We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coco Loco at Gran Bahia!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Ranked #60 of 111 Hotels in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Coco Loco at Gran Bahia!”
Reviewed 15 October 2008

WARNING:
If you miss out on this resort because you have become bitter and jaded by reading all of the sad reviews from people who wouldn't be happy if the hotel left solid gold nuggets on the pillows nightly; you will be missing out on an absolutely magical place.

I honestly don't know how you can say anything bad about this place. The grounds are new, and kept immaculate. The staff (while speaking little to no english) is friendly to the point that you almost beg them to tell you off at least once, if only to make sure you are still alive and not residing in heaven.
Think I'm laying it on a little thick? - Think again sparky.

The pool is huge, gorgeous, and has a swim up bar manned by a couple of awesome guys (Aneuldy and Narquin know how to take care of you). The rooms are spacious and the A/C DOES work, just be sure to close your balcony door VERY tightly. Think the adult side is a wee bit boring after dark (and it is), hop on a bus/baggage cart, and you are at the Casino, Market, Karaoke or Disco in minutes.

Listen, the beach is white sand, the water is clear blue, the drinks are cold and plentiful, you can eat somewhere at almost any time of the day...what else could you want? - oh, and trust me on this - stick to the Lobby restaurant buffet for almost every meal. It is as good as it gets. Enough Coco Locos...its ALL good.

  • Liked — Spacious, well decorated rooms with great balconies and awesome views.
  • Disliked — Make sure you close the sliding glass patio door SUPER tightly. I can't stress that enough.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank BahiaBetrothed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,012
    586
    286
    107
    108
See reviews for
969
673
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2008

My boyfriend and I arrived in the Dominican to beautiful weather!! (so all you travellers moaning about the humidity.....think about the weather in the UK - aint something to write about)..........anyways we thought the service, the staff, the rooms and the hotel grounds were excellent!!! Nothing was too much trouble!!! I would definately go there again and in fact my boyfriend sent his parents........who loved their stay too!!

The restuarants were excellent and even the buffet was edible!!! Trust me Im a fussy person when it comes to food.....but even I was impressed!! Still think about the steak we had at the Steak House!!!

Definately a holiday worth it!!!!! xxx

  • Liked — Good size rooms and clean
  • Disliked — Noise from fellow guests could be heard
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Ush04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2008

We had a wonderful time at the Gran Bahia Principe Punta Cana wing. We had booked the Club Golden as it included some added benefits which were attractive to us.
The hotel and grounds were very clean and in the Punta Cana wing, the rooms are cleaned twice daily. The rooms are lovely and include a fairly large tiled balcony which is a wonderful addition when enjoying your morning coffee or when you are relaxing after the beach or late at night.

The complex is large but if you are not in the mood for a walk, the tram cars run continuously through the complex day and night. although you may have to wait for the 2nd or 3rd one in the evening as they are quite full at dinner times and after the theatre ends. The entertainment offered in the outdoor theatre is good but does repeat every week so for a two week stay, it becomes a little mundain the second time around. The food and the service was very good in general. The service at peak times in the buffets could use improving but based on the volume of people, the hotel did a very good job. The a la carte restaurants are all good. The French restaurant was outstanding.

We were married at the hotel and the organization of the flowers, the restauarant and the photographs was excellent. However, the cermony evidently was never registered as this was one of the hotels, from what we can determine,that was caught up in the scam by tsome local judges or government officials pocketing the registration fee. The judge was 1 1/2 hours late for the ceremony which also added to the stress of the day. 7 months later, innumerable calls and emails to the hotel has not aided in obtaining our paperwork. Our advice is to go to the Gran Bahia for a lovely vacation and whether the Gran Bahia or another Domican Hotel- do NOT opt to have your marriage there. If you choose, get married by a justice in your home country and have the ceremony in the Domican. It will be lovely and memorable and you will have the comfort of knowing you are legally married.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
7 Thank lyall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2008

To start off, I looked at many reviews for this hotel and a I was expecting it to be bad.
When we arrived we had a little bit of trouble with the room key. We had to wait about 30 min before we could get in. From here everything was GREAT! Room service was great. Our maid was amazing and kind. The beach was clean. People were friendly. Food was decent, the buffet was better than the restaurants. We wanted to try the Japanese restaurant but didn't get a chance. We went to the French, Italian, Grill and Fish restaurants.......not that great. You won't starve though. There are three pools, all very clean. My only complaint is that they only clean the pool once a week (on Fridays). By the end of the week the pool was a little hazy, full of sand. Other than that..... AMAZING!!! The grounds were immaculate, clean and gorgeous.
All was great!
I will let you decide, look at the pics!
Like I said above, I read so many reviews. I am also very picky. This place was great........all places have their pros and cons, I feel that this place has more pros than cons.
Have a great time here!!!!

  • Liked — The people, very friendly
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Cleri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2008

Punta Cana should really be renamed to PUNTA KAKA!! I was extremely dissapointed with my stay there and will never ever return to this country again. My husband and I took our daughter there july 20th thru the 30th, and needless to say we felt very unwelcomed. There were so many RUDE people that work there I really dont see how this hotel gets a 5 star rating. Let see where I could begin. .....We arrived at the airoport and were treated like we just invaded the dominicans. They make you form a line and snap their fingers for you to approach and take a picture with 2 girls. Next you pay $10 tourist card fee ( never heard of that before) and 3 sec later anther guy at a booth takes that card, scans it, and says NEXT....so in our case $30 are gone. I still dont know why. When we got to the hotel check in was pretty quick and easy and by the way if you need a safe( which most of us do) you pay abt $45 for the week. The rooms were pretty ok the beds were bad but we didnt excpect serta mattresses either. That night we ate a the buffet , which was ok, but the service sucked. We were left sitting at our table for abt 10min before a waiter came to greet us and offer us water. It usually took abt 3 requests to 3 different people for you to get a cup of water, and we didnt speak spanish either so that was a strike against us. I have never seen so many spanish tourist from Spain, so many French tourists in my entire life. THIS COUNTRY CATERS TO EUROPEANS...if you are looking for a nice time and to be treated how you should.THIS IS NOT THE PLACE. We have been to Mex. 3 times and LOVE IT....I will never go back to Punta Kaka!.....There were a few supervisers that were awsome...Juan Carlos at the buffet always was there to help us, Ilma Nunez was a lobby bar superviser, Maribel also a superviser...AWSOME...the bartenders Rafael , Rudy , German and Agustin AWSOME...Milquea excellent waitress...all the pool bartenders were great also. The grounds are beautiful ....BUT too big of a hotel...we never saw the entertainment team....there were a few managers that would walk by you and didnt even acknowledge you , not even a HI....Chino and Tony were lobby mangers I believe and I would never give them that position..there were others that deserved to be a manager. Oh and also when we went to book our a la carte dinners ( we got 5 since we were staying 10days) it was a nightmare. We were in line for an hour. People were just scattered around the room there not waiting their turns as soon as one couple would be finished with their reservations, others would jump up in front of people that actually were in line. We told the girl there they should ask that people to form a line and not just scatter around, and she just kind of shrugged her shoulders and dissmissed it. The a la carte dinners were good, buffet had different stuff everyday. We came to the conclusion that this wasnt a place for americans. Europeans did not understand the concept of sanding in line for anything!!!!! They would cut in front of you, didnt say excuse me or sorry if they bumped into you or anything at all. There are soooooooooooo many things I can go on and on and on, and I know it's already a long review, but I cant believe we spend so much money and we didnt have an excellent time. It's a shame such a beautiful hotel to have such poor service. This is the last incident I want to share....On our 6th night our usual waitress came to us almost in tears and said she couldnt serve my husband his drink any more. All he drinks is beer with a bit of lime juice and salt. THAT"S IT! It wasnt a mixture of different alcohols. She told us manger yelled and screamed at her for bringing him a drink that wasnt on the menu. Mexico had no problem offering this drink!!!! then my husband was told if he wanted that drink , he had to go to the bar and get it himself. So he did. Well after 2-3 times the bar all of a sudden couldn't serve him the drink. They filled up a glass of beer cut up some limes and gave my husband a salt shaker. Basically they told him he had the ingridients so he can make his own drink. We were furious!!! This drink has been served for 6 days and all of a sudden it became a problem? WHY? we asked to speak to the person who put a stop to the drink and of course they sent some other manager who tried to explain that the drink is not on the menu therefore it was a big problem to serve it......After about an hour of back and fourth arguing he said let me talk to my team and see what I can do. UNBELIVABLE !!! The next morning he shook my husbands hand and said he can have his drink until we check out and also they moved our waitress from the lobby to the swim bar because he said they have to punish her somehow for serving us that drink. HMMMMMM I thought customer service and satisfaction is # 1 priority ....but I guess not in punta cana!!! You probably think we are exagerating....but I promise you all....we were not the only people that felt this way....We couldnt wait to get home!! A lot of people we met felt the same...so if you want to take a chance and waste about $4000 .....good luck!!!! We definitly won't go back there, MEXICO caters to america and we will stick to Mexico... Never had any problems there WHATSOEVER....And what pisses us off more, we tipped everyone!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Think twice about visiting this resort ...It was our first and last time there...

  • Liked — nice room, lovely beach.=
  • Disliked — pools were hot, service was terrible!!!!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank iliriana9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Punta Cana hotels
18.2 mi away
Alsol Del Mar
Alsol Del Mar
#46 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
2.9 mi away
Grand Palladium Bavaro Suites Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Ocean Blue & Sand
Ocean Blue & Sand
#13 of 25 in Bavaro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
8.6 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
Grand Bahia Principe Bavaro
#59 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,245 reviews
1.9 mi away
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
VIK Hotel Cayena Beach
#80 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Address: Crta. Arena Gorda-Macao | Playa Bavaro, Seccion Baigua-Higuey, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#53 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa 4*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 1 Pool 4 Jacuzzis 1 children's pool Lounger, sun umbrella and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 3 tennis courts, bicycles, football, volleyball, petanque, darts and mini-golf Water activity centre (snorkelling, canoeing, windsurfing, fishing) WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) 1 buffet restaurant and 3 speciality restaurants Japanese restaurant (exclusive to guests) 5 Bars 18 hole Punta Blanca Golf Club (additional charge) Wedding gazebo Pueblo Principe: Shopping and Leisure Mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars, disco and casino Rooms 502 rooms including three types: Superior Family Junior Suite, Family Master Suite and Premier Junior Suite Room facilities: King size bed or two full size beds Fully equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, shower, hair dryer and amenities Sofa-bed Sitting area Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Ironing set Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) Balcony or terrace WiFi (additional charge) The Family Junior Suites and Family Master Suites also include: Bath robes and slippers for all the family for use throughout your stay Children's bath kit Welcome basket with sweets Mini-bar for children stocked with juices, shakes, milk and soft drinks Two separate and connecting rooms (Master family suite) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 (located in the Grand Bahia Punta Cana hotel) Baby Station Bahia Scouts Water Park Fun Area and Adventure Park (additional charge) Teens' Club (11 - 16 years) Other services 24 hour medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) WiFi in the lobby (free of charge) and in rooms (additional charge) Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries Personalised menus (forceliacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request and subject to circumstances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Premier Hotel Punta Cana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing