We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Welcome to our home”
Review of Caribbean Breeze

Caribbean Breeze
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. George's
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Caribbean Breeze
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in St. George's
Norfolk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Welcome to our home”
Reviewed 4 April 2008

We stayed with Sue & Michael not forgetting the 4 dogs, in Feb/March this year and what a great holiday they gave us, we were in the cottage which was ideal as we had our own space but, always had Sue & Michael on hand for any information we needed, you could not want for more and if you stay here make sure you have a spare packet of biscuits at breakfast time for the dogs!!!!!!!!!!!. We had a jeep to explore the island which we found to be very interesting but, be warned there are no road signs so you do need a good map, available at the tourist office in St George, and do not be afraid to ask as you will find everyone very helpful after all they want you to enjoy your holiday and come back again as we hope to one day and it will be Caribbean Breeze without a doubt. Terry & Sandy, Norfolk England

  • Liked — The peace and quiet
  • Disliked — Not being able to walk to nearest attractions
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bumbleNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    3
    0
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2008

Tired and in need of a bit of tlc, we booked a fortnight at Caribbean Breeze with Sue and Michael, having found them on the internet. From the moment the taxi dropped us off, the owners set about making our holiday as special as they could and, let's be honest, on such a beautiful island they were off to a good start! They were waiting to greet us and their first gesture was to offer us each a large glass of home made rum punch - most unexpected and also most welcome after such a long flight - and we were made to feel totally at home by their friendly dogs, who adopted us from the off. Big dogs yes, but daft as brushes - four legs waving in the air to enable you to tickle their tummies. Sue and Michael were always available to help us and we ended up renting their car for the duration of our stay and with their help, we managed to find all the best views, best restaurants and best beaches. Our apartment was HUGH - even a laundry room - and enough space to hold a ball in the living room! The view from the verandah is wonderful - soft greenery with the odd humming bird whirring in and out, then out over their garden where Michael grows orchids, and across the golf course to the hills beyond. Breakfast was a special time sitting there in the dappled shade, with the wonderful smells on the breeze, and I will never forget it. We loved our holiday which was our best ever - the island is spectacular, the sea warm, the sand (and the dogs) soft, the hospitality at Caribbean Breeze amazing. On our departure, Sue even gave us the use of one of their own private en suite bedrooms for a last minute wash and brush up before we set off for the airport, as we couldn't go without having one last dip in their pool. We WILL be back!

  • Liked — Friendliness
  • Stayed February 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rosnorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2008

My partner and I stayed at Carribbean Breeze apartments in February for 2 weeks, and to sum up how great it was, my partner is now my fiance!
At the airport we were picked up by Raymond (which was arranged by Sue & Michael), a local taxi driver who I would recommend contacting if you need an island tour, as he was very informative and genuine guy.
We arrived to be greeted by Sue and Michael, 4 lovely and gentle rottweilers, and 2 very generous Rum punches. Then we made our way down the steps, which we found perfectly lit. The apartment was clean and spacious, and in reference to previous comments about no clean sheets or towels, they were clean when we arrived, and the apartments are self catering, not a hotel, so we had no problem washing the towels in the washine machines provided.
Also, in reference to Sue and Michael drinking on the balcony, who could blame them. Our balcony was beneath theirs, and we spent many nights sat on ours enjoying rum and coke. People have to understand, this is not a hotel but their home, and the enjoyment of staying in such a place is that its not impersonnel like a hotel, Sue and Michael were willing to cater for all our needs, and gave great infomation on the best sites to see and restaurants to eat in, aswell as great drinks on their balcony!
We hired a car for 1/2 of our stay, which I would recommed as the island is a great place to drive round and discover, with friendly locals and amazing views.
All in all we would recommend Carribbean Breeze, as its a lovely place, with great hosts, perfect location with a 10 minute walk to the best beach in the Carribbean.
Many thanks Sue and Michael for making our stay so enjoyable and unforgettable

  • Liked — Amazing scenery
  • Disliked — Leaving it
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alchemy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2008

The place is at the top of a huge hill - but then a lot of Grenada is - but you do not get warned about this - and if you aren't fit you would have to hire a car or get a taxi. There are a lot of steps and not enough lighting at night.
The owners are friendly enough - but they don't seem to employ anyone to do anything- and to be honest, do spend a lot of time drinking on their balcony. Whilst we were there another couple had been there for nearly 3 weeks and their towels and sheets had not been changed once - it is a hot tropical place so you can imagine the whiff.
Our apartment was not clean - I washed all the pots, pans and cutlery before using them - which is a let down after such a long journey. The sheets didn't fit the bed and keep coming off which gets on your nerves after a while. In the cottage, the toilet is partitioned off the bedroom with no enclosed ceiling- so if you are not close to your partner when you set off - you soon will be! If you have guests - you have to vacate the builidng whilst each of you uses the toilet! The occupiers of the cottage told us the toilet seat had not fitted at all and in frustration they took it off all together - it was not mended in all their time there - even though they said something.

DO not go here if you do not like large dogs - they have 3 or 4 scary rotweiller type dogs - I like dogs - but these babies are big and not that friendly! - their poop is not scooped from the garden regularly AND who are allowed in the pool, (yes for a swim - they use it as a dog bowl too) ermmm.
All the above could be sorted out if they employed someone - it needs a refresh and to frank - some of the furniture is well past its best.

Grenada is however the most fab place - the folk are lovely - except the lady who works in the official gift shop on the left hand quay in St Georges and the woman in the internet cafe nearby both would win charmless awards. EVERYONE ELSE HOWEVER IS BEAUTIFUL and they cannot do enough to make you enjoy their island. We used a taxi driver called Lollipop who should be an ambassor for the tourist board - what a nice man- it is worth going - and if you want cheap accommodation CB is okay - but if it is your dream hol or honeymoon - then I don't think it is for you.
DO go to Grenada - it is the best Caribbean island that we have been to so far - just don't expect american or european style shops, the retail therapy is limited - very - and don't go into St Georges when a cruise ship is in - it is bedlam - I think everyone and their dog comes down to sell stuff - but you do have to understand that the people are not wealthy and they are only trying to make a living.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hopefulcaribbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kajsa7, Owner at Caribbean Breeze, responded to this review, 20 February 2008
It is a pity that the writer of this review did not point out any of the problems that they incurred because we would have attended to them straight away.
We do drink on the veranda when we have guests, but this is our home.
We do have large BUT friendly dogs and if visitors do not like dogs we keep them shut in
Scoop the poop is done on a daily basis, at least twice.
There are gates to enclose the pool and it is only if some guests leave these open that the dogs can 'sneak' in otherwise they are NOT allowed
Many have said it is ideal for a honeymoon!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2007

I have just returned from a wonderful 13 days at Caribbean Breeze. The apartments large and airy with huge balconies to sit and look at the beautiful views of the golf course and landscaped gardens. BUT and it is a BIG BUT to reach the apartment from where we parked our car you had to make your way down a very steep slope then down at least 20 various size step some of them huge, no hand rail then up another 12 steps to the apartment and of course when you go out all is reversed. It was no joke carrying provisions like heavy water from the supermarket to the apartment also getting suitcases in and out.
If I had known about the steps I would not have booked these apartments and feel we should have been warned before we arrived because if you had the slightest mobility problem you would have had to find some alternitive accomadation once you had arrived not good after a long flight and where to go.
Overall the apartments are nice but I feel people need to be warned about the steps also it is 5 minutes by car not walking to the beach.

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — The Steps
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank elcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 18 April 2006

For those who are looking for an alternative to the anonymous international hotels, but wtill want a high standard of comfort and amenities, CARIBBEAN BREEZE could be the perfect choice.
The guest accommodation, whilst seperate from the main house, enjoys the benefits of a tropical garden and pool area.
Sue and Michael can help you discover a side to Grenada that many tourists never see, through the understanding built up during their years resident there. Rather than relying on a guide book to find great places to eat, drink and dance, let Sue and Michael give up to the minute advice.
The Cottage is light and airy with plenty of outdoor seating that offers breakfast in the sunshine overlooking the golf course, or mid afternoon shade on the veranda, gazing on the terraced garden.
It is an easy walk to the beach at Grand Anse, and you will appreciate the breeze at the end of the day in the sun.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. George's
1.8 mi away
Gem Holiday Beach Resort
Gem Holiday Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in St. George's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
1.3 mi away
Siesta Hotel
Siesta Hotel
#7 of 11 in Grand Anse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
2.6 mi away
Blue Horizons Garden Resort
Blue Horizons Garden Resort
#5 of 11 in Grand Anse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Wave Crest Holiday Apartments
Wave Crest Holiday Apartments
#8 of 8 in St. George's
3.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
2.4 mi away
True Blue Bay Boutique Resort
0.8 mi away
Radisson Grenada Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribbean Breeze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Breeze

Property: Caribbean Breeze
Address: P.O.Box 1364, St. George's, Grenada
Region: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint George Parish > St. George's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in St. George's
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Caribbean Breeze St Georges
Caribbean Breeze Grenada/Saint George Parish

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing