We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Samana Province
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

What an amazing place. The food, staff, weather were excellent. It was our first time to Samana and I would go back in a heart beat. We went with a group of 23 people. There is alot of stairs but there is trolleys and elevators if you need them. I didn't find the stairs a problem. The elevator down to the beach is neat. We spent a day at the beach but topically we were at the pool. I don't have one complaint.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LynseyM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear LynseyM,

We would like to thank you for letting us know about your recent experience in our hotel .

We are glad that you have enjoyed all our facilities, views and services during your visit with us.

We hope to welcome you again to Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Samana.

Greetings,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,975
    1,310
    413
    128
    79
See reviews for
702
2,238
116
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,135)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This is an amazing place and we WILL be going back there. All amenities and facilities are fantastic and a real credit to all the staff who work hard to keep you relaxed and welcome. The lower pool/ jacuzzi area and the trips are well worth the money. This one destination that exceeds expectation

Room Tip: Any room will do
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bradders53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Bradders53,

Thank you very much for choosing our Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa as your holiday destination and for reviewing your recent experience with us.

We look forward to welcome you back.

Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Greetings,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I, my wife and my son, all adults spent 7 days from 4 th of November to 11th pm in your fabulous hotel. Food & wine in the buffet and other restaurants we visited were excellent. Service, dress uniforms of employees, cleanliness, atmosphere & attitude were all matched and complimented the high standards expected of your hotel. At times though some could not understand English, this in no way hampered the service offered. All your stewards & Supervisors/Managers, Front Office staff, House keeping ladies were all very courteous. One comment to improve on your level of service: though we were booked in as a triple vacancy room, there were only two beers and two soft drinks each day that were replenished, which should have been three. Same with the tea supply and there were only two cups/saucers, in spite of our requesting for three on discovery of this lapse, which I attribute to probably difficulty of communication in English for your staff. But I must stress that a simple overlook of this sort should not be allowed.

In the standing shower bathroom, doors do not run to the bottom or no barricade at the bottom, allowing water to escape out side and making a mess, which could be prevented by a simple solution of at least building a barricade at the bottom. Providing a curtain to the main shower in the tub, similarly could prevent water spreading all over in the bath room, avoiding a slip & fall.

Your animation team was superb and they kept us occupied and providing fun a great deal. I am sure all guests would agree with that. Your activity schedule was excellent too and keep it up and improve based on the feed back.

We would like to mention specifically Julian, Carlos, Caroline, Veronica, Christine and the whole team including supervisors & announcers of the animation team and Nery & Marcos of the Front Office for their excellent performance & wish them well. They would be an asset to any competitor, so look after then well. I wish you add more English content to the night show as most visitors would understand English. Wish you all the very Best!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lahiru H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Lahiru,

Thank you so much for such good opinion about our hotel, we really appreciate it.

We are so happy that you have enjoyed all our services and facilities during your stay in our hotel. This definitely strengthens our philosophy of seeking the highest level of service excellence, thanks to an arduous team’s work and the devotion and commitment of each member of our staff. We are delighted to share your comments with Julian, Carlos, Caroline, Veronica, Christine, Marcos and Nery.

We hope to welcome you once again in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Samana.

Greetings,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

From the time we landed in Samana it was awesome, out tour bus pointed us in the right direction to pick up envelopes in our names. They are so organized that all the info and our room number was in the envelope. After the bus left the airport our tour representative for Air Canada provided us with the details of the resort and area. Usually this would of been done the next morning my husband and I loved this idea. Its better then waiting for a few hours in the lobby when you are hot and tired from your traveling.
The help in every area of the resort were friendly, knowledgeable, spoke very good English, they were wonderful staff. Please pass on our greatest thanks.
The rooms were always clean and our bar well stocked. The food was fantastic, and we enjoyed the Halloween night with the buffet and show. Your staff works long hours to give us excellent service and lots of fun.
The beach area and the balance of the whole resort was remarkable. We have been travelling since 1996 2-3 times per year and we are rating this our number one resort. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bmwarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Bmwarner,

First of all thank you for chosing us as your holiday destination. We really appreciate you taking the time to post some valuable comments about your stay with us.

Second, we are so happy that you have enjoyed all our views,services and facilities during your stay in our hotel. This definitely strengthens our philosophy of seeking the highest level of service excellence, thanks to an arduous team’s work and the devotion and commitment of each member of our staff.

We really hope to consider coming back to Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Samana.


Greetings,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sudbury
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

just returned from 7 days at this resort. We had a great time. The staff at this resort are fantastic! The resort is beautiful and the views are amazing. yes there are lots of stairs but there is also a shuttle if and when you need one. The food was good in the buffet as well as the restaurants ( except Gourmet) left and went to the Buffet. The ride in to town is only 5 min by shuttle. Yes the vendors are aggressive (to be expected) but walk away if not interested and they leave you alone.
Would highly recommend this resort to anyone...But based on the weather in the DR I think we will be returning to Mexico! One thing i will add is that when we booked through our Travel Agent we were under the impression the Royal Golden suites were the Privilege Section...they aren't . .FYI.

Room Tip: royal golden suites have amazing view of the ocean.and very spacious...Section 32
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cjmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear,

Thank you so much for taking your time to write this nice and detailed review about our hotel!

We really appreciate your comments because we want to be better everyday and work to satisfy our guest needs and we hare so happy, because we did it with you.

We hope to welcome you again to Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Greetings,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Gran Bahia Principe Cayacoa was my first resort getaway, and I like it so much that I went a second time. I travelled in February 2010 and again in September 2010. Should have posted this before. The hotel itself is a beauty. The natural setting, atop a cliff and overlooking Samana Bay and the town of Samana means that there are spectacular views all around. I travelled on my own and was welcomed by all staff and treated really well. Food was varied and very good overall. Especially loved the fresh cinnamon-sugar churros at breakfast. Nice, clean relaxing beach. Loved the bridge to nowhere. Spectacular views from everywhere in the resort. An easy walk into the town of Samana which was nice because I got to see a bit of local life as well and I felt very safe. Recommend highly. A number of reviewers noted hard pillows and beds. I did not experience this and was very comfortable. Some guest complained about watery drinks, but again, since I wasn't there to get drunk, I thought they were good, especially Angel's piña coladas. Tip: get US $1 bills, say $50 per week of your stay and tip, tip tip, including cleaners and grounds people, waiters and waitresses. They knock themselves out for you and a little support goes a long way.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor in the main building: this will mean less travel time to buffet, beach and re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Saloni N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Saloni,

First of all thank you for chosing us as your holiday destination twince. We really appreciate you taking the time to post some valuable comments about your stay with us.

It is for guests like you who send us some nice, inspiring words after their holiday, that our personal finds every day the motivation and energy to keep on the good work. We are very happy that you appreciated the service and personal attention of the employees.

We really hope to consider coming back to Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Samana


Greetings,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Just returned from this lovely property. Service was great, food very good, and rooms clean. Resort property and views are very pretty. There can be quite a bit of walking, but only if you choose. Shuttles are quite prompt, when requested. Weather was very hot, but lots of room in pool, and at the beach. No need to go out at 6:00 a.m. to reserve pool loungers. The loungers are of good quality, with cushions, so no sore back! I would definitely recommend this resort to friends. Management was very interested in your feedback, and obviously care about customer service. Cheers to Evelyn at pool bar and Joan from activities team. All employees were very pleasant.

Room Tip: Don't know if there are any rooms with a poor view? We were on 3rd floor, facing courtyard and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RelaxedMom99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Relaxingmom99,

We would like to thank you for taking your valued time to share your experience in our beautiful Hotel.

Also, we appreciate your compliments to our staff, as it is due to their effort and dedication that we are able to accomplish our goal - the total satisfaction of our guest. We are delighted to share your comments with Joan and Evelyn. We are so happy that you have enjoyed the views, services and facilities during your holidays.

We are looking forward to welcome you once again in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Samana,

Greetings,
Albis Corredor
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samana Province
13.5 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
4.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
4.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don Pablo Collection
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don...
#1 of 53 in Samana Province
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham V Samana
Viva Wyndham V Samana
#4 of 34 in Las Terrenas
771 reviews
59.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe San Juan
11.7 mi away
Grand Paradise Samana
Grand Paradise Samana
#4 of 4 in Las Galeras
3,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Address: Loma Puerto Escondido s/n, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Samana Province
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Samana Province
#6 Spa Hotel in Samana Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services: Main pool with Jacuzzi surrounded by a sun terrace 3 beachside hydromassage tubs Loungers, sun umbrellas and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Water activity centre WiFi access in the lobby (24h per day free of charge) Wedding gazebo Buffet-style main restaurant and 3 speciality restaurants 4 bars, cocktail lounge, chill out zone, 1 snack bar Sports facilities: gym Pueblo Principe: Shopping and leisure mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars and disco. Rooms: 295 rooms including 4 types: Standard, Standard with Sea View, Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, hair dryer and magnifying mirror. Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) Terrace WiFi (additional charge) Junior Suite: sitting area, sofa-bed and ironing set Club Golden Junior Suites (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Park Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Bus stop opposite the hotel Auditorium for corporate meetings Panoramic lifts Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Cayacoa Hotel
Gran Bahia Principe Cayacoa Samana
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa Dominican Republic/Samana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing