We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best value accommodation in Grenada”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. George's
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Caribbean Cottage Club
Reviewed 30 December 2007

We looked at a lot of different accommodation for our weeks stay in Grenada and decided on the Carribean Cottage Club as it was simply the best value for money. Situated half way between the Grand Anse beach and St Georges, we felt location wise it was pretty ideal. Each day we took the bus rather than walk, which was a real taste of Grenada! I would say using the local transport was one of the highlights of the holiday and a great way to interact with the local people who are so friendly. Buses pass the cottages every 5-10 mins and cost only 50p for a single in either direction, bargain!

Vittoria, the owner of the Carribean Cottage Club, is the friendliest and most helpful host you could wish for. At the time of booking Vittoria arranged our transfer from the airport and even organised some limited shopping for us upon arrival so we could fix ourselves dinner. When we eventually arrived Vittoria was incredibly helpful with planning our weeks stay, arranging a hire car for a days island exploration, showing us where we could buy our shopping and putting us in touch with local scuba diving companies. I cannot praise Vittoria enough for her help during the week and would say it significantly enhanced our stay.

The cottages themselves are very pretty, surrounded by banana plants with lovely views of the ocean in the distance. There were fans and mosquito nets in the bedroom, cooking hobs and fridge/freezer plus a television in the kitchen/diner, and a balcony where we could sit and chill. We were very pleased with the arrangements. There is also a restaurant on site if you don't fancy cooking.

Overall our holiday in Grenada was a great success, but I think much of this was due to feeling safe and comfortable with where we were staying. We will definitely stay here again if we return. Adam

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Adsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2007

Good points: Cottages are beautiful and have a wonderful view. Beds are comfortable and refrigerators work well.
Difficult things: The web site says that they are 2 minutes walk to the beach- it is a good 20 minutes on a busy road and a hard walk back up the hill to come home.
Dogs and chickens making noise ALL night.
No screens on the windows. It gets dark at 6:30 pm, can't have the lights on or it will attract a lot of bugs. We all came home COVERED with little red bug bites.
THe housekeeper came 4 out of the 7 days we were there.
The kitchens are not really equipted for much more than storing cold drinks. THere is not a microwave or much else for cooking.
The TV quit working 1/2 was through the week- it wasn't fixed. Our shower heater quit, the owner said that was "impossible" and did not come look at it so we had 3 days of cold showers.
The restaurant that is "on the property" is actually 3 feet from the cottage, so we heard kitchen and restaunt noise until late each night, along with all the smells.
This was a BIG dissappointment and really ruined our trip.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank travfamKentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2007

The first week of our holiday was to be spent on Carriacou, the second on Grenada. We had already decided on the Carribean Cottage club for the second week, but we had to spend a night in Grenada on arrival before we could get to Carriacou. Vittoria was really helpful and let us take a single night in the cottage on arrival. She drove us to the airport herself when it was time to leave for Carriacou and gave us a discount on the normal price. The same applied at the end of the holiday when Mr Tom drove us.

The cottage itself was beautiful, clean and very well equipped. A lovely lazy hammock on the verandah, ice cubes chilling in the fridge and the most magnificent view of the Carribean. Our cottage was cleaned daily, even to the extent of us finding our washing up done when we'd left early one morning and not done it ourselves. It was furnished exactly right, simple, comfortable and in keeping with the surrounding country.

The walk to Grand Anse felt like a bit of a hike in hot weather the first time we did it, but is certainly within easy reach. However, it was a rare occasion when we didn't catch a bus within 10 seconds of reaching the main road, and 2 or 3 Carribean dollars (about 60p) got us there within a few minutes. The walk to St Georges is easy.

Vittoria and Tom were perfect hosts, always there to help when we needed it, but incredibly discreet otherwise. We ate one night at Vittoria's Mona Lisa restaurant, which was right next to our cottage and the food and the service were immaculate. They love their pets, and their friendly cats often joined us during the evenings.

To wake up on a morning and see a schooner on the Carribean from your front door, to swing in a hammock stroking a cat, drinking rum and watching a sunset...wish i was back there.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Romola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2007

Spent the first week of our holiday at these lovely wooden cottages. Whilst not on beach it was set away from road so no sound of traffic with just a wonderful view of the sea, which was great to wake up to each morning. The cottages are kept clean and have all you need for a holiday. Nice fluffy towels and great large comfy beds. daily maid service. If there was anything we needed you only had to ask the very helpful and friendly owner Vittoria and she would try her best to sort it out. The addition of the restaurant is great, we ate there a couple of nights and the food was really good. Even if you are not staying at the Cottages would def recommend eating there, Vittoria makes a lovely rum punch. You can easily walk to Grand Anse beach from CCC plus on the road it is easy to get a bus into Grand Anse or St. Georges and is so easy and cheap to use, plus great fun. We did also hire a car and toured quite a bit of the island and went to a few different beaches. Our favourite was La Saggesse, which we went to about 3 times. They do a wonderful lobster wrap, which would recommend trying. We went to Union Island for our second week, but on our return on the Friday morning, Vittoria let us leave our luggage at her cottage which enabled us to be able to spend our last day on Grand Anse beach. Thank you so much Vittoria for all your help and suggestions when we stayed with you. We will def be back and would stay at the Caribbean Cottage Club. We had a great time there.

Stayed: March 2007
2  Thank devonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Zion,Il
18
Reviewed 5 August 2004

We stayed at the Caribbean Cottage Club for 5 days in April for our anniversary. It was a wonderful experience. Vittoria takes good care of you and helps with any details you've forgotten.The rooms are spotless and have a lovely porch to sit and enjoy the garden and seaview. One thing you cannot miss if you have the chance,is a meal cooked by Vittoria and her husband. You dine on their open veranda under twinkling lights and the 4 course meal is fantastic. and her husband makes a great rum punch! She cooks only for guests and friends and it was a wonderful evening. We were so stuffed ,we could hardly drag ourselves back to our own porch. I'd highly recommend staying here.

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Ashland OH
535
Reviewed 4 February 2004

Caribbean Cottage Club is a group of newly-built cottages (opened 9/03) between St. Georges and Grand Anse Beach. They are a 2-minute walk off the main road, which gets you away from traffic noise and pollution while making it easy to get a minibus or taxi. The cottages are nicely designed in tropical hardwoods, simply but tastefully furnished, have full kitchens (no oven), are spacious, and have nice balconies overlooking the Caribbean and a nice garden below. They are very clean and well maintained. The manager, Vittoria, and her husband, Tom, are very friendly and helpful. Tom gives very informative and personal tours of the island, and Vittoria sometimes cooks Italian meals which are open to her guests. All in all this is a personal, not an anonymous, place. It is about a 20-minute walk along the road to the beach or a 3-minute bus ride, and a bit farther to St. Georges. It is not in easy walking distance of restaurants, and the minibuses stop running in the evening. Rather than pay the rather high taxi fares, we cooked simple meals there. Because it is new and not widely reviewed yet, the prices are special for the first year, and include the usual 10% service fee, which makes them a bargain.

13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2016
Thank Andreas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. George's hotels
0 mi away
Gem Holiday Beach Resort
Gem Holiday Beach Resort
#3 of 9 in St. George's
140 reviews
0 mi away
Le Phare Bleu Boutique Hotel & Marina
Le Phare Bleu Boutique Hotel & M...
#1 of 1 in Petite Calivigny
170 reviews
0 mi away
Maca Bana
Maca Bana
#1 of 9 in St. George's
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Wave Crest Holiday Apartments
Wave Crest Holiday Apartments
#7 of 9 in St. George's
23 reviews
0 mi away
Kalinago Beach Resort
Kalinago Beach Resort
#1 of 20 in St. George's
279 reviews
0 mi away
The Relax Inn
The Relax Inn
#6 of 20 in St. George's
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribbean Cottage Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Cottage Club

Address: P.O. Box 1312 | Grand Anse, St. George's, Grenada
Region: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Speciality Lodging in St. George's
Price Range: £43 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Caribbean Cottage Club Hotel St. George`s
Caribbean Cottage Club Grenada/Saint George Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing