We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort, Lovers Paradise, Almost Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #2 of 60 Hotels in Samana Province
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level Contributor
99 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort, Lovers Paradise, Almost Perfect”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in July after having booked the trip through RCI a year earlier. Needless to say we were quite excited to finally arrive and the resort is impressive from the very start.
Upon arriving at the welcome center, on the mainland, we were greeted by courteous staff and offered water while they handled our luggage. Check in was a breeze, just one signature and we were given our room key, map of resort and some spa info.
Since we booked through RCI we were given Privilege Club status which we highly recommend.
Once on the island we met our butler David, who escorted us to our room and gave us a tour of the resort. We stayed in villa 2 and the room was awesome with a great water view. Please note. There are a lot of stairs and hills so if mobility is an issue this resort could prove challenging.

The great - the resort itself, well maintained and just wonderful. A true paradise. Staff did a great job making our stay special, even had a happy birthday banner on the door for my wife and birthday cake the final night at dinner. Chocolate platter and welcome kit upon arrival, fruit platters sent to room a couple of days. No pushy timeshare sales, no towel card at pool/beach.
Live entertainment every night and two small stores in case you forgot something. I could go on but overall it's a lovers paradise.

The good - lots of staff, almost too much. The downside is very few speak or understand English unless you're talking to upper management and even then it's sketchy. We don't mind for the most part since we've travelled a lot and can get by. Afternoon tea and snacks in main lobby and desserts some nights placed out after dinner.

The bad - normally we're ok with the food in Dominican resorts since our expectations are low to start with. Usually you can catch at least a couple of good meals in the restaurants. Not here, the food was horrible. The owner may have spared no expensive on the resort but they're getting their money back by purchasing the cheapest food products. Having worked in the food industry it was glaringly apparent. We tried all three restaurants and all failed. The meats are the cheapest cut and tough, they smother steak in McCormick gravy mix (yes, McCormick I remember the retched taste from childhood) and their seafood is poorly prepared and low quality. The buffet food is terrible too, by day three was eating mostly fruit/salad. Sanitary conditions are sketchy, at the pool buffet I witnessed chicken, pork and beef left sitting in water by the grill in 90 degree temps. Big no no.
Breakfast was the only passable buffet. Even the seafood night at the main buffet was a huge letdown, the shrimp was the only decent fish and probably caught local. The main lobster and stone crab were empty claw shells with little to no meat. Which means they're starving before they're cooked, very disappointing.
Bring lots of antacid and anti diarrhea medicine, you'll need it. We were both sick twice during the week and then both of us the last night after dining at the Mediterranean Resturant.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Edmitchell66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martín V, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear edmitchell66,

Thank you very much for your comments you do not know how we appreciate your time that you took to post such a nice feedback.

We really hope that we can receive you in the near future in any of our hotels Bahia Principe Hotels & Resort in the meantime we wish you all the best!!!

Many greetings from Samana!!
Martin Veron
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,188
    723
    189
    70
    33
See reviews for
516
3,930
50
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,364)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This hotel is fantastic and the location is amazing. The quality of the food is brilliant with a wide variety on offer in the buffet restaurant, there are also 3 a la carte restaurants but to be honest the food in the buffet was so good we didn't bother with them. My husband has walking difficulties and was worried about how he would manage but the staff were so kind and considerate we didn't have a problem. The hotel provide buggy's to taxi people around so all we had to do was ring reception for a buggy and they would collect us and take us to where we wanted to go; the drivers were great and helped my husband on and off. The rooms are large,comfortable and well equipped and a lovely balcony.The staff are very efficient, approachable and friendly right through from the top management to the gardeners. The only downside is the 4 hour transfer to and from the airport but responsibility for this lies with Thompson's as they could use the other airport which is I believe only an hour and a half away.
This is a laid back holiday and as the hotel is on an island it is not the place for those that like a lively night life such as clubs. We fell in love with the island and its beautiful scenery and cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martín V, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Mrs. Sue B,

At Bahia Principe our goal is to make your stay become an unforgettable experience and we are very happy to read that you had a great time here with us.

Thank you for highlighting some of our services. We really hope that you will be visiting us in the near future and thank you for recommending us.

We cannot wait seeing you soon until then all the best.

Many hugs from Cayo Levantado and sunny greetings.

Martin Veron
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Booked this holiday via Thomsons. Flight on the Dreamliner was excellent. Seats are roomy and the meals were nice. Biggest problem is the 4 hour+ transfer from Puerto Plata to the resort. Thomsons you need to get your act together for this. Too much to expect folks to endure this after a 9 hour flight. The stop on the way is at a local snack bat place which is not very clean and the toilets leave alot to be desired. The bus air conditioning was not working and the transfer staff do not speak to you during the 4 hour transfer. Once you get to the hotel the management are waiting for you on the jetty and escort you to the lobby. That first night it was just a quick wash and change and down to dinner before the restaurant closed, although there is 24 hour room service(didnt use this at all). The next morning we went exploring and could see things in daylight. We were not disappointed. the hotel is very clean and all the staff are very friendly and welcoming. Food in the buffet at all times is excellent and to be honest I preferred this to the 3 a la carte restaurants. this is a personal choice, whereas other folks ate in the a la carte most nights. The bar staff are wonderful and I would especially mention Walky and Wendy who were very helpful and were always very attentive.The only problem with the bar is it closes at 11. This is very early in an adults only hotel and im not sure of the reason for this. There is another bat from 11-2 at the public beach, although hardly anyone used this and on one night we wre there the staff obviously didnt want to be there and were wanting to close early. The drink there is not the international brands you get at the hotel bar. We spent most of our days lazing at the quiet pool which was great and the bar staff there were very attentive, especially Henry and Danny. We booked 2 trips with Thomsons the zip slides, which was amazing, but the journey is a bit rocky to get there. This is not for ther faint hearted asyou start at 1000ft+ in the jungle, but the views are spectacular, and it get easier with each subsequent slide. We also took the catamaran trip which we felt was a bit of a con, at nearly $200 for 2 people. You leave the island and get on a bus to samana to eventually end up back beside the hotel to snorkel. They did take you to Cafe del Mar a 7* hotel where you have lunch and a dip in an infinity pool which is nice. there is building work going on and the hotel are not letting rooms out right beside the work, but as it is a small island you hear the work every day. Thomsons should have informed folks of this prior to departure. The workers arrive at 7.30 every day and are escorted onto the island and off again at night. There are security personnel keeping them away from guests. This is not really off putting, but packing in more villas mayspoil the hotel. Would I go back yes, but thomsons really need to sort out the transfers.

Room Tip: go for a villa if you can out of the hotel complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Squidge1322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martín V, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear squidge1322,

Thank you very much for your comments you do not know how we appreciate your time that you took to post such a nice feedback.

We really hope that we can receive you in the near future in any of our hotels Bahia Principe Hotels & Resort in the meantime we wish you all the best!!!

Many greetings from Samana!!
Martin Veron
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The hotel is excellent and the staff work hard with a smile on their faces never waited for a drink or food the management ensure things run efficiently.
Food was excellent through out even the buffet was different every night and to a high standard.
Only negative was there is a lot of building work going on that could be heard around the main pool not a problem to us who prefer the beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martín V, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Mr. Peter E,

Receive warm greetings from all the Staff working at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado.

Thank you very much for your comments and we are glad to know that your holiday here was amazing, thanks for highlighting the good food, lovely beach and our excellent staff.

We hope to see you again at our Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection.

Kind Regards
Martin Veron
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingbirchworth
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

The Dream Liner experience was very good and it was well worth paying to be in Premier class. Our air steward Michael was brilliant and the food was very good; Thai green curry was great but not enough for everyone. We paid an additional sum for a taxi transfer and that was well worth it after the long flight. The hotel and island were breath taking as we arrived here. Our room is beautifully designed and well planned, it is also spacious and elegant. So much of this hotel and island has an old world, colonial charm about it, which exudes quality and distinctive excellence. There are 3 a la carte restaurants to choose or the hotel buffet. Each restaurant would be a top level U.K. restaurant in its own right. The quality of the food is astounding and I have to say "compliments to the extremely talented chefs" in each one of those restaurants. I would love to see the master chef team here because it is that good! World class, top level cuisine - I am told the main chef is Spanish. The service level standards at all the restaurants has been brilliant. The staff are all very professional but more than that, they are warm and friendly. One person called Richard really stands out as being professional and extremely good at his job. We have been assigned a "butler" though I hate that term. Keldwin has been extremely helpful too, he is articulate and nothing is too much of a problem for him. He listens carefully and goes that extra mile for his guests. Keldwin ensured that my birthday was made extra special. All of the team here have been very good including the lady who cleans our room. Again she is very polite and courteous and nothing is too much of a problem for her. This lovely lady keeps surprising us with creative new and different ways of making our bed pretty. The team work and ethos amongst the staff here indicates that there is excellent management of this hotel. The management here, have been visible and the main hotel manager would seem the consummate professional in all that he does. He had a scary moment yesterday during the World Cup, while surrounded by Germans, his TV screen suddenly stopped working and you could see the angst on his face. He did not send anyone else though, he corrected the problem himself. I guess he leads by example. The hotel pools are delightful but building works have limited options on the quiet pool this week. I suspect that a lot has been done to minimise disruption and you can go to the beach or beach pool, which are all very lovely, if the noise starts to get to you. I hope that expansion of the hotel accommodation will not adversely affect the ambiance of this 6 star hotel. In summary, this is an excellent hotel with superb food in a gorgeous setting, that is staffed by a high performing team of caring individuals.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
12 Thank MoyaIngbirchworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martín V, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Receive cordial greetings from all the team working at Luxury Bahia Principe Hotel, especially from our Management Department.

We are so glad after having received your message letting us know you had an amazing vacation experience in our Hotel, Your comments are a valuable reference for other customers who are considering Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts for their holidays.

Looking forward to welcome you again in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts Best all inclusive in the Dominican Republic.

Sincerely yours,

Martin Veron
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Traveled to DR with 4 other women to celebrate a 50th B-day. Had a blast! Staff went out of their way to make us feel at home and help us celebrate. The food was excellent, drinks unlimited. The public beach was beautiful and safe.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mesm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martín V, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Mesm3,

We are so happy to hear your great experience in our Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado. To know that our guests go back home satisfied with their vacation, makes all our efforts worthwhile. We will be sending your greeting to all our team!!!

We hope to see you again in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, Best all inclusive in Dominican Republic.

Sincerely,

Martin Veron
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Everything was perfect! From the airport to the hotel, everything more than we expected.
Delicious food, beautiful beaches, clean and warm pool, amazing staff!!
Especial thanks to the Privilege Club staff , to Ana Marie, our butler, who did everything to make our days more than specials ( pillows menu, scents menu, bubble baths). To Miguel, our Scuba diving instructor, Karen ( lobby bar), Juan ( pool bar) and Caroline (snack bar).
We had a wonderful time. We will be back next year for sure!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Miriam732013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martín V, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Mrs. Miriam732013,

We would like to thank you very much for bringing to our attention your nice comments about your stay in our Hotel. All feedback from our guests is valued, to ensure that we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from us.

We cannot wait to cater you very soon at Dominican Republic to experience another great stay and enjoy the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

Big hug and many sunny greetings.

Martin Veron
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samana Province
22.0 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
49.2 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#3 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,044 reviews
62.7 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
65.9 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
63.6 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
1.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don Pablo Collection
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don...
#1 of 60 in Samana Province
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
Address: | Bahia de Samana, Isla de Cayo Levantado, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Samana Province
#2 Spa Hotel in Samana Province
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Samana Province
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Samana Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 pools 3 Jacuzzis with bar Large sun terrace and gardens with loungers and sun umbrellas Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 1 tennis court Motorised water sports (additional charge) Store Heliport WiFi access in the lobby and in rooms (free of charge) Main buffet-style restaurant and 3 speciality restaurants 4 Bars Cocktail Lounge Snack-bar Wedding gazebo Rooms 268 rooms including 5 types Superior, Junior Suite, Superior Junior Suite, Deluxe Junior Suite and Beach Villas. Superior Junior Suites, Deluxe Junior Suites and Beach Villas are larger than the Junior Suite and Superior. Room facilities: King size four poster bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Sitting area with desk Balcony or terrace Fully-equipped marble bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, separate shower, bidet, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Telephone in bathroom Don Pablo Collection amenities Bathrobe and slippers Radio alarm clock with iPod docking station Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Flat screen satellite TV Safe Mini-bar with alcoholic drinks Wifi Coffee-making facilities Ironing set 24 hour room service Evening downturn service Outdoor Jacuzzi (Deluxe Junior Suites) Butler service Pillow menu Aroma menu Beach Villas: Seafront location with outdoor Jacuzzi, pillow menu available on request, baggage unpacking and ironing service, laundry service (optional) Other services Medical and pharmacy service (additional charge for both) Stores in the hotel Heliport and private boat (available on request for an additional charge) Mainland reception and transfer by boat (included in the booking fee) Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Hotel
Cayo Levantado Samana
Cayo Levantado Dominican Republic
Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Cayo Levantado Hotel Samana
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection Dominican Republic/Samana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing