We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Villas Las Palmas al Mar(Las Terrenas)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$449
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$177
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$265
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Punta Bonita Beach Resort(Las Terrenas)(Great Value!)
US$85
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Resort Costa Las Ballenas(Las Terrenas)(Great Value!)
US$126
US$123
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sublime Samana Hotel & Residences(Las Terrenas)
US$282
US$263
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Casino Niza(Las Terrenas)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casas del Mar Neptunia(Las Terrenas)(Great Value!)
US$39
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$302
BahiaPrincipe
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,199)
Filter reviews
4,200 results
Traveller rating
2,127
1,399
454
137
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,127
1,399
454
137
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain poolsnack barmain buildinga la carte restaurantsanimation teambuffet restaurantseafoodjacuzzi poolbacardi islandevery hourtwo weeksdominican republicsamana townfirst choicegrand bahialower poolspaghetti
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,619 - 1,624 of 4,200 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We had a brilliant week away in the cayacoa. We had amazing views from our window out over the bay. The Hotel was way above standard with cleanliness and service provided. The beach was clean and well maintained as we're the pool and jacuzzi.
We went on 2 exclusions, one to rincon beach exquisitly beautiful and the half an hour stop to the pineapple plantation was brilliant and the second to the waterfall including a gourde trek, don't be under any illusion the trek is what it is up and down hills with well taken care of bourses and hard working guides. The waterfall stop was only 30 minutes but with the amount of tourist traffic that's all you need.
I highly recommend this holiday to anyone and I'd like to return myself.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beckie9409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Beckie,

We would like to thank you for your nice comments about the Hotel and we hope that you have had a nice trip back home.

We hope to welcome you again to Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Greetings,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We just arrived back from our holiday in Samana! It was fantastic and we have since suggested it to other friends who are looking to book a trip in the next month. We experienced some issues with our room keys, the room safe and guest services, however the manager was quick to fix the issues and allowed us to enjoy the rest of our vacation! The Private villa's in the buildings are fantastic. Make sure you book your dinners when you arrive as they do fill up fast. On wednesdays in the buffet its Asian Night (Best Night for Buffet) and thursday is Lobster! The other days are pretty average. Make sure you hit up the beach early (6am) to secure a cabana bed!

Room Tip: Ask for the Villa in Building 31-33
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lindsay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
División Cuarto... B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Dear Mrs. Lindsay:

Thank you for publishing your review about our Hotel Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa on TripAdvisor, we feel proud to be able to fulfill your expectations once again; it is indeed a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed the cuisine at our thematic nights.

We gladly appreciate the recommendation of our Hotel to others guests and of course, the possibility to host you again at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Greetings,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The facilities are excellent and I found the staff to be friendly without without exception. The views from the resort are phenomenal, as it is on a cliff and overlooks the beach (accessible via an elevator) and the town across a small bay. The pool was very nice with a plentiful supply of lounge chairs and several trees and other plants around it.

While we were there my friends father had some health issues (not related to his stay @ the resort) that involved a stay in the clinic. The staff took meals to him (the clinic is in the town) and would take his wife to and from the clinic when requested (shuttles to and from town are hourly otherwise).

The food at the buffet was excellent, so much so that we only went to one a la carte (the Italian) and didn't feel that we missed out at all. There were a lot of choices with several new ones being rotated in each day.

I truly enjoyed the adults only orientation of this resort. I like children but found it far more relaxing without having them around the beach and pool.

Room Tip: The Junior Suites are nice and fairly spacious. The ocean view from them is gorgeous.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shawn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
División Cuarto... B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Dear TripAdvisor member:

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback. We are thrilled to know that we went beyond your expectations.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in Samana.

Greetings
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

We flew into the local airport. Quick leaving airport with hotel 50 minutes away. When booking we upgraded to have the king bed, ocean view , king bed, private check in, international newspaper ,extra a la carte and welcome gift.
Upon getting off the bus there was live music and dancing. It was great. There was a welcome drink, and we each took two and waited in line at the front desk wondering what this private check in was all about. After waiting 20 minutes the reception said. Oh you are VIP and pointed to a small glass door. So we wondered there and waited for another 20 minutes in the 40 degrees heat with no ac. At this point I just wanted my room to shower and change. It was crazy hot.
There is a shuttle bus for the rooms on the side of the mountain so you don't have to climb the labyrinth of stairs to get to the main building which was nice and ran continually 24/7.
Upon entering our 3rd floor room the view was great. It overlooks a sheltered cove. Sorry no sunsets but nice anyhow. The king bed was actually two double beds, so I called reception before disturbing the room.They said sorry but they will look into it. So I showered. The bathroom was all marble with a single jetted tub and seperate shower. And very clean. Fridge had 3 cold beers and pop. However the bottle of rum was missing as it was to be included. I called and they told me I could pay if u wanted one now or wait and see if the maid dropped it off the next day. Needless to say I had a cold beer. We wondered down for a snack at the snack bar and met the bartender Alexander. He is very attentive and will reciprocate any humour you give him. Victor the manager is strict and will professionally insure everything is excellent and clean so make sure to give him some sarcastic attitude. He needs it. Ha ha. Good times!
The restaurants have above average food and the service was great once you let them know how you want to be treated. If you are a specific individual I would suggest introducing yourself to Manuel who is a table manager in the buffet. He speaks great English and will ensure you get the best experience a buffet can provide. Don't be afraid to ask for him personally, I believe he readily enjoys his job. Although I don't think I tip much. Maybe 2$ for lunch and up to 5$ for dinner. The service was exceptional, and the workers always make you feel as if they were waiting for you with personal greetings and smiles.
There is time share being sold at the hotel. We met Nelson in the lobby and think we harassed him more then he bugged us although we didn't do the 1 the session for a spa treatment and tee shirt they still say hi and don't cross the line of pressure if you just say No.... Twice... And laugh with it.
In all, I would go back, however we only got chocolate and turn down service twice in a week, we never got a king size bed, there were no newspapers, no public areas with AC aside from the restaurant. lmost impossible to get spoons and coffee cups the buffet and the 5 pounds I gained from the food ... I shall one day return. PS. The whales are in the bay from December to March

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tracey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
División Cuarto... B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Dear TripAdvisor member:

We sincerely appreciate your comments. We are disappointed to see that we were not able to reach your entire satisfaction and we do apologize for the related inconveniences; your comments are a great help to us for bringing to our attention the situations encountered during your stay. It is through communications of this nature that our customers give us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from our hotel

We would like also to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future, we are confident we will be able to change your current perception of us.

Greetings,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Just returned from the Gran Bahia Cayocoa yesterday. We've travelled to many all inclusive resorts and this is one of the best. The service was impeccable, constantly looking after your every need. Buffet was excellent, all items were piping hot and fresh. Lobster night is Thursday, don't miss it. The 3 a la cartes were great, both the seafood and gourmet ones serving lobster and steak with no surcharge. The beach grill for lunch is a great alternative to the buffet with fresh pizza, chicken, seafood or hot dogs and burgers. The beach is small but we grew to love it. Sandy bottom, no waves, warm water and great beach bar. Tons of sun loungers. Yoga, stretching and aerobics on the sand. Games through the day but otherwise quiet and relaxing. Activities also around the pool with a swim up bar. All rooms have great views and the scenery here is stunning so don't think room requests really matter. Spotless maid service and fridge always stocked.
Patio bar overlooking the city of Samana at night with a sea breeze is great way to spend the evening.
Lots of tables, chairs or sofas. Only suggestions would be live bands in the evening on the patio and better air conditioning in the lobby. It is extremely humid here 24/7 and it felt like a sauna. Mobility issues could be a concern for some but there are efficient elevators and shuttle service.
Highly recommend this resort!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
9  Thank Kimgrund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Dear TripAdvisor member:

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa as your holiday destination. It is a real pleasure to learn that you are enjoying a nice time together with us.

We wish to continue providing the best of our personnel hospitality, the quality of our services and facilities, and offer you an great experience at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Samana.

Greetings,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews