We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very interesting tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of River Antoine Rum Distillery

River Antoine Rum Distillery
Book In Advance
More Info
US$140.00*
and up
Full Day Pure Grenada Tour
Ranked #13 of 67 Tours in Grenada
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Oldest rum distillery on the island featuring 250-year-old equipment. Offers complete tours.
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very interesting tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Visited this distillery as part of Island tour
This distillery dates from the late 18th century and still uses the original iron paddle wheel installed in 1785 - oldest such wheel in the western
Hemisphere apparently. The wheel powers the conveyer belt that feeds the sugar cane into the press to extract the liquid.
Very interesting tour of the factory showing the various processes.
At end of tour invited to sample the produce - 69 and 75 percent proof rum which warms your inside to the temperature of the furnaces in the distillery!
Very interesting mixture of engineering and labour intensive processes.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BobHilbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    73
    18
    9
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We visited the distillery as part of an island tour with Sunsation Tours through Virgin. The site is very interesting with old machinery (still in use) and a water wheel. A very pleasant lady took us around the plant explaining the process and including a rum tasting. You could buy if you wished but no hard sell. Well worth the visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank GreekGeek16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Back in time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

If you have the time do go to see The River Antoine distillery, the process is over 200 years old and so it most of the equipment it certainly would not pass "its yer elf and safety rules ennit" here in the uk but it is an education. have a taste of the rum and buy some to take home its worth it, if you can get it in the uk it'll cost over £40.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DennisLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
146 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“" When river is low in dry season, no sugar cane for rum being processed"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We visited on our full day tour with AJ Meddy and when we arrived, there were no tour groups going out so Allen gave us his own tour of the facility. What we did not realize is that when the dry season comes and the river is low the distillery does not process any more rum as the distillery is run with a water wheel...no water, no wheel moves...no rum.
The sugar cane was all sitting there on the conveyor belt not moving. The tour was only approximately 10 minutes but if you like rum I imagine it would be interesting.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PTTraveler101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Tasting!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Interesting visit, had a lovely lady as our guide around the distillery. My husband enjoyed the tasting and also buying a bottle to bring home! Thank you

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 1066country1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed River Antoine Rum Distillery also viewed

 
Belmont, Saint Patrick Parish
Saint David Parish, Grenada
 

Been to River Antoine Rum Distillery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing