We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lobster fest on Saturdays!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Red Crab

The Red Crab
Ranked #30 of 67 Restaurants in St. George's
Cuisines: Seafood, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great lobster fest on Saturdays!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We ate here twice, the best being the lobster fest for which you must book in advance. Excellent food and good value.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pgc150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    30
    19
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“terrible service and mediocre food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

4 of us arrived at 7pm and we were immediately seated. The restaurant is situated beside a busy main road so although it is nice to sit outside you are aware of traffic noise and car fumes all of the time. We were offered a drink straight away and the drinks arrived within 10 minutes but then it took another 30 minutes to get the menus, an hour to get the appetiser and 2 hours from ordering to get the main course. The food was mediocre although it was piping hot. The prices are high at US$150 for four people for two courses without drinks. The waitress was friendly and apologetic but avoided us when we started trying to chase up the food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mhbeowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. George's, Grenada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

I'm not one to normally write reviews, but I had to write a special one for the Red Crab. I've been living in Grenada for a while now and the Red Crab is my favorite restaurant on the island. It has a casual and relaxed atmosphere with friendly service and excellent food. I highly recommend the catch of the day or lobster which can be cooked a number of ways. Lobster Fest on saturdays is always a special treat. If you get a chance, enjoy a great dinner or lunch and maybe I'll see you there.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“one of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Been to Grenada 4 times now and a trip to the Red Crab is always a must! Excellent seagood and gracious service. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening there.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank suecarib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
77 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best Lobster Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

My wife and I went to the Red Crab because they were doing a special "lobster menue" that night. For appetizers, I had the lobster cocktail and my wife had French onion soup. For our main course, I had the lobster newburg and she had broiled lobster tail. All of the food was excellent. The lobster was as good as I have ever had, and better than most. The lobster was very tender and sweet. The portions were generous. My wife could not finish her tail, which was large, but I made sure it did not go to waste. The service was excellent by Grenadian standards. The restraunt has no view, and I agree with other posters that the building could use an update. We ate outside, so ambiance was not much of an issue. Because of the exchange rate, pricing was excellent- two drinks, two appetizers and two lobster entries with tax was $188 EC, or $70 US.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 95rangerover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Red Crab also viewed

St. George's, Saint George Parish
 
St. George's, Saint George Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 
St. George's, Saint George Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 

Been to The Red Crab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing