We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,784)
Filter reviews
4,784 results
Traveller rating
3,889
536
212
74
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,889
536
212
74
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbutler bayronamaya restaurantroom servicedominican breakfasthorseback ridingspecial lunchour honeymoonpersonal butlerlaundry servicelobby barplunge poolbug sprayrelaxing vacationocean frontthatched roofsmall resortwelcome home
Filter
Updating list...
3,767 - 3,772 of 4,784 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2012

They have perfect resort concepts and staff to be a 5 star only if they were better located and spent more on maintenance and bug control (at least in the rooms).
The beach is on the worst side of the bay where debris wash-up and brownish water are not inviting. That is probably contributing to the excess number of beach bugs that can leave you with itchy red dots all over your nice tan.
Apart from the fact that our roof was leaking, the rooms have high humidity which is probably contributing to the presence of cockroach and bed bugs that can also alter you tan by lack of sleep.
The pathway is original but, just like most of the villas (leaking roof and worn out wood), would need renovation.

Room Tip: Ask for second floor for better view.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Marc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlainBERTHELOT, General Manager at Zoetry Agua Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Dear guests:

Thank you for your review.

We respect your own, very personal opinions about our location / our resort is nestled in a beautiful, secluded tropical natural area...

We do fumigate constantly and our maintenance staff is always working to better our product.

Should you need any additional information, please contact us at Concierge.Zoapc@Zoetryresorts.com .

In the meantime, we thank you again and look forward to welcoming you again to our wondrous paradise - especially, so you can kindly give us a chance to show you our improvements -.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

From the moment that the staff says "welcome home", to the door opening on Junior Suite #19, we knew that this was going to be a most excellent vacation. Size does indeed matter and the smaller the better as far as my husband and I are concerned. There are so many staff members ready at your beck and call in this 51 room resort that you almost start feeling a little guilty at all the pampering. Trust me, you do get accustomed to it. The room was beautiful, the grounds exquisite, the staff delightful, kind and caring, the food muy excellente! Drinks were flowing non-stop and even when it rained, we still felt as though we were cradled in the lap of luxury. Definitely time for practicing Spanish, but you are after all, in the DR. Relax and let go. By the time it is time to leave, "welcome home" is no longer a cliche, it is indeed, the truth.

Room Tip: I really do not believe there are any "bad" rooms. It would be very helpful however, if couples who bring infants are not placed near any who do not. Only had two couples this time, but it was still uncomfortable for the predominantly adult clientele.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank evike_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paco A, Guest Relations Manager at Zoetry Agua Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your visit to our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

There are good things about this resort, it is quiet, the staff are extremely friendly and helpful, the gardens are very pretty, the communal areas have scale and are architecturally arresting, and the rooms are of a good size.

Having said that, we had a terrible time, the longer we stayed the more we wanted to leave.

The main fault about this resort is the voracious insect population. My wife and I were bitten all day and all night, every day we were there. It is no exaggeration to say that by the time we left, we were completely covered from head to foot in over 150 extremely itchy bites each. These bites didn't come solely from mosquito's. Other guests were also riddled with bites.
In the evenings we always covered up and wore jungle strength repellent. The entire resort was bombed one night with insect killer and our room was fumigated twice and still we were bitten - a lot.

The advertised free activities are simply vehicles to actively generate extra cash.
Short horse rides commenced with photos, and were followed by aggressive attempts to extort money for overpriced items, covered in pictures of you on a horse.
The free massage was followed by various leaflets advertising very overpriced treatments.
The free water-sports were of limited choice, and always came with an offer of one of two expensive trips elsewhere. Every day the water-sports guy tried to sell us a trip, even giving us his cell number when he had a day off.
One night there was an art display, everything was for sale, coupled with some of the most persistent selling, all evening, every time you passed.

There were three restaurants, but every night there would only be a choice of two and sometimes only one.
Our British Airways holiday brochure was misleading regarding the available restaurant choice, also stating there are two restaurant choices for breakfast, there is one.
The quality of the cooking was mediocre at best. The menu was badly conceived, and in some cases was nothing better than over-decorated inedible rubbish. Very little of the fish was fresh and locally caught, and a considerable amount of the vegetables looked frozen and prepacked. To their credit, when we complained, they did their best to make our dining experience better, but off-menu was the only way to get better food.
There was no chef at the entire resort during our stay, just cooks, and it showed at every meal.

The facilities were also on the poor side, the main pool had flaked paint floating around abundantly.
Our room jacuzzi had many tiles missing, and the sink waste pipe leaked, needing repair.
The gym equipment was quite old and the gym was too hot with weak air-con.
The steam room was broken; when fixed it was like a steam room but with the equivalent of a small kettle on simmer providing the entertainment.
There were permanent repairs taking place, not maintenance but full blown catch-up repairs.

I cannot recommend this place at all, which is a real shame because all the staff, from housekeeping to the general manager were exceptional and tried really hard. But there are issues here in the most important areas that utterly ruined our experience.

Room Tip: Choose a room in a different resort
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Ackhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlainBERTHELOT, General Manager at Zoetry Agua Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Dear guests:

Thank you for your review andknd comments regarding our staff.

We apologize for the inconviences you encountered over your stay; please find our comments per each point you have kindly listed, as follows, respectively:

- Bugs: as we are in the middle of a tropical paradise jungle / isloated, there are indeed jungle bugs in our property; although we fumigate contstantly and thoroughly, totally controlling nature's way is beyond our capability;

- Horse-ride: this is the first instance we hear about and will investigate with our third-party vendor/Horse ranch, in order to fix any TBC potential hard-sell techniques they may be using without our knowledge or consent;

- SPA: our sample massage indeed is complimentary for all our guests and again, this is the first time we hear any sort of complaint about this amenity; perhaps in your specific case, there was a slight confusion...of course, in the end each of our guests is free to simply take the complimentary 20 min treatment, without any further committments;

- Water-sports: all freely-included activities are available as advertised; depending on each guests' interests, the staff offers off-property excursions which logically come at an extra charge; yet, here again, we have never heard of any hard-sell whatsever and each guest is fre to choose as they wish; actually, most of the time we hear good comments about this third-party partner, beacuse their friendly staff give are very informative and always willing to assist;

- Art display: in this case, we have already spoken once more to our vendor, as to avoid overwhelming our guests;

- For a 51 Suite resort, we believe our Food & Beverage offer to be very adequate; we always have at least 2 Breakfast options (i.e. Amaya restaurant and Coco Cafe), as well as Room Service and event the Indigo Resturant when applicable; we are sorry that the Menus & respective dish preparations was not to you particular liking; this said, when told we are known to always provide our guests with any dish they would like us to prepare, in any fashion - if ordered, even fish & chips...even though, we believe that part of travelling to different countries entails having an open-mind as to explore new Culinary experiences, local fare; etc.

- As you witnessed, in order to up-keep our beautiful & nature-friendly resort we constantly are maintaining our facilities in consequence;

- As of today, Sunday 22 April, 2012 we have brand-new, state-of-the-arte Gym Equipment, whcih we hoope you can use for yourself in the near future;


Should you need any additional information, please contact us at Concierge.Zoapc@Zoetryresorts.com .

In the meantime, we thank you again and look forward to welcoming you soon once more to our wondrous paradise - especially, so you can kindly give us a chance to show you our on-going product & service improvements -.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We have just returned from a true oasis in a secluded ocean front location.
Zoetry is serenity.
From the day you arrive, you become like family by a sincere, warm and smiling staff who are only too happy to please you. The fifty suites are all luxury accommodations in design and character. The food and extensive menu in the three restaurants are incredible.
We love to stay in small boutique hotels but this exceeded our expectations. Our Villa Dominica, Suite Caribe, with its private back garden and pool was out of this world.
Antonius and the girls at Amaya Restaurant greeted us daily with a champagne breakfast. The dining options were never crowded, even over a busy Easter period. Lobster, Aberdeen angus and great wine selections -- they had it all.
The luscious surrounding gardens are kept emmaculate. The beach was so secluded you could walk for miles or take advantage of the free horseback riding or free bike tour. Don't miss out on using the incredible spa facilities including yoga and meditation class taught by Tatiana.
Patric Loeser and Alain Berthelot have created an oasis beyond the ordinary.
Mamajuana, Mamajuana!!!
Thanks to all the staff -- you made this a vacation to remember.

Room Tip: Talking with other vacationers, it would seem that all rooms are immaculate.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paco A, Guest Relations Manager at Zoetry Agua Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Dear valued Guest,

It is delightful for all our staff, to receive such a positive comments about our food and service. We are glad that we fully met your expectations and will keep on working hard to make your next experience with us even better.

Thanks so much for your review and we look forward to your next visit.

Regards…

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

All-inclusive has its merits, as there's no thinking or cash involved in any transactions and a gated world is of course safe which is good for families. It becomes very easy to lose track of time which is half the point of a break. The mood is peaceful, the Spa is luxuriant and the staff charming and concerned. The thatch-roofed rooms are spacious, well air-conditioned. We enjoyed a bicycling trip and horse riding along the beach "outside" the Truman Show, past lush tropical fields, but with little sense of local life, other than periodic over-grand entrances on the main road to yet more resorts - and bus stops to shift staff. An evening's trip to nearby Dreams resort let us know how lucky we were not to be in a large Alcatraz of a resort with "entertainment" laid on. Sand flies were a bit of a menace on the beach; rum, lime and aloe vera possible remedies.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed excellent - there are so few of them and well laid out, that any would have been good.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Angus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlainBERTHELOT, Manager at Zoetry Agua Punta Cana, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Thank you for your feedback.

We are pleased to know you enjoyed our beautiful resort and feel sorry that aspects beyond our property/control were not to your liking (e.g. local life).

Concerning sand flies, as our wondrous hotel sits in the middle of a pretty much still-virgin, lush tropical jungle (without any direct neighboring complexes), even though we fumigate frequently & thoroughly sometimes nature still finds ways to surprise us; we are sorry you got bitten and at least can validate that we indeed provide remedies on-site.

All in all, we believe that an overall 3-dot rating was harsh, since you mainly point-out disappointing aspects of your stay which lie beyond our control (local area; insects).


Should you need any additional information, please contact us at Concierge.Zoapc@ZoetryResorts.com .

In the meantime, we thank you again and look forward to getting a chance to welcome you soon once more to our wondrous paradise.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews