We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overnight stay to pick up puppy!”

Rhyd-y-Groes Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bwlchllan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rhyd-y-Groes Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Bwlchllan B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“overnight stay to pick up puppy!”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Needed a place to stay to pick up a puppy from nearby kennels the following day- Lovely warm welcome from eve,mel and the boys- delightful, polite and helpful boys- the barn was a treat and as it was feb was very cold but it was no problem fo mel to put large iron gas fire in the room (despite many steps down from house)- so was lovely and cosy.Lovely peaceful breakfast and wandered around taking pics of ponies, ducks, chickens and the horses led by the boys with provided wellies !!! Would definitely recommend for a romantic getaway or an overnight stay with a lot more to offer than a traditional bed and breakfast at no extra cost-here's to trying the log cabin next !

Room Tip: the logcabin for a romantic getaway - the barn for a unique b and b experience or for two couple s o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Just needed somewhere to sleep after a day househunting. Eve and Melvyn were more than accommodating.

We stayed in the log cabin which is bed and breakfast only. Very relaxing with the sound of the stream running past the cabin.

Breakfast was a treat, with the sun streaming down we ate on the verandah area. Eve and Melvyn couldn’t have made it any more special if they had tried. Beautifully laid table and plenty to eat and copious amounts of hot coffee.

Perfect little spot to unwind after a stressful day. So much so we have booked to go back and spend the evening in the self catering lodge.

Ideal if you want some peace and quiet. Eve and Melvyn even offered some suggestions with our house hunting.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuyDraper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheltenham
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2011

well what a lovely little peice of heaven situated ideally for the beaches so close all within 20 minute drive or so, the place itself has beautiful views and the owners are so helpful whatever you require they deliver! including the lovely range of eggs! we camped on the grounds and used all the facilites of a caravan including a lovely shower ,electricity,and the loo.we were able to have a fire no worries all in all would recommend this to anybody camping here was amazing and the stars at night were outstanding and it was so cheap cant wait to return.
ps forgot to mention all the animals the kids loved them.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank picto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We stayed in the log cabin for the weekend and everything was just perfect. Our hosts were warm and friendly and made us most welcome. The cabin was splendid and very comfortable. The log was set amongst trees and it made for a very peaceful and romantic get away.

The food is superb and the cooked breakfast is highly recommended!

many thanks for a wonderful time. Owen and El

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank owen83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2009

This was the best guest house I have stayed in. The facilities were more than what I expected and Eve & Melvin went out of their way to accommodate me. There was an extensive range of freshly prepared meals on the menu. The facilities in the guest house were brilliant; there was even a living room & conservatory downstairs to sit. The guest house was situated in a picturesque part of the countryside. It was very therapeutic to walk around the grounds of the guest house and there were a variety of places to sit outside and relax. I live just outside London and travel every day to central London and it was nice to stay there and relax.

I never imagined staying somewhere with such a friendly and welcoming atmosphere and now feel refreshed and relaxed. I would highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cddches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2009

We can only echo what other reviewers have said about Rhyd-y-Groes. Eve and Melvyn run an excellent B&B in a lovely part of Wales. The immediate area is very quiet and there are lots of walks around glorious country side to enjoy. We stayed in the log cabin and enjoyed the “remoteness” you feel when being there. The main house and restaurant are only a few yards away, so you don’t have to go far for your breakfast and/or evening meal, drinks, etc. The food was great, really tasty, plenty of choice and generous portion sizes. The high spot for us was seeing all the ducks being let out in the morning (the little things in life) and how they spent the day waddling about the area. In short we utterly enjoyed our stay, would have no problems recommending it and would go back again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SirromTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

We went to Rhyd-y-Groes on the strength of the excellent ratings on Trip Advisor, and were not disappointed. The house was very clean and nothing was too much trouble for Eve and Melvyn.

We dined in their roadside restaurant and counted on one hand the vehicles that went past in over 2 hours.

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NantwichBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Rhyd-y-Groes Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhyd-y-Groes Bed and Breakfast

Property: Rhyd-y-Groes Bed and Breakfast
Address: Bwlchllan SA48 8QN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Bwlchllan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bwlchllan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Rhyd-y-Groes Bed And Breakfast Bwlchllan, UK - Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing