We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Meal, Outstanding View, Average Service”

The Aquarium Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 66 Restaurants in St. George's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$65
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Expanded and refurbished in September 2009, The Aquarium Restaurant has a stylish yet relaxed atmosphere, right on Magazine Beach with stunning ocean views. Fresh cocktails or lunch under palm trees, fine dining, relaxed lounging… a breezy dining room with two seawater aquariums, bamboo railings and leather couches, a river-stone lounge bar with funky rattan furniture, a new Koi-pond and waterfall from the natural cliff. Local fish carvings and 3D paintings reflect the tropical underwater scenery.
Fulshear, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Delicious Meal, Outstanding View, Average Service”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We had a large group dinner here after a week of diving. The atmosphere at Aquarium is hard to beat. An open air space in a tropical setting on the beach greets you as you enter the dining area. The food here was quite good and creative. I enjoyed the "Deep Sea Palm Tree" which consisted of coconut fried shrimp in a slightly spicy mango cream sauce. For dessert I tried the brandied banana crepe... also good.

The only real issue we had here was that it took a very long time to get our checks sorted out and paid for at the end of the meal. Plus they charged us around $15 for ONE bottle of water for the table. Besides that, this was the best dinner of our trip!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blauvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    384
    246
    113
    56
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good food and Nice view on the Ocean”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I have been here several times and the food is very good. Also you can see the ocean and has beach access right there at the restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carlos T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would look elsewhere for special occasion”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We went to celebrate my birthday on 15 May 2014. Being on holiday we wanted a truely tropical sunset experience. It's not what we got - couldn't see the sunset from the restaurant unles you were on the beach edge, which wasn't set for dinner and when we asked if we could sit on the beach for our sun-downer they said they'd have to give us plastic glasses!
But the real spoiler was the music they played - Full volume. It was Nightclub/dance music. Not what you want for a tropical sun-downer - local music would have been more appropriate. Or anything else!
The food was good as was the service, but the ambiance was terrible!!!
Much better to eat at the Dodgy Dock where you can actually see the sunset from the restaurant and they play appropriate music.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandals750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A Great Experience”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This restaurant was recommend by our hotel and it was an excellent choice in relation to location - on the beach, food and the service provided by the staff. Will recommend - loved it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EB N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlesey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Paradise on the beach”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We visited The Aquarium twice for lunch during our stay in Grenada (it was a 5 minute walk along the beach) even though it was really quiet due to it being close to the end of the season, the staff were still full on and very charming, always helpful and good fun. The food was really good value and extremely tasty. You cannot be any closer to the sea without getting wet! If you are around here, you must give it a visit, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Aquarium Restaurant also viewed

St. George's, Saint George Parish
 
St. George's, Saint George Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 
St. George's, Saint George Parish
Lance aux Epines, Saint George Parish
 

Been to The Aquarium Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing