We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Anse Beach Palace Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$141
US$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maca Bana(St. George's)
US$660
US$541
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$296
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Phare Bleu(Petite Calivigny)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
SeaBreeze Hotel(Grand Anse)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
86 results
Traveller rating
47
26
4
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
26
4
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchengrand anse beachthe main roadstayed daysshort walktop floornice settingfew stepsliving arearestaurant next doorsound of the wavesrooms are spaciousceiling fanbusesbalconybedroomsunbeds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 86 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We were visiting Grenada and Carriacou for a month and had decided we wanted to stay on Grande Anse Beach for the 1st two weeks (March 24 to April 6, 2012). After lots of research, especially on Trip Advisor, we settled on the Grand Anse Beach Palace because it had everything we wanted and at a very reasonable price. Since we were staying there for 2 weeks we wanted a full kitchen, a balcony with a good view, and right on the beach. This is not always easy to accomplish, but we were very happy with our choice. The kitchen had everything we needed, the bedroom and private bathroom was nice (good a/c) and the balcony was excellent – we had most of our meals there.

We arrived in Grenada at 6:30 am were in our room by about 8 am, which made it seem like we had an extra day since our arrival day ended up providing a full day at our destination. We were very pleased that our room was available immediately. When we booked our room, we knew that construction on new units was still taking place, but were assured that all the noisiest work was done and that was true. Nevertheless, we were upgraded to a large suite that was available in the building next to it. Our room there on the 2nd floor has an even better view from the balcony, it has a large kitchen and eating area and 5 connecting bedrooms! We were using one of the bedrooms and the other connecting doors are locked. Two of the connected bedrooms have separate entrances so can be rented separately. This worked out perfectly for us. The construction work on the other building was never an issue.

Sharon and Lennie are excellent hosts and made our stay very enjoyable. The Beach Palace was truly a home away from home. Located on the north end of the beach, it is quiet and the water always seemed more calm there then further down the beach. Although the beach is narrow at this end, there is plenty of beach and shade a few steps away for lounging (we don’t do a lot of that anyway). The hotel’s garden is also a pleasant place to relax, enjoy a drink, and catch up on your email etc. There was also a large supermarket a short walk away, so getting provisions was easy.

We normally travel independently and look for small places in good locations. We are not interested in large 5 star resorts, so if that is your preference, the Beach Palace may not be for you. Our time there was most enjoyable since the hotel was exactly what we were looking for, the beach was wonderful, wide with nice sand and also very long (2 miles/3 km). We walked the beach early almost every morning before breakfast and then went swimming and snorkeling throughout the day. We took one private day tour around the island, a couple of visits to St. George (by local bus), and a day at La Sagesse (very interesting nature walk and an excellent restaurant). Two weeks flew by as we enjoyed the wonderful beach and chatting with the friendly locals.

We recommend the Grand Anse Beach Palace highly and will certainly return.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floors will have nice views.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doug47travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We were 5 couples travelling together this time. (It seems our travel family is ever growing!) We were greeted by owner, Sharon, and her friendly staff upon arrival. This was our first stay at "The Palace" since the renovations were completed last year. The renovations are awesome. King size beds and outdoor kitchens are fantastic. Due to the renovations the restaurant was removed from the main building to make more rooms, however the restaurant has been moved to "The Rickety" as Sharon calls it, which is a beautiful outdoor covered deck.
If you are looking for comfort, cleanliness, convenience and a helpful, friendly staff this is the place to stay in Grenada. As my friend Glenn says, "When you come to "The Palace" you meet new friends, but when you leave you have some new family." We were sorry that Lennie was away and we didn't get a chance to see him. Next time!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caribegirl1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We recently stayed at the Beach Palace for 10 days while we visited our daughter and son-in-law in Grenada. We arrived around 9pm and although our children had picked up our room keys earlier in the day, the staff was still up and waiting to greet us and carry our bags. The hotel itself appears older but is well maintained and very clean. Our room was on the second floor and had a wonderful patio/kitchen/dining area in the open air overlooking the gardens and ocean. The hotel itself is a mere 30 feet from the ocean. It has a small kitchen that serves breakfast and I understand will serve lunch or dinner with advance notice. On the grounds is a large BBQ grill that can be used by guests; we made use of it one night with fresh caught lobster and grilled fresh vegetables. It was fantastic. Many of the other guests came out and joined us and soon we had a regular backyard party! All the staff was very friendly and made sure that everything was to our liking. I think Sharon, the owner, spoke with every guest, everyday, to make sure we had all we needed. The kitchen has an apartment size refrigerator/freezer, stove, microwave and coffee maker plus plates, cups, etc. It was great to wake up early to the gentle pounding of the waves and sit out on the balcony, enjoying our morning coffee. The bedroom was very large with a king size bed and large walk-in closet. The bathroom was clean and of standard size. The rooms have both US/EURO type electrical plugs so no conversion plugs were needed. The only thing about the property I didn't like was the chainlink/barbwire fence separating the grounds from the beach. Although access was easy through a gate, I still didn't like looking at the ocean through the fence. None of the other hotels along the beach had fences so I'm not sure why they felt they needed one, but the grounds were secure. Another hotel, Jenny's Place, is right next door, giving another option for a restaurant. Speaking of restaurants, the thing we noticed about ALL of them is that they do not get in a hurry about anything: taking orders, bringing food, bringing the check, nothing. Now, don't interpret this as poor service, its not. I feel it is just that Grenada is not yet used to what WE are used to as far as service. Besides, you came here to relax right? Just give yourself plenty of time for meals and enjoy, and that includes the native dishes.
Grand Anse beach itself is about 3 miles long and the Beach Palace is located on the very north end. The white sand is perfect for walking and the water is beautiful. Restaurants and bars are located all along the beach but not too close to make your stroll feel crowded. We toured the island and visited several sites. The island is very beautiful and has not yet been spoiled by a lot of tourist activity. It appears that many people travel to the island by boat to stay and play for a few days. We arrived the day before the Grenadian Independance Day and it was really special to see all the National pride by it's citizens. The National colors were everywhere with school children parading through the streets and waving flags in celebration.
One day we went scuba diving with the Grenada Dive Center, they took us to a local reef and the underwater sculpture park. The reef was amazing and teeming with tropical fish and turtles. This was a highlight of our trip. The owners of the Grenada Dive Center could not have been more pleasant.

Room Tip: Go with the second floor for a great view.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jberg140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Stayed at the Palace for 7 weeks from mid Dec 12, great location right on the beach our room (Queen Brenda) was the best with 2 balconies overlooking the beach and sunsets. Good value and well equipped, but the real joy of the place was the incredible helpfulness of all that worked there. Sharon and Lenny the owners are an amazing couple who can't do enough to help, lifts to the mall, airport and island tours and a very nice Christmas buffet. All the other staff are great, especially Michelle who is an absolute diamond and was so helpful and delightful. This was our 5th stay in Grenada and this is an ideal place from which to experience the island, look forard to our return.

Room Tip: Queen Brenda 25th, the best views.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tonyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed on the second floor for a week Dec/Jan. Large bedroom, comfortable bed, A/C. Plenty of hangers in the closet. WiFi worked well. TV but we never did use it. Electrical outlets both US style (still 220v) and BS-1363, so we didn't need the adaptors we brought. Our full kitchen was "outside" on the large covered veranda; we absolutely LOVED this arrangement. Great sunset views every night. There is indeed fencing topped with barbed wire as mentioned in a previous review. Our hosts were very helpful with local knowledge and in making arrangements for activities including tours and a trip to Carriacou. We had fun taking the buses around town and to the stores; the bus stops at the top of the driveway. We thought it was a great location at the north end of GA Beach. This may not be the "best" area of the beach but is good for swimming right out front. A bit of sea grass to step over, then all sandy bottom. Or walk 2 minutes down the beach and you are at the wide, sandy part, if that is what you prefer. There is a small reef out bit where you can snorkel. A 10 minute walk along the beach takes you to the craft center, and you can head over to the main road another block to a grocery store. Take a bus or a taxi back to the Palace with your packages. Several restaurants within walking distance. We ate at Jenny's next door, Coconuts down the beach 5 minutes, had a roti for lunch one day at the craft market. We liked being able to hear the waves crashing and the frogs piping at night. Bring bug repellant and use it. Sand flies on the beach bit me early in the morning the first day, while I was yet unaware of them. They are called "no-see-ums" for a reason. There were also some mosquitos, dawn & dusk. The Caribbean mosquitos are so much smaller and quicker than our home-grown mosquitos, but equally hungry. The palace is not fancy, but clean, safe, and comfortable. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Better view from higher up.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pattig71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews