We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel in a Beautiful City” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club
Ranked #17 of 60 Hotels in Samana Province
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in a Beautiful City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 5 days while exploring and enjoying Samana. I booked it through Tingo and got a great deal on it (but later found out that there was an even better deal on Jetsetter when it got closer to our trip but still satisfied with the price). The hotel is 5 km away from Samana but if you have a rental car, it's actually not so bad and we enjoyed being able to "return home" after spending the day out in the town. The staff were very friendly and accomodating and the grounds were beautiful.

PROs:
- beautiful hotel right by the marina with two infinity pools. we had an oceanview suite and it was amazing. Terrace included.
- there are three restaurants (one for breakfast only) and 2 for lunch/dinner. A bit pricey ($5-20 dollars per dish) but I guess you're paying for convenience given the fact that Samana is a 10 minute drive. The food is good but I think you could find better elsewhere in the town or other parts of the peninsula.
- located in a very secure area with guards
- very friendly staff
- this might not necessarily but a PRO for some but while we were there, there was barely anyone in the hotel and so a lot of it was empty (restaurants, pools, etc.). The hotel is located in a private area surrounded by private villas and so we just thought it was the exclusivity of the location, and the fact that it may have been pricey relative to the surrounding small towns.

CONS:
- wifi only in the public areas (lobby, restaurants). you can get wifi at times in your room, which was in our case because we were on the 2nd floor but it was spotty. There is, however, free wired internet if you have a laptop

Overall, we would stay here the next time we visit Samana!

Room Tip: Oceanview is the way to go. If you're a SLH club member, you may be able to upgrade from a mount...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank changde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBretin, General Manager at The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Mr. Chang,

We just received your review and we thank you very much for taking a moment and share your feeling about The Bannister Hotel.

The entire team is very glad to see that they make you feel that good and comfortable that you will come back!
As you explained it, our place is very exclusive and peaceful. As the hotel is a 32 Suites Hotel inside a 180 units gated property, when the owners of villas are not here or are in their private villa, you feel like you have the entire place for yourself!!!

As far the the wifi is concerned, I confirm you that we are currently changing our system so that every Suite could have wifi.

Once again, thank you for all your comments,

We are waiting for the pleasure to welcome you again at The Bannister Hotel,

Very Best Regards,

Jessica Bretin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    36
    12
    8
    5
See reviews for
28
87
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Nice and friendly staff, great food, amazing view from our room. I absolutely recommend this place to leave behind the city routine and have a romantic stay. My husband and I also visited the town near the hotel amenities and was wonderful. Very clean, one of the best places I've been in my life. We loved everything!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francibel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBretin, General Manager at The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Mrs. Francibel,

we acknowledge good receipt of your review and we thank you for choosing The Bannister Hotel for your Honeymoon!!!

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay so much and we do hope we will see you for your first anniversary!

Congratulations again on behalf of the entire team,

Very Best Regards,

Jessica Bretin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

This hotel is 5 miles away from Samana, so it is not close to city activities. It is also in a gated area, so if you take a taxi to the hotel, you are stopped at the security gate, where you have to get out and wait for the hotel to send a car. The hotel is very inconvenient if you do not have a car.

The hotel itself is nice, good vibe. The marina makes the guests interesting, as some are traveling by land and others by boat. Good restaurants and everyone is friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBretin, General Manager at The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Mrs. Lisa,

First of all we would like to thank you for sharing with us your feeling about Puerto Bahia. This is very important for us to have the guests impression so that we can always improve our services.

Indeed the property is 5km from Samana city. You are right saying that, as we are a gated property, we stop every vehicule coming in and out for an identity check, for security. Nevertheless, if you arrive with a taxi, you do not have to get out at the Entrance, you can come in with the taxi. Only moto-taxi (motoconcho) are not allowed to enter. Should you need a car, the Excursion Agency located in the lobby of the hotel "Escapade Samana" can offer you rentals for convenient rates.

We are very glad to see that you enjoyed the special ambiance of Puerto Bahia created around its Marina and the general kindness of our team.

We do hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again at The Bannister Hotel soon,

Very Best Regards,

Jessica Bretin-Mariano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
131 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

My family spent a long weekend at apartments associated with the Bannister since the hotel was full. The staff were very helpful to make sure we had accommodations and had use of all the hotel amenities. The hotel is small and has a great view of docks with boats of many very nice persons who have vacation apartments surrounding the hotel. There are a few restaurants to eat at and many pools for the kids to spend hours in. We also purchased food at the small mini-market. We were lucky enough to have family with a boat that allowed us to explore the coast and make a short ride to Cayo Levantado which was a great adventure. Overall, the Bannister is very new, has very well manicured grounds and definitely a great place to get away from life for awhile.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBretin, General Manager at The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Guest,

It has been a great pleasure for the entire team to welcome you and your family at Puerto Bahia! It is really nice for us to see that you spent such a good time. Enjoying the Sea with the boat of your family gave you the right sight of the place... This is Puerto Bahia's ambiance...

We are waiting for the pleasure to receive you back at The Bannister Hotel!

Very Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

The wife and I had such a great time while staying here. The "love is in the air" package was wonderfully put together and a great bargain for the service and other details that we received during our stay. The views were beautiful and we were treated and felt like VIP the entire time. I've been traveling around the world for the last 15 years and have had the opportunity to stay at many hotels but this hotel is definitely one of the best places I've ever had the pleasure of staying in. The restaurants also deserve a special mention as well. The food was phenomenal.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Calvin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBretin, General Manager at The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Mr. Calvin,

It has been a great pleasure for the entire team to welcome you and your wife! First of all we would like to thank you for choosing The Bannister Hotel for such a special occasion. We are really proud that we could reach your expectatives and that you enjoyed so much your stay with us.

Again congratulations to both of you,

We are waiting for the pleasure to receive you back at The Bannister Hotel! Maybe for the 1st Anniversary...

Very Best Regards,

Jessica Bretin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santo domingo
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

I am more than delighted to share my experience at this wonderful hotel.I wasn't aware of this hotel until a good friend of mine who writes in Conde Nast recommended it and I would add to his review that this is indeed a real boutique hotel although its not as small as other small luxury hotels of the world properties:great staff (especially the bartender at the breakfast restaurant and the Maitre d at the cafe del mar),gorgeous views and that touch of secluded elegance everywhere.my only cons would be that the cleaning staff should perform a more thorough cleaning and has to be more oriented to detail as small gestures as little flowers or decorations made with towels.the other flaw would be that the cafe del mar staff has to be trained as how to cope with a big number of guests:when the lounge is empty everything is perfect but when the place is packed as the weekend I was staying service and quality went downhill.I would love to return soon to this wonderful property

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sibarii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBretin, General Manager at The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Mr. Sibarii,

We would like to thank you for sharing on Tripadvisor your impressions about The Bannister Hotel. It is very important for our staff to know and understand, guests expectatives and feelings about the job they are doing.
About the details you mentionned with our housekeeping team, it is property policy not to do decorations with towels and flowers. Even if the result can be very charming, I agree with you, we decided not implement this idea, and to keep the style of the hotel, between simplicity and elegance. Nevertheless we will definitely work on the training of Cafe del Mar staff so that the service gets more fluid.

Thank you again for taking the time to express what The Bannister's Experience meant to you,

We are waiting for the pleasure to welcome you again at Puerto Bahía,

Very Best Regards,

Jessica Bretin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curacao
Level Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

On a recent trip from the Turks & Caicos to the BVI, we had the great fortune to find Puerto Bahia and and the Hotel/Marina at Bannister in Samana. The staff, the marina manager, and even the owner were ever helpful when needed (or called upon!) and otherwise invisible. Due to heavy weather on the backside of a tropical storm, we had several ertwhile crew members that were quite seasick and the Bannister could not have done more to help us get them to SDQ and on to the BVI. We found the comfort, quality and staff such that it was an easy call to stay over while waiting for a better weather window and had the opportunity to enjoy the resort and suuroaunding attarctions. The greatest asset of all is the English-speaking staff and on future trasists, we will certainly budget the time for a visit.

Room Tip: As we were staying on board, we did not visit the rooms but all of those on the seaside and the vill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BusinessTraveler5931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBretin, General Manager at The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear BusinessTraveler5931,

It has been such a pleasure for us to welcome you and your crew. We thank you for sharing about our Marina Puerto Bahia and its services... We are always happy to receive boats and yachts and be able to offer the guests and crew members the best attentions possible and the access to our facilities (swimming pools, fitness center, pool room, etc.) so that they can feel more at home or on vacation than feeling just "docked".

We do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcoming you again soon, and that this time, you will have a chance to test our hotel facilities too,

Very Best Regards,

Jessica Bretin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Samana Province hotels
16.5 mi away
Sublime Samana
Sublime Samana
#1 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
5.8 mi away
Xeliter Vista Mare Samana
Xeliter Vista Mare Samana
#1 of 1 in Punta Balandra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
15.3 mi away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#2 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
Hotel Albachiara
Hotel Albachiara
#5 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hotel Las Ballenas Escondidas
Hotel Las Ballenas Escondidas
#1 of 4 in Santa Barbara de Samana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
5.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club

Property: The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club
Address: Carretera Sanchez-Samana, KM 5 | Carretera Sanchez-Samana Km5, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Samana Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the mountains and the sea, The Bannister Hotel is a wonderful retreat in the Caribbean. This stunning hotel is a member of the elite collection Small Luxury Hotels of the World, focusing on good taste, high quality, tranquility and splendor. It features 30 finely-decorated suites with outstanding views, along with a variety of amenities and impeccable service.Leave your worries behind, let the warm breeze fill you with tranquility, and enjoy a place which will fulfill your needs and indulge your desires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bannister Hotel & Yacht Club Dominican Republic/Samana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing