn’t right.

When we couldn't take a single second longer—the gross injustice of it all—I called our travel agent and asked to be moved. We spent the remainder of our vacation at the Dreams resort, which was infinitely better in every way possible.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skateorbate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear guest,

In reference to the issue with the water; it was only one day and it was a very difficult situation for us, unfortunately thing happen, but it was fixed the same day. Anyway we want you to know that your opinion is very important and valuable to us. For this reason, your comments regarding all the inconveniences that you mentioned in your latter are taken with special consideration as you help us identifying our improvement areas and service, giving us the opportunity to correct them, and thus achieve to offer our guests a service of the highest quality.

We apologize to regards to your comments concerning our towels service, we have informed our housekeeping manager about the issues and she will take the necessary actions to improve the services. We very much appreciate your comments, as it is through this medium that we are able to address guest issues and provide a high level of guest satisfaction.

It is our sincere desire to have the opportunity to welcome them in the near future to our resort again, so we can show that the situations described in their review does not correspond to our performance and service overall. We strongly believe that the next time putting our best efforts, we will be able to exceed their expectations, so that we can regain their confidence in our company.

We look forward to welcoming them on a future occasion, in this way show our commitment for service and customer satisfaction, and quality assurance stamp of our Barceló Hotels & Resorts family.

Kind regards.

General Manager Barceló Punta Cana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punta Cana
19.1 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#43 of 111 in Punta Cana
947 reviews
17.1 mi away
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
AlSol Tiara Cap Cana
#24 of 111 in Punta Cana
1,742 reviews
37.9 mi away
Casa de Campo Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Occidental Punta Cana
Occidental Punta Cana
#18 of 26 in Bavaro
1,227 reviews
16.9 mi away
Alsol Luxury Village
Alsol Luxury Village
#87 of 111 in Punta Cana
3,268 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sunscape Dominican Beach Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Caribe

Property: Occidental Caribe
Address: Carretera Macao s/n | Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic (Formerly Barcelo Punta Cana)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#57 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#58 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#60 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Occidental Caribe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 798
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Travelbag, Odigeo, Barcelo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Occidental Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Breezes Punta Cana
Barcelo Punta Cana Resort
Barcelo Premium Punta Cana
Barcelo Dominican Punta Cana
Punta Cana Barcelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing