We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful option if you know what to do” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Occidental Caribe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Occidental Caribe
Ranked #61 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
new York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful option if you know what to do”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

I stayed for two weeks in July. The hotel was typical. The rooms had some problems that you get in every hotel in the area. Air conditioning issues and cleaning staff being late.

We stayed in building 6 (we moved rooms). During our stay the hotel lost water due to a main line issues. They still provided all other amenities which is difficult if you think about it (food, bars, pool).

The entertainment was great. Wonderful shows and staff. Mini me was fantastic in getting people involved in the daily activities.
There was either a show, live singer/musician, or karaoke available nightly.

The beach was fantastic. Nice stretch of sand with tiny waves and clean water. (no seaweed and no oil slicks from the boating activities). there us plenty of sitting area on the beach and shade is provided by the palm trees.

While the water sports are outsourced to another company the hotel has a great deal with them. Free kayaks, snorkeling equipment, wave boards and best of all the catamaran with a captain. These are all daily with time limits but it gives you plenty to do. Just make sure to make your reservation. The whole staff of Mariana is fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariyaB96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear guest,

We thank you for choosing Barceló Punta Cana for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.
I have read thoroughly your comments because they are very important for us as a responsible and professional hotel chain. For us it is very important the experience our guest have about their stay with us. I accept your feedback for continuous improvement in a future stay.
Barceló and its team are working very hard to improve our service on the daily basis.
We hope to give us the opportunity to provide the care and quality you deserve at a future visit.
We remain at your entire disposition for any assistance you might need before your visit.

Sincerely,

General Manager at Barceló Punta Cana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,240
    2,329
    1,256
    758
    689
See reviews for
3,091
2,468
187
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,178)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

For sure a party hotel. We went on a senior trip and we had the best time of our lives! They had a group there called "Highway" and what they do is take schools all over the world on their senior trips so their was a lot of teenagers there which is what we were looking for. The food was perfect at the Mexican restaurant i had chicken fajitas and they were the best I've ever had and I'm from Texas so you know they're good. The pizza was amazing also but you have to get there right when it opens or else is really packed. We had $200 stolen out of our room but we left it out of the safe so it was our fault but the safe is big enough for a 15 inch computer. Everything in the mini fridge is complimentary. The pool with the swim up bar is where the partying is. The airport was not scary except when you walk out to the taxis but wasn't bad at all and the drive to the hotel was only 45 minutes but goes by really fast. The beach was beautiful. The night live was excellent they had beach parties. If you go here you need to check out the night club Imagine its a club thats in a cave and is beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear guest,

First of all we thank you for choosing our hotel Barcelo Punta Cana for your holidays and for the time you took to share your review with the Tripadvisor community.

Please be sure that your observations are taken into great consideration for their analysis, in order to improve the points you mentioned.
We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at Barcelo Punta Cana to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

We will be honored to welcome you back. Do not hesitate to contact us prior your next visit.

Warm regards,

General Manager at Barceló Punta Cana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

I think it makes a difference on what side of the resort you stay in. If you stay on the left side of the resort you get nice rooms, with refrigerators that work, clean towels every day and your room cleaned before 5. If you stay on the left side of the resort you get functioning elevators and hot & cold water anytime you need it. Or maybe it makes a difference if you pay the regular retail price to the resort you get to stay in the newer side of the resort where they give you clean sheets occasionally and if you get a less expensive package deal from a travel agency you get to stay in the ghetto side of the resort and deal with sand in your sheets daily. We tried to make the best of the situation. The food was good. Not great, but good. We did not go hungry. The excursions we booked off site where excellent and I highly recommend then and will give them good reviews on their sites. I see such a vast difference in reviews from the same month. I can only think that the good reviews came from the premium side of the resort.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissPigitheDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest.

First we do apologize for any inconvenience that you may have encountered during your stay with us. Please rest assured that your experiences are certainly not the norm of our service levels or standards, as we at Barceló pride ourselves on providing a quality vacation experience for all our valued guests.

We are very concern about your comment, as we always do our best possible to keep all ours rooms and lingerie very clean, therefore we have a meeting we our maintenance and housekeep managers, where all points raised were discussed with them to correct these service flaws to ensure these issues do not happen again.

Reiterate our sincere apologize for any discomfort that this matter caused to you.

Warm regards.

General Manager at Barceló Punta Cana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

No water for two days, 3 - 4 hours to check in, 95% of the staff spoke no English, couldn't get mini bar updated after making 5 phone calls, room did not get cleaned one day so no new towels. All restaurants had to have reservations except one buffet, plenty of seaweed in the water. Had to bust door open coming and going as if the door frame was swollen. Very few channels in English on the tv. Toilet did flush properly, once it gurgled while I was in bed waking up. Rooms need updated. Extremely disappointed!!!!!

Room Tip: I was told they updated the rooms on the left side building 1 etc of resort. I was in building 4 and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PrissyPinklady69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Please receive the warmest greetings from Barceló Punta Cana. Thank you for sending along your comments as our guest experiences plays a key role in this continuous process. We would like to apologize for not completely fulfilling your expectations and we are deeply sorry for the inconveniences you encountered.

There are always different perceptions with the product and service offered by us; rest assured all these will be addressed to our management team in order to make the corrective changes.

We regret that your disappointment with so many areas of our resort, has been conveyed through this forum and not once on site to any of the Management members, we are very resourceful and would have gladly gone above and beyond to formulate your experience in order to have you join the hundreds of extremely pleased and satisfied guests of Barcelo Punta Cana.

We are looking forward to have the opportunity to serve you and most importantly be able to change your perception and regain your trust in our brand.

Yours Sincerely,

General Manager at Barceló Punta Cana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

we went from 7/19 - 7/26 2014. i didn't like the fact the the first night we stayed there was no water, the Customer Service was awful! and the fact that the AC didn't really work. We were excited to go since we purchased it a while ago. after all of these awful things, thanks to the BARCELO LIFE ENTERTAINMENT TEAM we had a great ending to our trip!! these young men make you feel welcomed like if you were part of their family. they are very kind, charming, hard working, and very funny. its all thats to: yei yei, Francisco (la FRESA), Queandherson, Jesee, Cristopher and mini mi. if it wasn't for this entertainment crew i think i would've left the resort sooner. as long as they improve on their service at the buffet, room service, and their attitude than maybe i will think about going back.

Room Tip: Choose one of the suites room because thats the only way that you can get better sleeping quality be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvettelari1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing Barceló Punta Cana for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.
We would like to highlight that our main interest is to assure our guests’ satisfaction and we regret very much that we could not fulfill your expectations this time. We can assure you that our guests’ opinions are studied carefully enough.

We have taken note of your comments and please allow us to inform you that we are developing several improvements projects.

We are glad to hear that you loved our staff of animation.

It’s our sincere hope to have the opportunity to welcome back again in any of our Hotels.

Kind regards,

General Manager at Barceló Punta Cana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

awesome place,you dont want to leave ,good service,great activities,and awesome bedrooms. it was awesome ,fun awsesome food .in this resorts you get more than enough it is very awewsome.its very satisfying thats why it is a 5 star resort.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madelyn d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear guest,

We thank you for choosing Barceló Punta Cana for your holidays and for sharing your experience with the online community and give us your feedback.

We are very happy to read that your positive lines regarding the friendliness of our staff, the variety of our gastronomy, and the beauty and cleanness of our premises which ensured you a pleasant holiday.

Exceeding the expectations of our guests and offer truly exceptional experiences is our goal. We know that in order to achieve this it is necessary to provide good service and attitude; therefore I am proud to hear that our staff went above and beyond in their effort to fulfill all your needs.

We are looking forward to welcoming you once again at Barceló Punta Cana and continue providing the most unforgettable experiences.

Best regards,

General Manager Barceló Punta Cana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

My husband and I went there for our honeymoon last year, May 13 - 20, 2013 and had a terrible experience! The Barcelo Hotels tend to have good ratings, but this one was dirty, had terrible customer service and the food selection was very limited. The first room that we were given was run down and looked NOTHING like the beautiful pictures that you see in their website. The air conditioning didn't work in the room (and it was really hot), the bathroom seemed dirty and there were ants in the bathroom counter and sink and to top everything else off the inside of the closets looked like they had not been cleaned in weeks. We waited for a couple of hours to try to see if any of these things could be fixed and in the meantime wasted our first afternoon. I eventually complained enough that they offered me another room which was better, but of course I had to pay about $100+ more per night. At this point in time I agreed since we were on our honeymoon and I just wanted to have a good time and we were exhausted. The cleanliness factor in the new room was much better, but every time I called anyone at this hotel to ask for anything it was a problem, not the way you expect to be treated at a 4 star property. The bathrooms by the main desk in the mornings were filthy, thrash was overflowing from the night before and quite frankly by 8:30am this should have been cleaned up. There was no flexibility with the restaurant reservations especially because two of the restaurants were also closed (limiting your food selection). If you booked a dinner time at one of the restaurants on your first day you were stuck. The food was ok, but the constant swarm of flies flying around was gross. They did give us a complimentary dinner on the beach for our honeymoon which was nice, but this was about the only decent thing they did during our entire stay. We did a couples massage at the Spa one rainy afternoon, this was ok but nothing incredible. The facilities looked a bit run down. Getting towels was also always a big hassle throughout our stay. Even on our last morning there, I went to ask the front desk for 2 dry clean beach towels, since we had left ours to dry on the balcony the night before and it had rained. The man kindly explained to me that it was not possible to get clean towels as the housekeeper had not arrived yet. Really? It was 8:00am and they seriously could not find me 2 towels? After I pushed back he finally said well let me see what I can do and eventually he did come up with two towels. Everything you asked for here took forever and was like pulling teeth. The Property Manager and staff could all care less about providing customer service, it's almost as if you are annoyance to them and they were doing you a favor. We will definitely never go back again, total waste of time and money! We did spend 1 glorious day at the Hard Rock Punta Cana which was AMAZING!! Great customer service, gorgeous rooms, outstanding food (we went to the Japanese Restaurant on the property), spa was beautiful, relaxing and impeccable, we will definitely go back to The Hardrock!.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank acatomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear guest,

Foremost we would like to thank you for having taken some of your valuable time to post your review after having stayed with us at Barceló Punta Cana

First of all, we would like to apologize for any inconveniences that they may have experienced; we sincerely regret that, on this occasion, we were not able to fully meet their expectations

We truly regret all the shortcomings in the room. We have taken their concerns very seriously and have dealt with all ours managers in correcting theses service flaws that they highlighted in their feedback. We are sorry that we fell short of their expectations, but we are also happy for the feedback that they have provided us with to ensure these issues do not happen again

We apologize to regards to your comments concerning our towels service, we have informed our housekeeping manager about the issues and she will take the necessary actions to improve the services. We very much appreciate your comments, as it is through this medium that we are able to address guest issues and provide a high level of guest satisfaction.

Moreover, we deeply regret the impression that was carried of our room, food and service this is in no way the image we want to project, on the contrary to perceive our good services quality and a professional and friendly staff that always providing the service expected by our customers.

It is our sincere desire to have the opportunity to welcome you in the near future to our resort again, so we can show that the situations described in your feedback does not correspond to our performance and service overall. We strongly believe that the next time putting our best efforts, we will be able to exceed your expectations, so that we can regain your confidence in our company.

We look forward to welcoming you on a future occasion, in this way show our commitment for service and customer satisfaction, and quality assurance stamp of our Barceló Hotels & Resorts family.

Kind regards.

General Manager at Barceló Punta Cana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
19.0 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#42 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
3.5 mi away
Occidental Punta Cana
Occidental Punta Cana
#20 of 25 in Bavaro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#62 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Melia Caribe Tropical
0.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
3.7 mi away
Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Caribe

Property: Occidental Caribe
Address: Carretera Macao s/n | Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana 23301, Dominican Republic (Formerly Barcelo Punta Cana)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#54 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#55 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#57 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Occidental Caribe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 798
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Barcelo, Prestigia, Travelbag, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Occidental Caribe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Breezes Punta Cana
Barcelo Punta Cana Resort
Barcelo Premium Punta Cana
Barcelo Dominican Punta Cana
Punta Cana Barcelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing