We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (10,814)
Filter reviews
10,814 results
Traveller rating
4,253
3,039
1,686
953
883
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,253
3,039
1,686
953
883
Show reviews that mention
All reviews barcelo premium gabriel chocolate julio iglesias quiet pool swim up bar rock climbing wall renovated room ocean view kids pool a la carte restaurants beautiful beach the mexican restaurant seafood great vacation palm trees picky eater family vacation
Filter
Updating list...
262 - 267 of 10,814 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

Besides the hotel being ok... the hotel seri e is terrible. From Lobby Bars to Buffet it's none existent. In buffet although food repetitive the service removing used dishes is terrible. No server for drinks and I personally had to remove our dishes from table and put on another empty table in order to have space. Workers seemed unhappy and grumpy at all times.
Other issue is lobby bars opening at 8am and other at 10am. When open the service was just not there....and these people would never smile. Ridiculous for those getting up for and example at 6am for walks etc. . No good.
Rooms were just ok with good air conditioning.
I believe I will not visit this hotel or the Dominican Republic again. Waiters and other workers should appreciate having us bringing in the dollars and do the least as being accommodating and smile once in a while followed by reasonable service.
Not excellent just reasonable would be enough

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank soavemente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your impressions regarding your recent stay at our Occidental Caribe hotel. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and improve upon the service that we provide to our guests.

We regret that our buffet couldn´t meet your expectations, mainly because the quality and the diversity of our culinary offer counts to our strengths, we take your comments regarding our cuisine very seriously, because we wish that our gastronomy remains a very special treat for our guests.

At Occidental Caribe we lay high value on our personnel being guest oriented and welcoming at all times, being fully aware that their interactions with our guests have an enourmous impact on the overall holiday expérience in our hotels, therefore we are sincerely sorry to read your comments on the service your received and commit to adjust any situation that leads us away from our goal being to make sure our guests feel welcome and attended to at all times.

We hope that you had a nice journey back home and to have the pleasure of serving you again in our hotels worldwide ensuring you in advance of our best intentions at all times.

Best Regards

Director
Occidental Caribe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Service is amazing and the people who there are great. The staff don’t expect you to tip and provide a great service with a smiling face and the beach was amazing.
Very good hotel and excellent service!!

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank perezpaloma0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay in our Occidental Caribe, it is wonderful to hear we were able to make your stay special from the moment you arrived until the moment you departed.

On the other hand we thank you for pointing out the kindness and enthusiasm of our staff, their friendliness and helpfulness being our hotels’ main strength we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.

We look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards

Director
Occidental Caribe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

The service was good. Food was good. My room door was damaged toilet had some issues that was fixed right away. Other than that the stay was comfortable. Staff were nice some were rude but that’s anywhere you go.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank ka198326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience among us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process therefore we highly value your time and constructive critics.

We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Best Regards

Director
Occidental Caribe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

The hotel was great, the grounds were impeccable. We loved the pools and the beach!
The restaurants were top notch and the buffet had a great assortment for breakfast lunch or dinner. Won some money in the casino so I would also rate the casino great! lol
Overall for the price do not hesitate to stay here, was a great experience for us.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a superior ocean view, was incredible.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Hemipoweredcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear Guest,

We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent to share your personal experience at our Occidental Caribe hotel with us and Tripadvisor readers.

It is also good to know that you enjoyed the many culinary delights prepared by our professional Chefs who always strive to offer a wide variety of typical delights in order to please all palates and we thank you for letting us know that we could conquer yours.

We look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards

Director
Occidental Caribe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

Amazing holiday, and a wonderful hotel. I would like to say a big thank you to the staff, especially the young British man who helped us and nothing was too much to ask. He is very much ahead of the curve with his levels of service!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Kuizn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Occidental Caribe, we are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience.

The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience. 

It has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon

Best Regards

Director
Occidental Caribe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews