We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great golf.”

Punta Espada Golf Course
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Punta Espada Golf Course is already listed among the worlds finest, with the renowned GolfWeek ranking it as the best golf course in the Caribbean and Mexico. Eight holes play along and over the sea. From all points of Punta Espada, golfers are blessed with extraordinary views of the Caribbean, where the sea contrasts against the emerald fairways and the perfect greens. Challenging stroke play and beauty are entwined in this outstanding par 72 course, which hosted the inaugural PGA Tour’s Champions Tour in April 2008 - The Cap Cana Championship. The annual tournament is televised internationally through the Golf Channel and its license-holding subsidiaries.
Gallatin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great golf.”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Punta Espada is the most beautiful golf course i have ever played.
The layout is along the ocean. The water and scenery on the course is worth going just to see. The course itself is a great golf course. Caddy was great. Played 18 holes and went back to the clubhouse to see what the replay rate was. They had a summer special that you could play all day for one rate. Just asked to take care of the caddy. It is hard to actually play the course for looking at the scenery and taking pictures.This course is a bucket list course. I can't imagine there are many courses in the world with the type of scenery. Course is very playable but tough. Loved the 17th hole that you tee off over the ocean. Had lunch on the patio of the clubhouse that is overlooking the 18th hole and the ocean. All i can say is amazing.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank mwilliams50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    50
    13
    5
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Odessa, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This golf course had some amazing views! The day my husband played it was really windy, so wish the wind wasn't so bad. The caddie did say that it does get a bit windy in the afternoon, so if you go choose an early tee time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JacquelineNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson, Ohio
Level Contributor
396 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Beyond Amazing...Million Dollar view at each turn.”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Easily one of the most spectacular oceanside courses. The course has rolling hills, wide open fairways, perfectly manicured roughs and fast greens. The caddy support is wonderful and if you have the time, do shop and dine there too! Be sure to bring your camera, our caddy was the perfect photographer and staging assistant asking us to wait to the better breath-taking shots to entertain his services. The course can be windy at times and you may over estimate the fade into some rocks, but you will always remember the views and hospitality. Top Notch. Our host referred to the course as the Pebble Beach of the Caribbean, we would have to agree.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank OSUfanHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepperell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is the most beautiful course I have ever had the honor of playing. The staff was amazing and views breathtaking. Well worth the money and I'm glad it was recommended to us.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank BrianH1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Perfect round of golf.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Initially I suffered from sticker shock. Price was not cheap, but worth every cent. Beautiful piece of property, in pristine condition. It could not have been better. Excellent caddie, Raphael, who was most considerate of my wife, who has only been playing for five years. I have played at least five hundred courses, and Punta Espada is definitely a top five. Move over Pebble.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Callawaydogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Punta Espada Golf Course also viewed

Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Punta Espada Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing