We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great funky little restaurant overlooking the harbor”
Review of BB's Crabback

BB's Crabback
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in St. George's
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$48
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“great funky little restaurant overlooking the harbor”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Arriving in Grenada late wed. evening we could not make to BB's in time ,but we did go there on thurs. Nov. 7 and had a great meal. Naturally I got the Crabback and Kathy got the fish special of the evening the soup starter was callalou which made my eyes roll in delight. A lot of locals eat here and the cab driver Michael said it was a good choice and he was correct. I have traveled all over the Caribbean for many years and love these funky local places and I want to sample the local cuisine. The service was prompt and I am pretty certain our waiter was the owners son who always asked if everything was OK and later BB himself came to our table to chat with us. When I return to Grenada we will come back. Dick K. from Fla.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dixtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    577
    265
    93
    24
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Upminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Waterside St George's Bay”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We heard a lot about this restaurant whilst in Grenada so thought we would do lunch & were pleased we did. The goat Curry was excellent (be careful with the pot of chilli sauce it comes with as it will blow your head but I managed to have it all) My wife thought the Tasty Mia ( chicken in a coconut sauce) was very good too. The atmosphere was casual so no need to go smart. We had a table on the waters edge overlooking the bay so very nice. The only criticism I would have is that we found it a little on the expensive side for a dress down restaurant. We'll worth a visit but do check the menu prices.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Fantastic spot, good food”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We really enjoyed the original BBs in Ealing and were very pleasantly surprised to discover that this BBs is run by the same people. Crab; ribs & goat curry were all very good. Most memorable (for the right reasons) meal we had on the island.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“You need the Rum Punch to survive this”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This is a low cost drinking dive that sells what it describes as "food".

The jerk pork was 4 small spare ribs.
The goat curry was average to poor.
Souse and the Crabback were disappointing.

Presentation and attitude were shoddy.
It mentions glowing reviews in its advertising- I suspect given while under the influence of the Rum Punch.

"Decoration" is drunken scribbling by past "patrons" in marker pen on the walls and ceilings.
Bottom line AVOID

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank jece5457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grenada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Still a winner”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Off and on i have been visiting BB's restaurants, in the early days in Ealing then when he moved to Grenada.

His current place is at the end of the carrianage, overlooking the lagoon and southern beaches.

He is a very good cook, providing all the local treats with interesting twists. The flavours are always good. Oildown only on Fridays, local juices, a good choice of fish and meat recipes, plus nice desserts.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gda_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed BB's Crabback also viewed

St. George's, Saint George Parish
 
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 
St. George's, Saint George Parish
Lance aux Epines, Saint George Parish
 

Been to BB's Crabback? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing