We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my god did it rain”
Review of El Salto del Limon

El Salto del Limon
Book In Advance
More Info
US$98.99*
and up
Samaná Peninsula Tour from Samaná
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“my god did it rain”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

the horse ride to the waterfall was good fun and smimming it tne waterfall was great. it rained on our way back and it was like the heavens opened and an ocean fell out. never the less a good time was had and it is an experience i will remember for the rest of my liife.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank curtivic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    455
    247
    90
    25
    30
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful waterfall”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Nice to visit. A waterfall near Samana. Suggest the full tour which included a horse-ride

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Miguel_DFrias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eganville, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Don't go if you have trouble climbing or walking!”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

First of all no one told us that the only way in was on a horse! The track was extremelly worn and rocky and my heart melted for the guides(one walking the entire trail per horse) and the poor horses! When we arrived at the end of the trail it was down,down,down on foot...Then up, up, up on foot coming back...well I"ve just had two new knees and this was a big mistake for me. Only the truly fit should go on this excursion!
The falls were nice but have you ever been to Niagra Falls?

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Maryann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan de la Maguana, San Juan, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Exhausting trip, but worth it”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We made the trip on horse and it was very nervous, there's a lot of mud.
After you reach the area where the horses can go you have to walkabout 1 km. downhill on stairs... its best to use rain boots, its very very muddy, but the guides are extremely helpful and attentive.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carmela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice adventure!”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We went by horseback through the hills and valleys to the falls. Each horse had a guide walking beside pointing out different plants and points of interest. The guides are very helpful, friendly and informative, and most times they own the horses you ride, so even though you are not obligated, I recommend tipping them for all their help. They will stop at different points and take pictures of you with your camera, help you on and off your horse and watch your stuff while you swim in the falls.
The falls themselves are very beautiful and it is worth swimming in the cool waters!
Beware though, it is quite the hike from where you get off your horse to where the falls are. Very steep on the way up, but there are stairs. Not dangerous, just tiring.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SunSandDrinkInHand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Salto del Limon also viewed

Samana Province, Dominican Republic
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
 
Las Terrenas, Samana Province
Samana Province, Dominican Republic
 

Been to El Salto del Limon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing