We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grenada - Spice Island” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dougaldston Estate

Ranked #19 of 48 things to do in St. George's
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You can buy several spices, including nutmeg, vanilla, cinnamon and cloves, at Dougaldston, one of the island's oldest and largest nutmeg plantations.
Houston
Level Contributor
504 reviews
260 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
“Grenada - Spice Island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

Grenada is the Spice Island but it's more than just nutmeg. Our ship excursion took us here and we saw many other spices grown on the island and how they are processed. Nice tour. Worth a visit. Quite primative, but one gets an insight into how spices have been grown and processed for hundreds of years.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jtchapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    32
    13
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level Contributor
382 reviews
240 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Worth visiting this rustic working farm.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

Despite the fact that it is old, this is a very interesting operation on a very poor island. You see it the way it has always been done...not spruced up just to keep tourists happy. The drying nutmeg is rolled in and out in flat beds that operate on tracks and must be out in sun and away in rain. I was able to get many spices at an inexpensive cost.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ResourceTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Old World Spice Estate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

This was a stop on our day tour of the Island, It was very run down and partly a ruin but the main warehouse was very intresting with a member of staff explaining and demonstrating how the spices were prepared and the history of the estate. We loved it. We were there quite early so it was not too busy but several tour buses later it was a bit crowded. We learned some intresting facts and at the end managed to buy several different packets of spices at prices that were so much cheaper than home.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank wellyelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Interesting, but a repeat of Belmont Estate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

If you have a good guide, the place is interesting, but I learned the same things at Belmont Estate, which I highly recommend visiting.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelBugArkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

I went here with our tour guide extraordinaire AJ MEDDY .....I loved it as it non commercialized and unspoiled, if you are going to go, go with a guide

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank guysontherun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dougaldston Estate also viewed

Belmont, Saint Patrick Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 
St. George's, Saint George Parish
St. George's, Saint George Parish
 

Been to Dougaldston Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing