We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Samana Province
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Just had the most wonderful 2 weeks at this fabulous resort. Staff were amazing, Food was to die for. Nothing was too much trouble. If you want to relax this is the place to be. Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martín V, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Neil B,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience, which gives us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance.

We hope to welcome you once again for more days to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities.

Be happy all the time!!!

Have a nice day!!!
Martin Veron
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,238
    733
    192
    72
    33
See reviews for
518
3,981
50
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,378)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Another great break, which my wife decided would celebrate my retirement.Good food, great staff and a well cared for and secluded Island. Thomsons spoilt it with a four hour coach ride from the airport. Last year it was 40 minutes. Snorkelling good, we even swam with Squid! Beaches with areas to suit all abilities and very beautiful gardens. Lots of development going on so it may not be so exclusive in future.BEST feature- NO Kids......loved it.

Room Tip: Don't pick 31101.. This Beach Villa has vans pulling up to deliver to the restraints and bar fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martín V, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Mrs. Roos M,

Thank you very much for your comments you do not know how we appreciate your time that you took to post such a nice feedback.

We really hope that we can receive you in the near future in any of our hotels Bahia Principe Hotels & Resort in the meantime we wish you all the best!!!

Many greetings from Samana – Cayo Levantado!!
Martin Veron
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Paradise, where even the rain don't bore you... during our stay it just rained in the night.
We hardly recommend this Hotel. The staff are amazing, extremely available and friendly.
Extraordinary environment, combining hotel, sea, beach and gardens.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro_Ferreirinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martín V, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Mr. Pedro,

Thank you very much for your comments and we are glad to know that your holiday here was amazing.

We hope to see you again at our Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection.

Kind Regards
Martin Veron
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from an awesome two weeks at this wonderful hotel!

Having travelled all over the Caribbean for the last 12 years, staying in some top-notch hotels, I have to say that this hotel is head and shoulders above even the best.

As we were travelling with my sister and her husband who both celebrated their 50th birthdays earlier in July, I emailed the hotel, asking if it was possible we could have sea view rooms, as we like to sit on the balcony of an evening. We booked through Thomson, upgrading to a Junior Suite in the main building. We received a reply from the lovely Stephanie in Guest Services, advising us that she would try her best but could not guarantee a particular room. We were given the documentation and room key as we boarded the bus at the airport, for the 3 hours 50 minute journey to the dock. You can imagine our delight and amazement when we realised that we had been upgraded and allocated rooms 12103/4 in villa 12! This got the holiday off to a great start and was more than we could have dreamed of.

I know that people have commented on the journey and how tiring it can be - it wasn't ideal, but we approached it with the mindset that it was a free trip whereby we could take in the villages and countryside of the lovely Dominican Republic on our way to our tropical hideaway.

When we opened the door to our room we were blown away...simply gorgeous! We received a half bottle of rum, complimentary t shirts, a plate of fruit and a plate of tiny desserts, all beautifully wrapped in cellophane. But that was not all: when we opened the patio door and stepped outside we had to pinch ourselves when we saw the view...Stephanie had sure delivered! Thank you, thank you, thank you!

Beaches

Each of the three beaches are beautiful in their own right. We preferred the 'windy beach' as it helped us to cope with the heat much better and I have to say that not one of us burned and we gained glorious tans. Sometimes when the heat is at it's most intense, I end up sweating, with my face being a puddle for two weeks (!) so the constant breeze on this beach suited me. The 'calm beach' was beautiful, with plenty of natural shade, though could get a little cramped at times. The best time to visit the public Bacardi Beach was early in the morning where you can then appreciate all of its beauty... The beach is cleaned three times a day, if not more, so sea weed was never an issue.

Pools

Despite some building work going on around the quiet pool, it did not deter people from using it. The area is screened off and yes, you can hear the occasional drilling, but just stick your iPod headphones in your ears, and you will be none the wiser :) The beach pool was the busiest and sometimes it could be hard to find a bed. This I feel is due to the selfish people who vacate the sunbed but who are too lazy to drop their used towel at the towel hut a mere 20 paces away.

Restaurants

There is always a time when I am on holiday when I have to resort to eating pizza for my evening meal as the food is either repetitive or unappealing. Not so with this hotel! I have never experienced the variety, quality and flavour of food like this in a buffet. There is something for everyone and it is hard not to overload your plate with sumptuous food. Commendations must go to the chefs, whose attention to detail is so fantastic. The starters were, quite simply, a work of art!! When you visit, you will understand what I mean. The themed nights were done really well...for example on the Oriental Night, they had a chef making individual crispy duck wraps for you...divine! Two types of caviar, smoked salmon, Mimosas...and that is just for breakfast every day :)
We did eat at Portofino and Don Pablo, but all honestly felt that the food and service was better at the buffet. Don Pablo, the 'Jewel in the Crown,' needs to get its act together, employing the right staff who know how to make you feel special. We ate there twice (giving them a second chance in case it was a one-off) and have to say that the restaurant manager must be blind not to see what is going on, judging by the looks on his patrons' faces. Two wasted nights of our precious holiday. Portofino was lovely, with a very moreish Campo Viejo to wash down the authentic Italian food. Be aware though, the portions are huge, so go there when you are as hungry as a horse!

Service
One word...top-notch! Apart from the Don Pablo :(
It is true that tipping is not expected, but it is appreciated, so we tipped quite readily. However, in the buffet it became difficult to know who to tip, as we would have three or four people attending to us during our evening meal. Plates were cleaned away promptly, with wine glasses usually being refilled without asking.

Management are always around, talking to guests and ensuring that everything is as it should be. We found them to be very friendly and approachable. This was without doubt, the best holiday we have ever had. We never return to a hotel, but this has broken the mould as we are looking to visit again next year for three weeks if possible.

Other things to note
*We booked a surprise candle-lit dinner for my sister and her husband in the massage hut on the calm beach. Stephanie was instrumental in ensuring that they had a wonderful time. They had their own waiter for the evening, enjoying a delightful seven-course meal, accompanied by champagne, wine and liqueurs. At Stephanie's suggestion, their butler ran them a scented bath, complete with rose petals and candles upon their return from the meal. They commented afterwards, that they would both remember the night for as long as they lived :) The cost was $180, quite pricey, but we felt that it was worth every dollar.
*The orange juice served at breakfast was delicious, not your usual watered-down concoction
*The hotel offers a free boat trip around the island every Thursday. You need to book it at Guest Services. Sit on the left-hand side of the boat for the best photo opportunities
*The pool bar and beach bar have nuts, crisps and olives available all day
*Try the Cocktail of the Day, available at the beach and pool bar
*The hotel does allow 'sellers' to come in of an evening, but they don't pester you at all
*A chill party is held every Friday, alternately at the calm beach and quiet pool
*Gala Night is on Thursday...don't miss it. The menu does change from week to week
*Check out the hand-made chocolates on Gala Night which are available in the lobby...get there early as they disappear fast!
*A band will serenade you on the terrace as you have your pre-dinner drinks, watching the sun go down. They don't expect tips, but are grateful.
*They offer a cocktail as you enter the buffet restaurant, both at lunch and dinner
*Sometimes they wheel a liqueur trolley around the lobby in the evening- all well-known brands
*Sanitising hand gel is offered as you enter each restaurant
*All restaurants are air conditioned - and it works!
*The lobby is wonderfully cool and air conditioned
*There is a iPod docking station in each bedroom
*The public toilets are extremely clean and smell wonderful from the scented candles
*When the tide it out, you can walk to Pelican Island - well worth it :)

Have a great time - you will not regret a single dollar/pound that you pay to experience this truly wonderful hotel!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank Gill1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martín V, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Mrs. Gill1986

Receive warm greetings from all the Staff working at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado.

We are so glad after having received your message letting us know you had an espectacular vacation in our Hotel, and that you specially enjoyed the Service from our Staff, we will send your greetings to all the team, especially to Stehany.

Hope to see you soon on your next vacation experience in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Thanks for putting the pictures of our hotel

Sincerely yours,

Martin Veron
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I spent my honeymoon in this marvelous hotel. Both me and my wife were completely amazed with the hotel and it's location. It's a piece of paradise on earth. All the employees were nice and friendly. The only point I would suggest being improved is the Wi-Fi connection in the room. Sometimes I had trouble connecting to the internet.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndreGeraldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martín V, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Mr. AndreGeraldo,

Receive warm greetings from all the Staff working at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado. We are so glad after having received your message letting us know you had great time in our Hotel especially in your Honeymoon, and that you enjoyed the Service from our Staff.

Hope to see you soon on your next vacation experience in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Sincerely yours,
Martin Veron
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We had the most amazingly relaxing week in Bahia Principe. Cannot recommend enough.

The location of the hotel alone is worth the money we paid. The boat trip was so well organised and not a problem at all. The rooms are outstanding, great size and wonderful balcony. The service throughout was a joy, some of the staff had limited english but its a good chance to try out your Spanish!

If you are umping and erring over this holiday then don't, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martín V, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Joe H

We feel proud of your fond memories , and for feelings we'll always treasure. We hope welcome you soon in our hotel: the Best Hotel in Dominican Republic, that is pleasing the people the world over.

Thank you very much for your visit. Come back soon!!

Our best regards,
Martin Veron
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton Ontario
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We have recently returned from a vacation at the Bahia Principe Cayo Laventado and had a wonderful time.
I had sent an email to the resort to tell them about my husband's birthday that we would be celebrating while we were there and I requested dinner at Don Paublo restaurant for that evening. I receive a lovely email back from Stephanie at the concierge desk saying that they would do their best to accommodate and that dinner was arranged. THANK YOU STEPHANIE - YOU WERE SO LOVELY TO US! thanks for chatting with us and taking care of us...it was so nice to meet you!
We arrived at Samana El Katey airport and it was a small, efficient airport and was processed and on our way in no time. The drive to the resort was about 45 minutes long and no trouble at all. We stopped at the mainland and waited about 20 minutes for a boat to take us to the island.. again, very smooth, no troubles at all.
We were met with drinks and a lovely welcome by all the concierge staff, butlers and bell boys.. very nice. We were whisked to our room by David, our butler - who did everything he could possibly do to make our stay special. David arranged for more pillows, booked our meals, and had a door banner, balloons and champagne in the room on my husbands birthday - and arranged a cake for the birthday dinner. THANK YOU DAVID WE APPRECIATED EVERYTHING YOU DID FOR US!
Our room was fantastic, building 2 and very centrally located and a view of the ocean... simply wonderful.
We were greeted every evening in the lobby bar by VIRGINIA - she simply was the Best! Thanks Virginia for remembering our drinks and serving us so well. We really appreciated your care.
Breakfast buffet in the morning is outstanding - RAYMOUNDO greeted us as well as all the staff, all so friendly! just amazing! Elesandra who set the tables each day, Victor who poured our orange juice.. the gentleman who made our omelettes each day with a smile on his face! The coffee here is great and always piping hot!
we won't forget any of you!
So I guess the theme here is that I am mentioning many peoples names... 'cause it is the customer care and service that really makes this place special. Managers are walking around, available to listen to any 'situation' and resolve anything,- always chatting and just being present makes you feel that they are approachable and caring.
The resort itself is beautiful - lush and well maintained. You will not be disappointed.
We particularly enjoyed the house Spanish Rioja - very, very nice wine!
My husband loved the Irish whiskey - Jamison's
We would recommend this hotel and will definitely be returning.
One suggestion: We like taking morning coffee to the pool or beach and would appreciate 'take out' containers for coffee.
also, the pizza here is fantastic and we would have liked to take a pizza to enjoy by the pool .. some resorts have little take out boxes for this purpose.
thanks to EVERYONE AT CAYO LEVANTATO - I wish I could have remembered more names!

Room Tip: buildings 1,2,3,4, are very nice and centrally located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank lambiej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martín V, Manager at Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Iambiej,

We are so happy to hear your great experience in our Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado. To know that our guests go back home satisfied with their vacation, makes all our efforts worthwhile. We will be sending your greeting to all our team, especially David, Virginia and Stehanie.

We hope to see you again in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, Best all inclusive in Dominican Republic.

Sincerely,

Martin Veron
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samana Province
22.0 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 34 in Las Terrenas
448 reviews
65.8 mi away
Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana
49.2 mi away
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
Zoetry Agua Punta Cana
#3 of 111 in Punta Cana
4,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
62.7 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Bavaro
65.9 mi away
The Reserve at Paradisus Palma Real
1.3 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don Pablo Collection
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don...
#1 of 54 in Samana Province
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection

Property: Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
Address: | Bahia de Samana, Isla de Cayo Levantado, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Samana Province
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Samana Province
#2 Spa Hotel in Samana Province
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Samana Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services 2 pools 3 Jacuzzis with bar Large sun terrace and gardens with loungers and sun umbrellas Pool and beach towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Sports facilities: gym, 1 tennis court Motorised water sports (additional charge) Store Heliport WiFi access in the lobby and in rooms (free of charge) Main buffet-style restaurant and 3 speciality restaurants 4 Bars Cocktail Lounge Snack-bar Wedding gazebo Rooms 268 rooms including 5 types Superior, Junior Suite, Superior Junior Suite, Deluxe Junior Suite and Beach Villas. Superior Junior Suites, Deluxe Junior Suites and Beach Villas are larger than the Junior Suite and Superior. Room facilities: King size four poster bed Air conditioning Ceiling fan Sitting area with desk Balcony or terrace Fully-equipped marble bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, separate shower, bidet, hair dryer and magnifying mirror Telephone in bathroom Don Pablo Collection amenities Bathrobe and slippers Radio alarm clock with iPod docking station Direct phone line (additional charge for external calls) Flat screen satellite TV Safe Mini-bar with alcoholic drinks Wifi (free of charge) Coffee-making facilities Ironing set 24 hour room service Evening downturn service Outdoor Jacuzzi (Deluxe Junior Suites) Butler service Pillow menu Aroma menu Beach Villas: Seafront location with outdoor Jacuzzi, pillow menu available on request, baggage unpacking and ironing service, laundry service (optional) Other services Medical and pharmacy service (additional charge for both) Stores in the hotel Heliport and private boat (available on request for an additional charge) Mainland reception and transfer by boat (included in the booking fee) Specialised service for organising weddings, events and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, TravelUp, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Hotel
Cayo Levantado Samana
Cayo Levantado Dominican Republic
Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado
Cayo Levantado Hotel Samana
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection Dominican Republic/Samana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing