We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, lovely people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Samana Province
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, lovely people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We returned from a two week holiday at this hotel on 1st November. We found the hotel to be very clean and our room, which was a junior suite, very spacious with a superb view of the bay.

The hotel setting is perfect, with the gardens kept immaculate, and although the hotel is spread out over a large area and quite steep, the hotel provides shuttle buses (similar to golf carts) to ferry guests to and fro.

We could not fault any of the staff, they were all extremely helpful and pleasant, particularly Carlos, Yissell, Wellintong and Brenda who were always smiling and cheerful.

The buffet restaurant was very clean. There was always a variety of food on offer, however, on occasions the food was not as hot as it could be.

The Gourmet was the best of the a la carte restaurants with perfect steaks and excellent service.

We found the evening entertainment to be lacking. During our holiday there was only the Michael Jackson tribute show which I would recommend. Despite this I would definitely go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a superb view in the main hotel building ask for one on either floor 4 or 5; our room was number 520.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Gary,

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen one of our Hotels for your visit to Dominican Republic. It is a real pleasure to read that you enjoyed an excellent vacation.

Thank you for your nice comments about our helpful and pleasant staff, cleanning in the buffet and Gourmet´s restaurant.

We will be honored to have you once again at any of our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Samana.

Greetings,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,932
    1,286
    400
    126
    77
See reviews for
681
2,190
112
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,114)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Just back from a 2 wks stay in this lovely hotel. The staff all very friendly and attentive, really lovely people. We stayed in the main building on the top floor with views overlooking the bay which was a magical sight in the evening. You do need to be up early to secure your beach or pool beds but a snooze in the sun soon sorts out any tiredness!!! We took US dollars which was fine but think we would have been better taking their local currency. Take advantage of the free hourly shuttle bus down to Samana ,well worth a visit or two, things you may need or gifts you may want to take home can be bought at a much better price than at the hotel. Not easy to change English money up but we found a money exchange up by the indoor market, get off the bus turn left walk up the hill and cross over to the left hand side of the road til afore mentioned market is found. The 2 banks we went into did not exchange sterling. Rum and Mamawhana (liquor) cheaper in the town. So if you think you're being offered marijuana on the beach ( as in one stupid review we read before going ) you're not , its their local drink. . . . The safe is $4 dollars a night though some seem to work without paying, ours didn't but we found the staff nothing but helpful and honest. The best of the al la carte was the Gourmet restaurant but the normal buffet was lovely. All the other guests were friendly and I would recommend this hotel to anyone!!!! We had a marvellous 2 weeks and I hope you all do too. Go on book it now. . . Gill ( London) England.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank osborne35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Gill,

Thank you so much for taking your time to write this nice review about our hotel!

We are really glad to see that you have enjoyed every minute with us, we work hard to succeed our guest needs and we are so happy to see that we did it with you and you have a memorable holiday with us.

Enjoy an all-inclusive holiday as a couple with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts

Greetings,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

We had a brilliant week away in the cayacoa. We had amazing views from our window out over the bay. The Hotel was way above standard with cleanliness and service provided. The beach was clean and well maintained as we're the pool and jacuzzi.
We went on 2 exclusions, one to rincon beach exquisitly beautiful and the half an hour stop to the pineapple plantation was brilliant and the second to the waterfall including a gourde trek, don't be under any illusion the trek is what it is up and down hills with well taken care of bourses and hard working guides. The waterfall stop was only 30 minutes but with the amount of tourist traffic that's all you need.
I highly recommend this holiday to anyone and I'd like to return myself.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beckie9409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Beckie,

We would like to thank you for your nice comments about the Hotel and we hope that you have had a nice trip back home.

We hope to welcome you again to Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Greetings,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

We just arrived back from our holiday in Samana! It was fantastic and we have since suggested it to other friends who are looking to book a trip in the next month. We experienced some issues with our room keys, the room safe and guest services, however the manager was quick to fix the issues and allowed us to enjoy the rest of our vacation! The Private villa's in the buildings are fantastic. Make sure you book your dinners when you arrive as they do fill up fast. On wednesdays in the buffet its Asian Night (Best Night for Buffet) and thursday is Lobster! The other days are pretty average. Make sure you hit up the beach early (6am) to secure a cabana bed!

Room Tip: Ask for the Villa in Building 31-33
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lindsay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
División Cuarto... B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Dear Mrs. Lindsay:

Thank you for publishing your review about our Hotel Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa on TripAdvisor, we feel proud to be able to fulfill your expectations once again; it is indeed a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed the cuisine at our thematic nights.

We gladly appreciate the recommendation of our Hotel to others guests and of course, the possibility to host you again at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Greetings,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

The facilities are excellent and I found the staff to be friendly without without exception. The views from the resort are phenomenal, as it is on a cliff and overlooks the beach (accessible via an elevator) and the town across a small bay. The pool was very nice with a plentiful supply of lounge chairs and several trees and other plants around it.

While we were there my friends father had some health issues (not related to his stay @ the resort) that involved a stay in the clinic. The staff took meals to him (the clinic is in the town) and would take his wife to and from the clinic when requested (shuttles to and from town are hourly otherwise).

The food at the buffet was excellent, so much so that we only went to one a la carte (the Italian) and didn't feel that we missed out at all. There were a lot of choices with several new ones being rotated in each day.

I truly enjoyed the adults only orientation of this resort. I like children but found it far more relaxing without having them around the beach and pool.

Room Tip: The Junior Suites are nice and fairly spacious. The ocean view from them is gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shawn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
División Cuarto... B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Dear TripAdvisor member:

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate all feedback. We are thrilled to know that we went beyond your expectations.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in Samana.

Greetings
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Kentucky
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

We flew into the local airport. Quick leaving airport with hotel 50 minutes away. When booking we upgraded to have the king bed, ocean view , king bed, private check in, international newspaper ,extra a la carte and welcome gift.
Upon getting off the bus there was live music and dancing. It was great. There was a welcome drink, and we each took two and waited in line at the front desk wondering what this private check in was all about. After waiting 20 minutes the reception said. Oh you are VIP and pointed to a small glass door. So we wondered there and waited for another 20 minutes in the 40 degrees heat with no ac. At this point I just wanted my room to shower and change. It was crazy hot.
There is a shuttle bus for the rooms on the side of the mountain so you don't have to climb the labyrinth of stairs to get to the main building which was nice and ran continually 24/7.
Upon entering our 3rd floor room the view was great. It overlooks a sheltered cove. Sorry no sunsets but nice anyhow. The king bed was actually two double beds, so I called reception before disturbing the room.They said sorry but they will look into it. So I showered. The bathroom was all marble with a single jetted tub and seperate shower. And very clean. Fridge had 3 cold beers and pop. However the bottle of rum was missing as it was to be included. I called and they told me I could pay if u wanted one now or wait and see if the maid dropped it off the next day. Needless to say I had a cold beer. We wondered down for a snack at the snack bar and met the bartender Alexander. He is very attentive and will reciprocate any humour you give him. Victor the manager is strict and will professionally insure everything is excellent and clean so make sure to give him some sarcastic attitude. He needs it. Ha ha. Good times!
The restaurants have above average food and the service was great once you let them know how you want to be treated. If you are a specific individual I would suggest introducing yourself to Manuel who is a table manager in the buffet. He speaks great English and will ensure you get the best experience a buffet can provide. Don't be afraid to ask for him personally, I believe he readily enjoys his job. Although I don't think I tip much. Maybe 2$ for lunch and up to 5$ for dinner. The service was exceptional, and the workers always make you feel as if they were waiting for you with personal greetings and smiles.
There is time share being sold at the hotel. We met Nelson in the lobby and think we harassed him more then he bugged us although we didn't do the 1 the session for a spa treatment and tee shirt they still say hi and don't cross the line of pressure if you just say No.... Twice... And laugh with it.
In all, I would go back, however we only got chocolate and turn down service twice in a week, we never got a king size bed, there were no newspapers, no public areas with AC aside from the restaurant. lmost impossible to get spoons and coffee cups the buffet and the 5 pounds I gained from the food ... I shall one day return. PS. The whales are in the bay from December to March

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
División Cuarto... B, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Dear TripAdvisor member:

We sincerely appreciate your comments. We are disappointed to see that we were not able to reach your entire satisfaction and we do apologize for the related inconveniences; your comments are a great help to us for bringing to our attention the situations encountered during your stay. It is through communications of this nature that our customers give us an opportunity to assess and evaluate our performance, as well as to ensure we maintain and deliver the level of service expected from our hotel

We would like also to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future, we are confident we will be able to change your current perception of us.

Greetings,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Just returned from the Gran Bahia Cayocoa yesterday. We've travelled to many all inclusive resorts and this is one of the best. The service was impeccable, constantly looking after your every need. Buffet was excellent, all items were piping hot and fresh. Lobster night is Thursday, don't miss it. The 3 a la cartes were great, both the seafood and gourmet ones serving lobster and steak with no surcharge. The beach grill for lunch is a great alternative to the buffet with fresh pizza, chicken, seafood or hot dogs and burgers. The beach is small but we grew to love it. Sandy bottom, no waves, warm water and great beach bar. Tons of sun loungers. Yoga, stretching and aerobics on the sand. Games through the day but otherwise quiet and relaxing. Activities also around the pool with a swim up bar. All rooms have great views and the scenery here is stunning so don't think room requests really matter. Spotless maid service and fridge always stocked.
Patio bar overlooking the city of Samana at night with a sea breeze is great way to spend the evening.
Lots of tables, chairs or sofas. Only suggestions would be live bands in the evening on the patio and better air conditioning in the lobby. It is extremely humid here 24/7 and it felt like a sauna. Mobility issues could be a concern for some but there are efficient elevators and shuttle service.
Highly recommend this resort!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank Kimgrund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear TripAdvisor member:

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa as your holiday destination. It is a real pleasure to learn that you are enjoying a nice time together with us.

We wish to continue providing the best of our personnel hospitality, the quality of our services and facilities, and offer you an great experience at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Samana.

Greetings,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samana Province
13.5 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
4.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
4.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don Pablo Collection
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don...
#2 of 60 in Samana Province
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
65.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#61 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,068 reviews
59.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe San Juan
65.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Address: Loma Puerto Escondido s/n, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Samana Province
#6 Spa Hotel in Samana Province
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Samana Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services: Main pool with Jacuzzi surrounded by a sun terrace 3 beachside hydromassage tubs Loungers, sun umbrellas and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Water activity centre WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) Wedding gazebo Buffet-style main restaurant and 3 speciality restaurants 4 bars, cocktail lounge, chill out zone, 1 snack bar Sports facilities: gym Pueblo Principe: Shopping and leisure mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars and disco. Rooms: 295 rooms including 4 types: Standard, Standard with Sea View, Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, hair dryer and magnifying mirror. Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) Terrace WiFi (no additional charge) Junior Suite: sitting area, sofa-bed and ironing set Club Golden Junior Suites (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Park Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Bus stop opposite the hotel Auditorium for corporate meetings Panoramic lifts Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Cayacoa Hotel
Gran Bahia Principe Cayacoa Samana
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa Dominican Republic/Samana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing