We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful, quiet and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Samana Province
Certificate of Excellence
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“beautiful, quiet and relaxing”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My husband and I travelled here in March and absolutely loved the surroundings. The water is gorgeous albeit a little littered with garbage, but the staff did do their best to clean it up the best they could. The restaurants were fabulous and the food was excellent. The staff was friendly and always smiling. The bar service at the pool could have been friendlier but all in all was ok. This is a resort on a hillside so if stairs are an issue I would request that you be in the central building. The town itself is quite small and there is not a lot to do - we walked around and saw everything in under an hour taking the hotel shuttle bus that runs on the hour. We also did an excursion to Ricon Beach and this is a must see - the sand is just gorgeous and the water so blue.

The only thing we can really complain about was that the beds were rock hard and by the end of the week we were having some back pain. We would definitely come back to this location.

Room Tip: LOTS of stairs so if that is an issue choose a room in the central building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nadean o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
Dear Huesped ,

Thank you for sharing your comments with our TripAdvisor members, we believe they will be motivated to visit us thanks to all feed backs.

We would like to express our gratitude for these nice words that you have shared and also for appreciate the excellent services and facilities our Hotel offers. Your review help us to improve and raise some our services.

We look forward to your return to Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Samana.

Greetings,
Lizairi Then
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,947
    1,301
    407
    127
    78
See reviews for
691
2,216
112
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,126)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I was at the Grand Bahia Cayacoa for a week (June 21 - 28) with my wife. This was her first trip to the Dominican and the hotel manager had arranged a special gift for her in our room, along with a bottle of champagne to celebrate our 11th anniversary as well! We were very surprised and happy with that. The resort is very clean, spotless really with staff being very pleasant and helpful in all areas. We had no troubles getting to the resort from the airport (45 minutes) and our room was ready when we got there. Our room had a magnificent view of the ocean (worth the extra $$) on the 5th floor of the hotel. As others have mentioned, the beach is a little cloudy because it works up the sand usually around lunch and into the afternoon. The mornings were clear water though.

The pool was fine, but it was very warm, almost like a bath. One issue is that the pool closes at 7:00pm and the pool bar closes at 6:00pm. This seems early to me and actually there were several times when there was a lot of people still at the pool when they closed it. The sitting area outside the main bar was very nice and stayed open until 11:30. We thought that they should keep the party going out there (music, dancing) instead of moving to the Disco because honestly, the Disco wasn't very good. They played mostly caribbean music even when we asked the DJ (who was sleeping most of the time) to switch to something else. There was never more than 4 or 5 people in the Disco.

The shops and everything else on the grounds were fine, typical of this type of resort. We also went to the "sales pitch" to upgrade to the Privilege level of resort membership in order to get the 2 free massages. It was TOTALLY WORTH IT. The spa is amazing, relaxing and beautiful. Even if we didn't have the free certificates, we would have wanted to spend money to attend the Spa.

As for excursions, we went to the island resort (I forget the name) which is about a 10 minute boat ride. We used snorkelling equipment there and it was breathtaking. Highly recommend going, the water was crystal clear and the beach was immaculate. One down side was that when we first arrived with another couple, a local man approached us to say that to use any of the chairs it costs $2. We declined and he soon left the area.

The other excursion we did was the Safari and Rincon beach which was amazing. All friendly people, fun on the open air jeep, free drinks and an amazing lobster lunch. The beach was just as good, if not better, than the one on the island. Totally worth the time and money. If we had more time we would have also gone to the national park which we heard was amazing. One of the excursions was to see a waterfall but we heard from one couple that after spending 3 hours getting there, the water fall did not have any water falling! If you want to go on that one, make sure you check first!

We did not go into the city however there is a shuttle every 15 minutes or so and many people did go. No issues with the locals or any safety concerns. Everyone was very nice and pleasant to deal with.

Oh, the food! The buffet was AMAZING, the food was fresh and there was a lot of variety. Each meal was slightly different and the Friday Gala was awesome. Each restaurant (ala carte) was fine but nothing really that amazing. I would almost have rather just went to the buffet for the 3 nights we got reservations. The Mediterranean was the best of the three though.

We did not go to any of the shows as we preferred to stay out in the sitting area near the main bar and watch the lights of the town and listen to music. Very relaxing.

Overall, amazing adventure for us and we will be sure to go again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for an Ocean view room and ask for the 5th floor. The view is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
Dear Alan ,

First of all we would like to thank you for your nice comments about your stay with us and we hope that you have had a nice trip back home.

We really appreciate your nice comments regarding our hotel, rooms and services and even more the ones regarding our staff! All them will be so happy to hear the nice words that you have for them! we are aware that it is only because of them that we are able to achieve our goal- the continuous improvement of our services

We hope to welcome you again at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Samana for next vacation ever!

Greetings,
Lizairi Then
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I was at the Grand Bahia Cayacoa for a week from the 22 of June to the 29th 2014 with my sister. Our flight was about 4.5 hours from Toronto to Samana. The hotel is beautiful and the staff remarkable. One downside was that on arrival to the hotel, our room was not ready and we had to wait about 2 hours for our rooms to be ready. Those 2 hours flew right by though, as we toured the hotel, took pictures and took in the views. Once we reached our room it was worth the wait. The rooms were so clean, cool and neat. During the week we stayed there, our room was cleaned twice a day while we were out and the cleaning staff always made it a point to leave us little surprises in our room upon return. The front desk was readily available to answer all our questions and concerns(we had a lot of questions). One staff member that stood out at the front desk was Gerdison. He knew exactly where everything was and helped us to the best of his ability. He always made it a point to greet us everyday with a smile. Another staff member who stood out in the lobby was Ricardo who is the night manager of the hotel. Ricardo's customer service was exceptional also. Free wifi is made available to the guests for one hour per day and if you need more there are rates for duration times.
The food on this resort was good. It is served buffet style for breakfast, lunch, dinner and if you get hungry in between meals there is a snack bar that is open for your snacking needs. The waiters and waitresses serve you in a timely fashion and are very pleasant(Yiessel and Marielba stood out). If you go to this hotel as an all inclusive trip you are allowed three free a la carte dinners at the resort. There is an Italian restaurant, a Mediterranean restaurant and a seafood restaurant to choose from. My sister and I went to all three. The food portioning depending on what you get is small as they are going for a more upscale feel.
On the resort there are lots of activities to keep you entertained. During the day most of the activities are done by the pool till about 6pm. Then there is dancing on the terrace at 7:30pm and then there is a show at 9:45pm everyday (the shows are different each night). The animation staff is great, they were all pleasant. Some people who stood out were: Fernando, Antonio, Raymundo, Carlito, Louisa and Carlos.
The bar was great unlimited drinks were served and the staff once again were great. During our Stay Dario stood out as our favourite Bartender.
There isn't a lot of night life at the resort but the most popular club was in the city of Samana and the hotel provides a shuttle to and from the city every hour. The club is called the Blue Lagoon.
The weather at the resort during our stay was great. we had sunny skies everyday and it was really hot. it drizzled a little bit in the evenings but that was about it.
Over all My sister and I enjoyed our stay and do plan on returning to this resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this review, 8 October 2014
Dear Michelle ,

First let me inform you that your opinion is valuable to us, therefore we are extremely proud and happy for having left a pleasant memory. We are especially appreciating your positive comments about the quality of our service and our staff. Comments like that you send us, are what motivate us as a team every day to improve the quality of service we offer.

We hope to welcome you again to Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels in Samana.

Greetings,
Lizairi Then
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Val-des-Monts, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Returned yesterday (June 30) from a wonderful week of vacation at this resort. Excellent food even at the buffet. Stayed in Royal Golden Villa Section - great suite with a sea view. The view is amazing everywhere on the resort. Not recommended for people who hate climbing stairs although you could always call for the shuttle to pick you up. I would definitely return to this resort the only cloud to my vacation is the fact that even though we were in the Royal Golden section some of the premium drinks ex. Bombay Sapphire Gin was not included I think management should reconsider this. The staff were extraordinary and always happy to help and serve you.

Room Tip: Stay in the high rise hotel if you do not want to climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Line L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this review, 8 October 2014
Dear Line ,

First of all we want to thank you for the nice reviews.

As a company dedicated to the total satisfaction of our guests, we provide the most value to your opinion, in order to remain in a line of constant improvement. Our goal is not only to satisfy guests' needs, but also exceed their expectations and anticipate their desires.

This is why we are extremely proud and happy for having left you a pleasant memory.

Greetings,
Lizairi Then
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Returned from my second stay June 28. I did not review the first visit.

Great weather for 7 days, no rain, hot, sunny with a great breeze, perfect Samana weather.

I highly recommend the excursions to Playa Rincon (safari) and the national park. Well worth it. I took them 3 times.

The idea here is to help people choose. This for me is not a deal breaker but I should mention it for others. If you are a 7 day a week "on the beach" person, although the beach is very clean, it is small and not your typical Punta Cana turquoise ocean beach. The Cayacoa beach has a cute beach bar, I did have a few drinks there :) THE place to spend your time here, relax and take in the breathtaking views is at the main pool. Bring sunscreen as there is little shade at most of the pool from sunup to about 1:30/2:00 PM. Activities all day long at the pool, never boring but you can still relax if that's all you want to do.

What can I say? This is a beautiful, magical resort. Down each path, around every corner is a breathtaking view. I've stayed at Cayo Levantrado and El Portillo and in my opinion Cayacoa is the best resort in Samana. The buffet food is absolutely amazing. The variety is great, everything is fresh an delicious. They have a great imagination in the dishes they prepare. My room was great, fouth floor on the corner facing Cayo Levantado with a side view on the beautiful pool area. I watched every sunrise from my balcony. The staff, from the gardeners to the cleaners to the managers, speaking English, French or not, they all smile and do what they can to help you. Beautiful hard working people, all of them, thank you. You really do feel like family on this resort. I was alone on this trip but already spoke to the wife and we will go together this November, I can't wait ! Keep up the great work at Cayacoa, truly a wonderful FIVE star resort in my eyes. GRACIAS !

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor with an ocean view or view of Samana in the main building, breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maestro2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
Dear Huesped ,

Thank you so much for such good opinion about our Hotel, we really appreciate it.

We are so happy that you have enjoyed all our services and facilities during your stay in our hotel. This definitely strengthens our philosophy of seeking the highest level of service excellence, thanks to an arduous team’s work and the devotion and commitment of each member of our staff. We are delighted to share your comments with all of them.

We hope to welcome you once again in Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, your best hotel in Samana.

Greetings,
Lizairi Then
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Just got back after 2 weeks at this hotel, first ,staff are great. Hotel very nice, location ok but beware after a 9 Hr flight you have a 4 Hr transfer. you loose a day going and coming back, the food isn't very nice not for the British palate. The beach is not a blue flag beach and has a problem with die from clay deposits just offshore and is very small. Another problem I found was they allowed the locals in at weekends, they were very loud and had lots of children in toe Try and find a table at mealtimes when this happens, Will not make this mistake again and take notice of other peoples reviews Esp From Canada and the US. sorry guys but I think you got this one wrong, I should have gone to Bavaro.

Room Tip: Any room you still get a sea veaw
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jab2010_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
Dear Huesped ,

Thank you for taking the time in writing us a review of your stay in our TripAdvisor community as we put a great interest in our clients comments as their perceptions are the most important to us as this is the only way to know what specific points we must focus our attention.

After we carefully have read this review, we truly express our sincere apologies for the inconvenience that you have had to deal with. It is not definitely the image that we wish to project, nor does it fit in the general pleasant atmosphere of our hotel. We are vey concerned about your impressions and we sincerely do not want you to keep a bad memory of us

We are in the business to bring an enjoyable and unforgettable experience to all our clients. We sincerely would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again to experience the hospitality of our people, the quality of our services and facilities and change any negative perception you may have about us.

Greetings,
Lizairi Then
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

I came here for 2 weeks 01-16th June. 8.5hour flight from Gatwick north terminal. Nice flight here, television and games on the flight and yummy food served. You land in Puerto Plata and once arrived there you get on a coach which takes around 3.5/4hours to get to your hotel. We stopped about 2 hours in for a drink toilet break and then back on the road to the hotel. When arrived we were greeted with welcome drinks which I will say were Amazing! The room we had was 322, it was lovely. We had a beautiful view of the sea every day which was lovely. The room was huge and likewise the bed. Amazingly clean, the cleaners were brilliant. Fresh towels, flowers left in our room, and our fridge topped up every day! Staff in the hotel were very friendly made you feel at home. And they even put the England game on for us to watch! :) The food in the main restaurant is buffet all you can eat for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast was 7-10:30am, lunch was 1-3 and dinner was 7-10. There is 3 al'carte restaurants, gourmet, Italian and fish. The Italian is lovely! However do book in advance! The main pool is amazing with a swim up bar, and Ronnie the bar man was so friendly! There are games around the pool daily and fresh towels provided. Then the lift down to the beach which was kept very clean, and to top it off the jacuzzi pools which were lovely to relax around! I have no fault with the hotel what so ever and would recommend 100% if you are looking for a relaxing holiday around the pool and beach with 33+ degree heat! Only bad view is Samana town - approached straight away as you get off the bus, and then not left alone by shop owners, they're very rude and intimidating which makes it horrible to go down into town. The location really does put a downer on the hotel however did not ruin our holiday. I would recommend take US Dollars as around the complex this is the currency used however Domincan Peso is taken too. But you need dollars for entering the country and also exiting but use Peso around Samana town as this is the currency they use, so you may find yourself being ripped off big time by their dodgy exchange rate! All in all, beautiful hotel, amazing friendly staff and lovely weather with amazing views! :)

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Lauren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
División Cuarto... B, Public Relations Manager at Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa, responded to this review, 9 October 2014
Dear Lauren ,

Firstly, we are very grateful you have taken the time to express your views in our Trip advisor community. The reviews help us to improve and raise our services as well as it will be really helpful for other guests that would like to spend their holidays with us, and we really thank you for it.

It is a real pleasure to us to get your comments. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed all our facilities and services during your visit with us.

We will be looking forward to welcoming you back at Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts, all-inclusive hotels for your holidays in the Dominican Republic.

Greetings,
Lizairi Then
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samana Province
13.5 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe El Portillo
4.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Cayo Levantado Don Pablo Collection
4.5 mi away
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don Pablo Collection
Luxury Bahia Principe Samana Don...
#1 of 60 in Samana Province
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
65.7 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
Grand Bahia Principe Turquesa
#60 of 111 in Punta Cana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,105 reviews
59.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe San Juan
65.9 mi away
Grand Bahia Principe Punta Cana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa

Property: Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa
Address: Loma Puerto Escondido s/n, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Samana Province
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Samana Province
#6 Spa Hotel in Samana Province
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facilities and services: Main pool with Jacuzzi surrounded by a sun terrace 3 beachside hydromassage tubs Loungers, sun umbrellas and towel service BAHIA SPA (additional charge) Water activity centre WiFi access in the lobby (1h per day free of charge) Wedding gazebo Buffet-style main restaurant and 3 speciality restaurants 4 bars, cocktail lounge, chill out zone, 1 snack bar Sports facilities: gym Pueblo Principe: Shopping and leisure mall with local craft stores, live music, shows, stores, bars and disco. Rooms: 295 rooms including 4 types: Standard, Standard with Sea View, Superior Junior Suite and Club Golden Junior Suite. Junior Suites are larger than Standard rooms. Room facilities: King size bed or 2 full size beds Fully-equipped bathroom with hydromassage bath tub, hair dryer and magnifying mirror. Air conditioning Ceiling fan Telephone Satellite TV Coffee-making facilities Mini-bar Safe (additional charge) Terrace WiFi (no additional charge) Junior Suite: sitting area, sofa-bed and ironing set Club Golden Junior Suites (See page 18 Club Golden, Club Hacienda) Children Bahia Scouts The hotel is perfect for families, offering a range of facilities tailored especially for children, including the following: Park Mini Club for children aged 4 to 12 Evening Mini Disco Babysitting service (additional charge) Other services Medical service (additional charge) Pharmacy (additional charge) Bus stop opposite the hotel Auditorium for corporate meetings Panoramic lifts Personalised menus (for celiacs, diabetics, etc.) Available on request Specialised service for organising weddings, incentive trips, events and anniversaries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Bahia Principe Cayacoa Hotel
Gran Bahia Principe Cayacoa Samana
Grand Bahia Principe Cayacoa Dominican Republic/Samana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing