We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Samana Province
Certificate of Excellence
Hayle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed here from 25th October to 7th November and found it amazing, and so hot. 38 degrees most days! We did have a little rain but it always stop after ten minutes or so and lots of people still stay in the pool!

We stayed in the main hotel and had a brilliant view of the smaller beach in front of the jacuzzi pool. The room was lovely, and the air conditioning worked brilliantly!

The food was good, always varied but can get a little repetitive. The Chinese night was the best, the sushi looked amazing.

The animation team were the highlight of our trip. Joan is hilarious, always making people laugh, dance, chat, whatever, you can tell he really loves his job and is very keen to make sure everyone is happy. We loved him! Daisy is fun too with a good sense of humour.

We would defiantly return to the Cayacoa, in fact we are already making plans to come in the whale season as you can see the whales from your room.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 5th floor, brilliant views and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tan S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Tan,

Thank you so much for taking your time to write this nice review about our hotel!

We are really glad to see that you have enjoyed the activities, the lovely room and the Chinese night.

Also, we appreciate your compliments to our staff, as it is due to their effort and dedication that we are able to accomplish our goal - the total satisfaction of our guest. We are delighted to share your comments with Joan, Daisy and animation team.

We really hope to consider coming back to Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Samana

Greetings,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,935
    1,288
    402
    126
    77
See reviews for
681
2,197
112
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,118)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

My husband and I just returned yesterday and would definitely return. We stayed in the main hotel with an ocean view room, which was kept clean and stocked with beer pop and water daily, beautiful flowers on our bed were a nice touch. The food in the buffet was varied and delicious, you simply couldn't try it all, we are also weight concious and found many choices. The gym was a great way to start the day with two ellipticalles, one treadmill, three bikes and various weights, music and not busy..we also loved the many opportunities for walking, stairs to beach although you can take the elevator, walk to town although there is an hourly shuttle etc. the beach was clean and so beautiful to swim in, you could even see fish swim around you, always beach chairs and even cabanas available...a beach bar and self serve water and juice. The main pool is lively with a swim up bar and very yummy drinks, and again always some available beach chairs, towels could be exchanged often. The gourmet and seafood were delicious and wonderful ambience, the Italian just ok, somehow pasta is not their strongpoint but still somewhat nice. The terrace was nice to enjoy the music and some dancing, Spanish coffees are yummy. The rincon excursion was a great day out as well as the boat and snorkelling to Bacardi island.
All staff were so helpful, from check in with the welcome cocktail, to check out. Many languages here, we even learned some Spanish!
We are not sure why anyone would complain about this resort as we felt like we were in paradise!!!!

Room Tip: Room 428 was perfect:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank christina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Christina,

Thank you for your nice review. It is wonderful when we see that our guests have enjoyed their stay in our hotel and we appreciate to know that you felt delighted with the general services, the food and the staff friendliness.

We are thrilled to know that you will come back to us soon and cannot wait to see you again in our Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, a 5 star experience in Samana

Greetings,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Thank You Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Dadys Jose Santo Claudo Carlos Wanda xo
Evelyn pool bar xo
Manuel Victor Dario Christopher xo
Joel Air Canada Rep xo

Hotel beautiful clean rooms with a view of bay or city, location amazing 2 small beaches that are kept clean. Food is good always find something. Gourmet restaurants great!!!!!!!!!!!. Bars have a good variety of drinks. Afternoon bingo,dance lessons,games, at pool great fun. Swim up bar Evelyn xo great bartender.
Until next time Thank You 4th time

Room Tip: 4th time all rooms have a view of bay or town and are clean beds are good pillows are good we have h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Lorraine,

We would like to thank you for taking your valued time to share your experience in our beautiful Hotel.

Also, we appreciate your compliments to our staff, as it is due to their effort and dedication that we are able to accomplish our goal - the total satisfaction of our guest. We are delighted to share your comments with Dadys, Jose,Santo, Claudio, Carlos, Wanda, Evelyn, Manuel, Victor, Dario and Christopher.

We are looking forward to welcome you once again in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Samana,

Greetings,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
140 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

It is quite large resort, but u can use the buggys to get about, its nice to use the different pool areas, each has a bar and the one with 3 has the day time snacks.
The beach is cleaned constantly, the water is like a bath and crystal clear, we always found sun loungers, the bar has under cover seating to relax out of the sun.
The food was very good, plenty to choose from even for me, as I have to be gluten free, the drinks were never shy on alcohol.
The evenings could be spent on the terrace, with good music and when the shows weren't on the animation team dance with people that want to, but they are nor too pushy, very nice team.
Internet wad not very good and only available in reception, but not being online actually helped us relax more.
All in all I have no complaints with the hotel,

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kt2tk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa. We sincerely appreciate all feedback.

We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again and continue providing a really good vacation in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Greetings,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

Our problems began from the first night we arrived. We encountered an extremely rude front desk clerk "Nary". Anyway we checked in eventually they told us to leave our bags they will drop it to our room, which they did not they dropped it at the front of the building while we carried it ourselves to the 3rd floor. Some staff members had a colonial mentality- major turn off. Spoke to front desk manager ALBIS about the issue who initially seemed very concerned about the matter. We saw a difference in staff attitude after the meeting. Honestly lacked integrity and failed in other areas was very disappointed with her conduct.
For a 4.5 star hotel service was bordering on mediocre at best. Main buffet food was lackluster/boring and repetitious- same food daily. This property is primarily for older folks- 60 and above. Very little activities to do.
Several of us got food poisoning from the Gourmet restaurant, will not go back nor will I recommend to this property. Was not happy with this vacation, staff, food or service. Great scenery though.

Room Tip: Don't expect too much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Spent Oct7 - 21 in one of the villas.
Unbelievable views.
Almost over-staffed. Incredibly attentive and prompt.
Very clean. Good food selections and quality. Liked that it is adults only.
Great friendly atmosphere at swim-up bar.
Guests were probably about 50% Brit and 30% Canadian (20% other).
Brits all came for minimum 2 weeks and most said they would return.
My sixth trip to DR and this is definitely my favourite spot so far.

Room Tip: Lot of stairs from villas to hotel proper. A shuttle runs fairly often. Or stay in the hotel section...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Terry,

We would like to thank you for letting us know about your recent experience in our hotel .

We are glad that you have enjoyed all our facilities, views and services during your visit with us.

We hope to welcome you again to Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Samana.

Greetings,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

A enjoyable stay at the Grand Bahia Principe . Would definitely recommend to a friend. Just don't be put off by the "not too friendly" reception staff, everyone else in the hotel is lovely. Food is second to none in the buffet dining with a lovely selection of very tasty foods. The staff simply can't do enough for you and are always eager to help.

Room Tip: The upgraded rooms are a nice touch but be prepared to get the shuttle service from your room to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimark2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Jimark,

Dear TripAdvisor member:

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed an excellent holiday. Thank you for your comments about the lovely clean and friendly staff.

Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Enjoy an all-inclusive holiday as a couple with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts

Greetinsg,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samana Province
13.5 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
4.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
4.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don Pablo Collection
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don...
#2 of 60 in Samana Province
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
65.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#62 of 110 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
59.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe San Juan
65.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Address: Loma Puerto Escondido s/n, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Samana Province
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Samana Province
#6 Spa Hotel in Samana Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services: Main pool with Jacuzzi surrounded by a sun terrace 3 beachside hydromassage tubs Loungers, sun umbrellas and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Water activity centre WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) Wedding gazebo Buffet-style main restaurant and 3 speciality restaurants 4 bars, cocktail lounge, chill out zone, 1 snack bar Sports facilities: gym Pueblo Principe: Shopping and leisure mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars and disco. Rooms: 295 rooms including 4 types: Standard, Standard with Sea View, Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, hair dryer and magnifying mirror. Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) Terrace WiFi (no additional charge) Junior Suite: sitting area, sofa-bed and ironing set Club Golden Junior Suites (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Park Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Bus stop opposite the hotel Auditorium for corporate meetings Panoramic lifts Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Cayacoa Hotel
Gran Bahia Principe Cayacoa Samana
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa Dominican Republic/Samana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing