We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Delicious Señor Fitch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Ranked #3 of 110 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just Delicious Señor Fitch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2011

We just want to share our wonderful experience, because this piece of heaven deserves my thumbs up.
Besides the gorgeous setting and imaculate rooms, you will encounter the most corteous and friendly staff.
And please dont miss the wine tasting dinner, the manager himself is one of these well known Chefs.
The food is prety good in general terms, the best weve tried so far at an all inclusive, no matter how expensive these were.
Give yorself a chance to live Agua Resort.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the few ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irishontherocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerlf, Hotel Manager at Zoetry Agua Punta Cana, responded to this review, 14 April 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your feedback we appreciate enormously the fact that you are one of our very special happy clients.
We conduct the wine pairing dinners with much passion and we do everything to transmit our passion to our guests.
Luis Fitch
HotelManager ZoëtryAguaPuntaCana lfitch@zoetryresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,897 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,151
    441
    177
    71
    57
See reviews for
482
2,708
76
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (867)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
183 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2011

Zoetry Agua was a very unique experience. It is an extremely small and rustic resort. You see the same people everyday from the staff to the other visitors. Checkin was quite easy and you got a quick tour of the property before heading to your room. Rooms were large and alot of closet space. We had a second story garden view room, but wished we had a 1st floor agua room next to the pool. The resort is extremely quiet and the pool/beach areas are not crowded. You can easily find a location to relax and be alone. We spent most of our time on the beach, good chairs, good services, great snorkeling and tons of sun or shade. Our biggest complaint was the beach area between the resorts was a little trashy, you had to watch out for horse droppings and the 2nd story walking terrace was a little hard to walk on. During our time at the resort we rode horses, snorkeled, got a massage, did a bike tour and did a little sailing. We were also able to do some boogie board and body surfing on the beach. For lunch try the pizzas and chips/salsa they were both awesome. The resort has 3 restaurants but normally only 1 open for breakfast, 1 for lunch and 2 for dinner. The menus did not change but they would add a chef's special menu to increase the selection. Overall our food was really good and ranged from lobster to steak to fresh fish. One major concern was the bugs at night and early in the morning, but they did supply bug spray and they seemed to help. Overall there is wildlife around the resort, from peacocks, lizards, fish (even an octopus) and horses. There is very little entertainment but what do you expect from a resort with 51 rooms. Coco Cafe was our favorite stop for afternoon snacks and drinks. Overall my wife love the quiet atmosphere and I loved the location. Overall I would stay at this resort again in a heartbeat and recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Ask for an Aqua room towards beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dt12201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

We had been to the Zoetry in Cancun several times and loved it. Unfortunately we cannot say the same for our visit to the Punta Cana property. We booked a second floor beach front room. Received a call 5 days prior to arrival from Zoetry’s US agent to offer us an “upgrade” to the Caribe Suite, which is inland without the ocean view. We declined the offer but when we arrived we were told only the Caribe was available and so we had no choice (this same thing happened to other guests while we were there). After arguing with the staff and a discussion with two managers, they finally acknowledged that we were right and we were told we could move to the room we had reserved in two days and we would be offered two free days for the next visit.

The Caribe Suite for the first two days was not good. This had an outdoor shower and bathtub, which sounds great in theory but it doesn’t feel luxurious when you have to take a shower with mosquitoes and a fence that has holes in it and allows people to look through if they want to. Also not great to have to walk outside to use the bathroom in the middle of the night (again, the mosquitoes). Even when we were moved two days later to a beach front room it wasn’t what we had reserved as it was on the first floor. It had curtains that didn’t even close properly – so no privacy (which is why we had reserved a second floor room in the first place). Besides this obvious bait and switch, the rooms aren’t luxurious – they are old and worn, the mosquitoes in the room are unbearable and the bathrooms are very warm and uncomfortable (more like an outhouse). There are large gaps around the doors, allowing mosquitoes, spiders and in our case, a lizard, into the room. It is a nightmare vacation when you have to spend all your time scratching your bites.

The pools are not that clean, and are chipping in places at the bottom and on the sides.

The food is ok but the wines for purchase on the menu are average and often not available. The service in the restaurants is friendly and they do try to help you any way they can. If it hadn’t been for the food and restaurant service, we would have given this zero stars.

Luckily, we met some great people while we were there and the weather was good so it wasn’t a total disaster. But we won’t be returning or recommending this hotel to others. It needs a lot of work for it to be the luxury that they advertise.

Room Tip: Confirm directly with hotel day before.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank historyman_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelManagerlf, Hotel Manager at Zoetry Agua Punta Cana, responded to this review, 16 April 2011
Nightmare in Paradise
Dear Guest
Please accept our apologies again, as I have explained during your stay we experienced a reservation system collapse, which had never occurred before.
We are sorry that you didn’t like your Caribe Suite, which was actually an upgrade of room category.
We thank you for your feedback, and we are working in improving the privacy of these bathrooms.
In regards to your Suite De Luxe Ocean Front in the ground floor, that was the room you had booked.
I am surprised that you didn’t bring these issues to our attention for an immediate fix.
About the cracks in the bottom of the pool, we will be fixing them as soon as the winter-spring season is over, we can not afford to empty the pool now.
We hope that you will be reconsidering in coming back and make up for a much better stay.

Thank you
Hotel Manager Zoëtry Agua Punta Cana lfitch@zoetryresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2011

Just returned home from Zoetry Agua and had to share the wonderful experience. We lucked out with an over booking at Dreams Palm Beach and, after 4 nights, were offered the option to move to Zoetry. This was a decision that we did not regret for a single moment.

The first thing you notice is the relaxed atmosphere as soon as you step into the main lobby. After leaving a larger resort, this was a very welcome change. Every staff member was welcoming and helpful from check in right through to check out.

If you are looking for a place to party away your holiday, or want to gorge on bland buffet food, this is not the place for you. If you are interested in traveling to a tropical location and can not stand the sight of lizards or bugs, then you should probably check yourself into the nearest Westin or Hilton. If you are looking for a quiet getaway to chill out and rejuvenate, then read on...

The Room
Rustic but beautiful. Hardwood floors, large balcony overlooking the pool, huge double closet, tile and stone throughout the bath/shower areas, nice sized tub, comfy king-sized bed. Cleaned to perfection everyday.

Food
We're not picky eaters, but we do enjoy GOOD food and were not disappointed. We attended one of the weekly food and wine parings and found ourselves enjoying a full 5 course meal with wines from Chile and Spain. This and every meal we had was excellent.

Beach
This was the highlight. Breathtaking. Barely any people to be seen in either direction. Just endless sea, sand and sky. No hawkers. Just the sound of the wind and the waves. Super relaxing. At the end of a day at the beach, we'd finish the afternoon poolside under an umbrella on absolutely the most comfortable beach beds.

Staff
AMAZING. Luis, the hotel manager, seemed to be everywhere (including hosting the wine/food paring). It was great to see a manager that was so active in the operation.
All of the restaurant staff (especially Juan!) were so welcoming and continually ensured that we had everything we needed and that it was to our liking. I really can't say enough about the staff. Just outstanding.

Extras
Free wi-fi and international calling. Unheard of! Great in-room bath products (Bvlgari). 20 minutes of massage (which can be added on to another treatment). The list goes on!
-----

This resort is the perfect getaway for a completely relaxing experience away from it all. Truly can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beachybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2011

We just came back from our trip to Dominican Republic, at Zoetry Agua, and we loved it.
The hotel was lovely, we had a magnificent time, the room was beautiful, as the one we saw in the Internet, the beach really nice, the food really good, everything was really as we hoped for.
The staff was amazing, made us feel really welcome and at home. They were very friendly and went the extra mile to serve us. All of them, at the front desk, the bar, were really really nice.
Also we would like to thank the manager, Luis Fitch, for all his attentions, he is such a gentleman, he offered his assistance with anything and was there for us, always with a nice comment or suggestion to what we ask. My husband especially enjoyed the Wine Tasting, and was able to talk with him about his interest, and he was so polite giving him all his attention.
We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely go back as soon as we can.
And we definitely recommen the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wilbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2011

We recently returned from what was supposed to be a 1 week stay at Zoetry Agua. Below is a review of our experience.

We booked the Taino Suite, which we found out after arriving that the "garden shower" is outdoors with a very unprivate fence being the only thing blocking you from the access walkway of staff, maintenance workers, etc. There were HUGE gaps between the fence posts, as a result, you can clearly be seen in your shower and bathroom at any time. We even have the bonus of having ladders, wheel barrows and equipment being stored right on our fence. The openness of the bathroom also allowed critters full acess to your bedroom, as we found out on the 2nd day of our stay. Upon returning to our room after a long day, we were laying in bed and were startled by 2 lizards running around in our room, BIG lizards. We called the front desk to have somebody come and get them out, after 45 minutes, still nobody. We then went to the front desk (it is after 11pm by now) and asked again to have someone come, again, nobody came. We finally fell asleep with the lizards in our room after waiting up until 1am for someone to come! We voiced our disappointment at the front desk the next morning and asked to be moved to a room with an enclosed bathroom, we were moved later that day.
Sunday we spent the day at the beach, and I decided to run to the room to use the bathroom, and when I entered I saw a room service attendant standing in from of our safe with my wallet, my money in his hands, counting it. Also, our once opened patio door curtains were now mysteriously closed. Pretty startling. To make a long story short, management from Zoetry didn't feel it was necessary to talk to us about this situation, despite many phone calls and trips to the front desk by us, until 18 hours after this incident took place. That is unexcusable. And after we spoke to the supposed "Resident Manager", Luis Fitch, we felt even worse. He spoke to us very disrespectfully, accused us of leaving our safe open and he offered no assurance or solution to this problem... He also never made any sort of sincere apology to us. In fact, Edward the bell hop at the front desk was more sincere, concerned and apologetic than the Manager!
We left the resort at that time and went somewhere else to attempt to enjoy what was left of the vacation.
While the grounds at Zoetry are beautiful and most of the employees are nice, it isn't what they describe on their web site. The food is not good, the menu didn't change once while we where there. The equipment at the gym is in really bad shape, one would think that a spa and wellness resort would have better equipment. Save yourself alot of headaches and money and book somewhere else! And if you do go, don't expect 5 star treatment, especially from management. And, know EXACTLY what you have in your safe at all times!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank ajoyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMZoetryAgua, General Manager at Zoetry Agua Punta Cana, responded to this review, 1 April 2011
I truly apologize for the misunderstanding and for not fulfilling all of our guests expectations.
About the room we do have showers very close to nature which feel like bating under the stars.
There is a report where maintenance personnel saw a gecko and explained that there is no danger and these harmless creatures are common.
Our security procedure when finding an open safe is to make an inventory of valuables inside the safe, the security report says that they had proceeded accordingly.
I am sorry if this procedure was misinterpreted, most of our guests that experience similar situations are grateful for making sure that their valuables are complete (we have many similar cases where guests accidentally leave their safe open).
I am surprised that Mr. Fitch´s attitude came across that way.
As I was told by our other managers who witnessed this encounter state that our Resident Manager had a very understanding and apologetic attitude trying to find a solution at all times.
Please allow us to accommodate you soon and give me the opportunity to make up for this misunderstanding, I will be very happy to show our true sense of hospitality that most guests experience, that is why we are among the highest rated hotels in Tripadvisor.
Kind Regards.

Carlos Pablos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2011

Let me start this review by thanking Michael McHugh at Dream Makers Vacation Services. I came across his name on this website and contacting him was the best thing I’ve ever done. I simply told him what we like to do as a couple and he recommended Zoëtry Agua. What a perfect match! It was exactly what we were looking for! He was patient and understanding when I attempted to change my trip due to a death in my family. He was right there for me, checking on us while we were there.

Everything you see in the pictures is accurate. The room was beautiful, definitely “rustic elegance” as another reviewer stated. We originally booked the Taino suite but were upgraded to a Junior Suite King with direct access to the pool thanks to the staff and our TA Michael McHugh. The staff at Zoëtry are amazing and make an effort to ensure every second of your vacation is pleasurable and memorable.Gregory and Benjamin were great bartenders. Juan makes you feel right at home in the restaurants. Francisco and Fernando go out of their way to make your dining experience the best it can be. Daniella made us feel very welcome. There are activities if you are interested. I enjoyed my Spanish classes and dance lessons with Vladimir. If I could thank each and every staff member of the resort I would b/c they are all just that wonderful to everyone.

We could not have spent our 5th anniversary in a more special place. It was truly romantic; from the candlelight dinner, to the rose pedals on the bed, to the drawn bubble bath.

Tips: Remember you have to pay $10.00 cash per person to enter DR at the airport upon arrival (the line was held up by many ppl who did not know this and were frantically asking for an ATM)
-Take advantage of room service. Nothing like breakfast in your room or on your patio.
-If you have a problem or issue, do not wait until you return home to complain. If you let the staff know, they will go above and beyond to fix it.
-We did the helicopter ride and it was great. Just remember you also have to pay an additional fee to have your bags transported separately.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vanntastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
13.7 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
17.0 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
14.7 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Barcelo Bavaro Beach - Adults Only
3.3 mi away
Dreams Punta Cana Resort & Spa
11.0 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zoetry Agua Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zoetry Agua Punta Cana

Property: Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Address: Playas de Uvero Alto, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#3 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#3 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#16 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#20 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Zoetry Agua Punta Cana 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located along a 200 yard stretch of pristine beach on the easternmost Coast of the Dominican Republic in Uvero Alto, Zoetry Agua Punta Cana is a sanctuary of supreme relaxation integrated with nature. With 96 ultra-luxurious suites nestled throughout the beautifully-manicured gardens of this oceanfront Caribbean resort created from natural stones, hardwoods, cathedral ceilings and cane-thatched roofs, guests can spend afternoons swimming in the calm, tranquil ocean waters, under a palm tree in one of the inviting lounge terraces, or staring out at the beautiful garden or ocean views from their own private terrace or balcony. Zoetry Agua Punta Cana provides guests Endless Privileges® offering them limitless access to lavish amenities and services that include four gourmet a la carte restaurants, three bars and lounges, while the Sip, Savor & See Dining Experience provides 41 additional dining and entertainment venue options at nearby sister properties. 24-hour dining options allow guests to enjoy late night bites at Amaya. Or stay in and order room service. It’s all available at any hour day or night. The resort also features a luxurious spa filled with Natura Bisse products and an extensive menu of unique and indigenous body treatments. A full-service fitness center, salon and meeting facilities are also available to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zoetry Agua Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Agua Hotel Punta Cana
Agua Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing