We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay Grenada!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gem Holiday Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in St. George's
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We visited Grenada for 10 days in May 2013. First let me say that Grenada is the friendliest island we have ever visited . Everyone is glad to have you on their island. The staff at the Gem is so friendly and can handle any situation that may arise. Thanks Julia! The rooms were perfect for us. Very large, kitchenette, sitting area & balcony. We had ocean view & it was perfect. Doesn't matter that there is no pool because the Kalinago is so close that it is almost like the same place. The beach is beautiful & very quiet. Sometimes we had it to ourselves. We looked at other accommodations on Grand Anse beach and realized that we had picked the perfect place. One piece of advice I would give is do some walking before you come here because everything is either up or down. Also, if it's the small ferry going to Carriacou it is actually 3 hours over and 3 hours back! We plan to return to Grenada & will definitely stay at the Gem Holiday again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joyce-SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2013

Stayed here in January. The Manager, Ms. Julia Moore and her assistant Sabina ensured that you were given the royal treatment. We were not treated like guests at a hotel, we were like family. We had a garden view room but from the porch, you can see the ocean. The room was very spacious and clean. The food at Kalinago was fantastic. Morne Rouge Bay is definitely the best beach in Grenada and it is just footsteps away. This hotel is really a Gem, had a very memorable stay at the Gem.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Theresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

My husband and I recently spent 6 wonderful days at this hotel run by Julia the General Manager who is a true Gem. We chose an ocean view apartment so the sunrise and sunset from our balcony each day was absulutely beautiful. Situated on one of the best beaches in Greanad, its tranquil cove just off the main Grand Anse Beach is a great place to relax and enjoy the sunshine. The apartments which are extremely clean come equipped with a full kitchen and a grocery very near for your convenience. The rooms are cleaned daily by warm and friendly staff. Thank you Lorraine for all that you did for us. Guests of the Gem also have the added benefit of accessability to the Kalingo Hotel which is a sister hotel and located next door. If you choose want variety and decide to eat out, they have a great restaurant and pool. The Gem is a home away from home. We had a wonderful experience and hope to visit again soon.

Jerry & Heather from Trinidad

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

If you are looking for a nice apt type room, so you can cook or eat at their place, with a very nice calm cove beach, off of the main grand anses beach this is it! The rooms are clean, staff very friendly and we loved the location. In the evening the sun set on this beach can't be beat, bar right on the beach, or a few steps down to Kalingo Resort bar and you are set for a perfect sunset! No pool at this resort but you share with Kalingo Resort, and the pool is beautiful! Or steps to the ocean! If you are a walker and want some good exercise, the walk to grand Anse Beach is not to bad, some good hills, beautiful landscape to look at,take your camera, and then walk beach down to the spice market,take money, and you have had a great morning!
To sit outside of the bar at their restaurant and have lunch on the beach is so relaxing!
There fish sandwich is VERY good! Breakfast out there is awesome too!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 3Darnel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Just got back from a week in Grenada where I stayed at the Gem. The staff was more than accomodating, letting us choose between 2 rooms upon our arrival. The rooms all have full kitchens and with a wonderful grocery store witin walking distance, this came in handy. It is located on a wonderful beach and you have services connected to it's sister hotel the Kalingo. You also can walk 5 minutes to Grand Anse Beach. We would mention a tour that we would like to do and the staff would have us booked within a minute. We went to the 7 sisters waterfalls which was amazing in it's beauty and a snorkling trip to the underwater statues of Moliniere. Again a wonderful experience. We fully intend to return to the Grenada and would only consider the Gem for our stay.

Room Tip: We actually chose a garden view apartment on the top floor. Our terrace was private with a wonderfu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Newyorker28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

After examining several holiday resorts online, we (3 travel friends) decided on Gem Holiday Beach Resort. They have an impressive presentation of themselves online; and we booked ourselves a room for 3 adults and submitted the credit card details. An email confirmed that the down-payment had been taken from the card and the balance was due on our check-in. We selected the option to be picked up by taxi.

On arrival at the airport we were met by the taxi driver whose first words to us after 'Hello' was "I am not taking you to Gem; you are booked at the Grand View." First off, this was strange. The taxi driver was 'acting' so-to-speak as the Spokesman for the Hotel, because he was insistent on taking us to Grand View instead of to Gem for them to explain to us the problem. He said he doesn't work for the Hotel, he is an 'independent' driver who gets hired by them.

He took us to Gem where we went into the lobby. They do not have a photo of their lobby and this is understandable. It looks like a cheap motel lobby and would not match their online photos in the slightest way.

The one clerk at the counter said that the credit card transaction had been rejected on their side and presented us with an almost-blank shorter-than-usual yellow slip that just read "Unauthorised". There was no other information on the slip that indicated it was the credit card that was used to process the transaction. When asked why didn't they call the number entered when we booked, the clerk quickly said "We did, we didn't get through, and we sent you an email last night." On checking through the email on the phone, there was no such email.

They insisted on putting us in Grand View which is up a steep incline on the hill above. We refused to go and said that we wanted a comparable accommodation exactly like what they presented to us on the website. After many phone calls, the clerk asked the taxi driver to take us to Jenny's Place.

We went there and not only was Jenny's Place not comparable to Gem's website image, there is hardly any shore at that location. It is very much on the northern tip of Grand Anse beach; next to it is another accommodation with "Palace" in the title. The sea comes almost right up to the wall of the property.

We left there and the taxi driver drove us to one or two other places along the way, including one extremely high-end hotel which was no doubt around the $$$$ rating. He offered to take us to the Flambouyant and on the way there, we noticed a place and went in to enquire. After we decided to stay there, the taxi driver said that our fee was US$60. The real cost is between US$16 and US$20 to be picked up at the airport; he said that he was driving us around so we have to pay the hourly rate.

We told him that we would pay him the usual rate, gave him US$20 and advised him that Gem owed him the rest as it was never our intention to be driven around looking for places to stay. He was angry.

A couple hours later, one of us could not find her suitcase anywhere. We went to the reception area and called Gem and got the taxi driver's number. He said that perhaps the suitcase was 'inadvertently' left at the airport and he volunteered to check for us; the reply was to go ahead and check the airport and he will get his extra US$40. Lo and behold the suitcase was 'at' the airport; US$40 later we had our property back. The taxi driver told 2 of us "You have to understand, this whole arrangement is your package that you have to see about." Cryptic, but it wasn't difficult to know what he really meant.

Two more things:
While in the departure lounge waiting to board the flight to Grenada, one of us saw a fellow workmate with a friend and went up to say hello. I turned out that she and her friend were staying at Gem; so we expected to see each other. Monday evening we ran into them at Spiceland Mall, in the food fair area and after going up to say 'hello', her first words were "Where are you staying???" When we told her we were not at the Gem, she asked "And is this because they were booked and you had to go elsewhere??" to which the reply was "That's what they said." She said to us "I'm staying at Grand View."

It was pure coincidence that someone I'm friendly with where I live, has a sister living in Grenada. On relating to her what happened, she also coincidentally knew one of the family members who own Gem and mentioned our experience to the person. The person's reply? "Why didn't they put them at Kalinago?! Kalinago has room!!"

Kalinago is Gem's SISTER resort on the very beach.

Any reader can now sum up what was taking place at Gem's.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
19  Thank W0rldT0uristT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

My Family And I Would Go Back Again......,The Staff Was Very Friendly ,The First Day We Got there we were on that beach We Had fun on the beach......I Do Not think We ever Saw A sand So White,Very peacfull and relaxing place to be.Trust Me If You want a place to relax and have a peace of mind Go There You Will like it.

Room Tip: We Had A Two Bedroom Apartment .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. George's
1.4 mi away
True Blue Bay Boutique Resort
0.5 mi away
Siesta Hotel
Siesta Hotel
#5 of 11 in Grand Anse
316 reviews
16.7 mi away
Petite Anse Beachfront Hotel & Restaurant Grenada
Petite Anse Beachfront Hotel & R...
#1 of 1 in Saint Patrick Parish
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9 mi away
Rumboat Retreat
Rumboat Retreat
#1 of 1 in Saint John Parish
56 reviews
1 mi away
Grenadian by Rex Resorts
Grenadian by Rex Resorts
#1 of 1 in Magazine Beach
1,945 reviews
1 mi away
Radisson Grenada Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gem Holiday Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gem Holiday Beach Resort

Address: PO Box 58 | Morne Rouge Beach, St. George's, Grenada
Region: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in St. George's
Price Range: £76 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gem Holiday Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, West Indies, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Gem Holiday Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gem Holiday Beach Hotel St. George`s
Hotel Gem Holiday Beach
Gem Holiday Beach Resort Grenada/Saint George Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing