We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to taste local cuisine, good service, but expect to leave still hungry.”

Patrick's Local Homestyle Cooking Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 67 Restaurants in St. George's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$23
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Pink and white building made to RESEMBLE a typical Grenadian home (it is not an actual place of residence, only made to look like one). Located on the left hand side if you are traveling from St. George's, across the street from the marina's entrance. Outdoor dining, indoor lounge area being redesigned.
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Patrick's was a great place to taste the different foods of Grenada (although disappointed no oil-down). Atmosphere was classic Grenadian and service was friendly. However, if you are very hungry, may want to go elsewhere for the evening. While you get around 18 dishes to try, it's only a bite or two per dish. Maybe it's me being accustom to American portions, but I left the restaurant still hungry.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dakota N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerry_alyssa, Manager at Patrick's Local Homestyle Cooking Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Hello,
Thank you for dining at Patrick's. I'm sorry you didn't get to try the oil down. We try to advertise that it really needs to be requested in advance as it takes a while to prepare. That being said, I'm glad you enjoyed the food. We usually are told that 18 tapas are too much, but everyone, including their appetite, is different. We try to be as down-to-earth and easygoing as professionalism will allow us, and I only wish you had asked for more of what you wanted. The truth is, we have tweaked our portions based on the general response. It feels better to simply serve more, as opposed to throwing out expensive ingredients when we have too large portions. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 223 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

We went to this restaurant because of it's rating/award; and if I'm honest I could have turned away on initial appearances. It looked dingey, seedy and the bars up at the front weren't overly inviting; but, books and covers.........! Thankfully we didn't pull out and were served a selection, in tapas style, of some wonderful local food. Whilst I'm a lover of the local food it really is an ideal place for newcomers to the cuisine to get to know what is what and what they might like.
Atmosphere? - we drew a blank. Just one other table in. The owner looked tired, didn't say anything to us and seemed to wish we hadn't come in. But her son, who served us had a droll humour which really appealed. So even when he tipped us the nod not to hang around, they'd like to close for the evening - it felt ok.
Interesting evening, lovely food, reasonably priced. Just don't expect to 'feel wanted' and you might get a nice surprise!.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DylansMandD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-New-Patricks, Owner at Patrick's Local Homestyle Cooking Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Hello.....

Thank you for your business. This happens to be the peak of the tourist season and as such, we do tend to feel tired later on during the night, especially as closing time draws near. That being said, we value every single guest to our establishment and apologize for seeming contrary to that. As it relates to the appearance of the restaurant, built to resemble what a typical, wooden structure, country-styled, Grenadian home, may not appeal to everyone. And that's just fine. The books at the front desk are free island magazines and road maps. Again, it was prior to closing time and no doubt in a slight disarray due to an earlier crowd. We are sorry you had to witness our untidiness. At the same, we are thankful you at least enjoyed the meal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

A great way to discover Grenadian cooking. Served tapas style of 18-20 dishes, our host carefully explained all the dishes and took care to make sure our friend with a shell-fish allergy had plenty to taste as well!

It is recommended you make reservations in advance, especially if you want to sample oil down!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-New-Patricks, Owner at Patrick's Local Homestyle Cooking Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I would consider a trip to Grenada to be incomplete without a trip to Patricks.
They describe the meal as local food served Tapas style and that is exactly what it is, from soup to desert you get 16-20 small bowls of various foods, meat, fish, veg and rice, with an explanation of what they are. The food is great home style cooking and you will leave a full stomach and only a small hit on your wallet.
Go there, I'll be back there next time I am on the island

1  Thank neptunesnemesis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-New-Patricks, Owner at Patrick's Local Homestyle Cooking Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thanks! We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Went to Patricks. Lots of traditional Grenadian food including Oil-down, the National dish of Grenada. Served as lots of small plates (tapas like). About 18-24 different plates of food. My friends who live in Grenada always take their guests here. It is mostly tourists who go here. The meal currently is $60 EC (which is about US$24) per person. You don't order off of a menu, you just sit down and the food starts coming. Highly recommend.

Thank kelhamby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jerry_alyssa, Manager at Patrick's Local Homestyle Cooking Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2014

Thanks for dining with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Patrick's Local Homestyle Cooking Restaurant also viewed

St. George's, Saint George Parish
 
St. George's, Saint George Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 
St. George's, Saint George Parish
Lance aux Epines, Saint George Parish
 

Been to Patrick's Local Homestyle Cooking Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing