We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Ranked #6 of 54 Hotels in Samana Province
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2013

It is quite large resort, but u can use the buggys to get about, its nice to use the different pool areas, each has a bar and the one with 3 has the day time snacks.
The beach is cleaned constantly, the water is like a bath and crystal clear, we always found sun loungers, the bar has under cover seating to relax out of the sun.
The food was very good, plenty to choose from even for me, as I have to be gluten free, the drinks were never shy on alcohol.
The evenings could be spent on the terrace, with good music and when the shows weren't on the animation team dance with people that want to, but they are nor too pushy, very nice team.
Internet wad not very good and only available in reception, but not being online actually helped us relax more.
All in all I have no complaints with the hotel,

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kt2tk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again and continue providing a really good vacation in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Greetings,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,952)
There are newer reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,462 - 1,468 of 3,952 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

Our problems began from the first night we arrived. We encountered an extremely rude front desk clerk "Nary". Anyway we checked in eventually they told us to leave our bags they will drop it to our room, which they did not they dropped it at the front of the building while we carried it ourselves to the 3rd floor. Some staff members had a colonial mentality- major turn off. Spoke to front desk manager ALBIS about the issue who initially seemed very concerned about the matter. We saw a difference in staff attitude after the meeting. Honestly lacked integrity and failed in other areas was very disappointed with her conduct.
For a 4.5 star hotel service was bordering on mediocre at best. Main buffet food was lackluster/boring and repetitious- same food daily. This property is primarily for older folks- 60 and above. Very little activities to do.
Several of us got food poisoning from the Gourmet restaurant, will not go back nor will I recommend to this property. Was not happy with this vacation, staff, food or service. Great scenery though.

Room Tip: Don't expect too much.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Spent Oct7 - 21 in one of the villas.
Unbelievable views.
Almost over-staffed. Incredibly attentive and prompt.
Very clean. Good food selections and quality. Liked that it is adults only.
Great friendly atmosphere at swim-up bar.
Guests were probably about 50% Brit and 30% Canadian (20% other).
Brits all came for minimum 2 weeks and most said they would return.
My sixth trip to DR and this is definitely my favourite spot so far.

Room Tip: Lot of stairs from villas to hotel proper. A shuttle runs fairly often. Or stay in the hotel section...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Dear Terry,

We would like to thank you for letting us know about your recent experience in our hotel .

We are glad that you have enjoyed all our facilities, views and services during your visit with us.

We hope to welcome you again to Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Samana.

Greetings,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

A enjoyable stay at the Grand Bahia Principe . Would definitely recommend to a friend. Just don't be put off by the "not too friendly" reception staff, everyone else in the hotel is lovely. Food is second to none in the buffet dining with a lovely selection of very tasty foods. The staff simply can't do enough for you and are always eager to help.

Room Tip: The upgraded rooms are a nice touch but be prepared to get the shuttle service from your room to the...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jimark2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Jimark,

Dear TripAdvisor member:

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed an excellent holiday. Thank you for your comments about the lovely clean and friendly staff.

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Enjoy an all-inclusive holiday as a couple with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts

Greetinsg,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I have now stayed here three times over the last two years. I travel to Samana for work and this is the most convenient and nicest hotel in the City. I skewered this hotel on Trip Advisor the first time I visited. There were numerous problems and poor staff response. This time, things have much improved. There is now decent wifi accessible in many rooms. The staff ( with the exception of the front desk) are excellent, and overall there were fewer problems. Food in the hotel is not gourmet but is great for its variety. Even the liquor selection has improved. Be aware that this is a hotel set up for vacationers who want to sit by the pool and listen to loud pool side games, which can be obnoxious if you are not part of the party. However, there are other places you can escape to if pool side bingo does not make you happy.

Room Tip: The rooms higher up are quieter.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Returned October 28th from a one week stay at this gorgeous resort. Stayed in the Royal Golden Suite Villas building 33. Would have preferred 31 for the overall view, but the suite was extremely clean and well kept and large. Fridge stocked everyday with water, beer and soft drinks. We did tip our maid on a daily basis and on our last day left her a small gift. Which she thought was something we had forgot and came running out with it to us....such an honest woman. All of the hotel staff were wonderful. Never had a problem with any of the staff. We spent most of our time during the day at the Jacuzzi pool as it was close to our suite. We did eat most of our lunches at the pool bar/buffet at the Jacuzzi pool. It had a good enough variety for lunch. Did go to the main beach via the elevator. Beach was clean and there were plenty of lounges available. Even managed to get a cabana one afternoon!! Did use the shuttle service which when we called was at the villa within minutes to take us to the main building. Ate breakfast 5 times and dinner 3 times at the main buffet. Great selection of food. And varied day to day. Dinners at the a la carte restaurants - enjoyed the gourmet and seafood (twice). Had the surf and turf both times. Was delicious. The Italian was a little disappointing, although my husband thoroughly enjoyed his meal there. The views from this resort are amazing. The other tourists we met were all very friendly and everyone seemed to be having a wonderful vacation. We thoroughly enjoyed our vacation. Was our first trip to Dominican Republic. Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa did not disappoint. Adults only resort too boot!! So glad we went. Would go back in a minute....

Room Tip: Would not recommend rooms in the main building on level 1 or 2. Royal Golden Suites were great. La...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lynn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Lynn,

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa as your holiday destination. It is a real pleasure to learn that you are enjoying a nice time together with us.

We wish to continue providing the best of our personnel hospitality, the quality of our services and facilities, and offer you an great experience at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Samana.

Greetings,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Nice location , good food ,nice clean beach but small .If you bored you can take the trip to the city .I will recommend zip line experience with the swim in the waterfall and checking the local produce.

Room Tip: always top floors
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexP657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Dear Alex,

We greatly appreciate that you have chosen Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa as your holiday destination. It is a real pleasure to learn that you are enjoying a nice time together with us.

We wish to continue providing the best of our personnel hospitality, the quality of our services and facilities, and offer you an great experience at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Samana.

Greetings,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Greetings,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samana Province
13.5 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
4.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don Pablo Collection
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don...
#1 of 54 in Samana Province
881 reviews
4.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Samana
Viva Wyndham V Samana
#4 of 35 in Las Terrenas
805 reviews
11.7 mi away
Grand Paradise Samana
Grand Paradise Samana
#4 of 4 in Las Galeras
3,722 reviews
59.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe San Juan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Address: Loma Puerto Escondido s/n, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Samana Province
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Samana Province
#6 Spa Hotel in Samana Province
Price Range: £81 - £329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services: Main pool with Jacuzzi surrounded by a sun terrace 3 beachside hydromassage tubs Loungers, sun umbrellas and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Water activity centre WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) Wedding gazebo Buffet-style main restaurant and 3 speciality restaurants 4 bars, cocktail lounge, chill out zone, 1 snack bar Sports facilities: gym Pueblo Principe: Shopping and leisure mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars and disco. Rooms: 295 rooms including 4 types: Standard, Standard with Sea View, Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, hair dryer and magnifying mirror. Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) Terrace WiFi (additional charge) Junior Suite: sitting area, sofa-bed and ironing set Club Golden Junior Suites (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Park Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Bus stop opposite the hotel Auditorium for corporate meetings Panoramic lifts Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Cayacoa Hotel
Gran Bahia Principe Cayacoa Samana
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa Dominican Republic/Samana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing