We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Guest House I have ever stayed in”

Rhyd-y-Groes Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bwlchllan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rhyd-y-Groes Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Bwlchllan B&B and Inns
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best Guest House I have ever stayed in”
Reviewed 3 October 2009

This was the best guest house I have stayed in. The facilities were more than what I expected and Eve & Melvin went out of their way to accommodate me. There was an extensive range of freshly prepared meals on the menu. The facilities in the guest house were brilliant; there was even a living room & conservatory downstairs to sit. The guest house was situated in a picturesque part of the countryside. It was very therapeutic to walk around the grounds of the guest house and there were a variety of places to sit outside and relax. I live just outside London and travel every day to central London and it was nice to stay there and relax.

I never imagined staying somewhere with such a friendly and welcoming atmosphere and now feel refreshed and relaxed. I would highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cddches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2009

We can only echo what other reviewers have said about Rhyd-y-Groes. Eve and Melvyn run an excellent B&B in a lovely part of Wales. The immediate area is very quiet and there are lots of walks around glorious country side to enjoy. We stayed in the log cabin and enjoyed the “remoteness” you feel when being there. The main house and restaurant are only a few yards away, so you don’t have to go far for your breakfast and/or evening meal, drinks, etc. The food was great, really tasty, plenty of choice and generous portion sizes. The high spot for us was seeing all the ducks being let out in the morning (the little things in life) and how they spent the day waddling about the area. In short we utterly enjoyed our stay, would have no problems recommending it and would go back again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SirromTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich
Level Contributor
152 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

We went to Rhyd-y-Groes on the strength of the excellent ratings on Trip Advisor, and were not disappointed. The house was very clean and nothing was too much trouble for Eve and Melvyn.

We dined in their roadside restaurant and counted on one hand the vehicles that went past in over 2 hours.

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NantwichBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2009

My husband, myself and our two teenage children stayed for five nights at the end of July. Arriving at the beautiful house was fantastic after 3 nights of very soggy camping! We stayed in the log cabin and the children shared a room in the main house. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable. We were really pleased we had taken the evening meal for the price of B&B option as we had an enormous, delicious, homemade meal to look forward to every night after a long day exploring the glorious welsh countryside. The restaurant was very cosy and we even played darts with Eve and Melvyn. The owners are lovely and nothing was too much trouble, We had a fantastic packed lunch one day and they even included a rug and hamper! Our daughter loved seeing the baby duckling and collecting the eggs for our breakfast. We wouldn't hesitate to visit again and would thoroughly recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vegifour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2009

We stayed at Rhyd-y-groes for 5 nights in August, with our 3 children aged 13 and 2. Our friends also joined us with their children and stayed in the log cabin. All the rooms were spotlessley clean and comfortable. The grounds and views were amazing. The veggie food was lovely, even for the meat eaters. The restaurant is amazing, and has such a lovely atmosphere. Loved the area so much to do, for all ages. The absolute highlight though was Mel and Eve. They are such lovely people that go out of their way to make your stay wonderful. Every morning they took my children to see all the animals (ponies, sheep and ducks). They even let us take the ponies for a walk
and hold 3 week old baby ducklings. Will definately return and recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mancroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2009

We have visited Rhyd-y-Groes several times over the last few years and each time have found exactly the right amount of ambience to come away after only a couple of days to feel totally recharged - something not always possible after 2 weeks away on other breaks!
We have experienced staying in the main house in the immaculate bedrooms, but when staying with our young daughter (now age 8 but only 4 on our first visit) the log cabin holds the exciting allure of a "fairy grotto" with the sound of the stream providing a therapeutic background to our stay (must be incredibly romantic if you are able to stay without a little one in tow!). Indeed if you take the time to wander round the large garden, with it's little bridges crossing and recrossing the stream, my daughter assures me there are indeed fairies to be found!
The hosts Eve and Mel are so welcoming nothing is to much trouble, they are so patient with our daughter, Emily was allowed to help collect eggs from their many ducks (what an hilarous bunch!) help to feed the ponies and pet sheep - no need for computer games we just let her imagination take over.
The restaurant is a little gem, not to formal to worry about having a youngster in tow, but elegant enough for you to feel you are indeed somewhere special. We are not vegetarian but that does not seem to matter because the menu is varied and interesting, making you want to try new things and we have never yet been disappointed. - and oh those breakfasts - what a treat!
We love to drive along the coast road or go up into "the mountains" all of which are easily accessible from here, and there are many lovely walks around the area and we rounded of one such day with a session in the jacuzzi what could be better - heaven!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorfolkStargazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blossominwales
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2009

Having booked in for a two night stay, we really were expecting 'just another B&B'
Not the case - Rhyd-y-Groes Guest House exceeds expectations.
We were warmly greeted by Melvyn and Eve who run the Guest House single handed. Our room was so clean and had wonderful views of the surrounding countryside. The place was so peaceful that we slept soundly - the best sleep we have ever had at a B&B.
We strolled down to the Stone Barn building for our breakfast. The building stands adjacent to a stream with a bridge over leading to a woodland walk - amazing and so romantic.
We opened the door to the restaurant to find a further curtained entrance. Upon opening the curtains to enter the room, our mouths opened in awe of the place and our jaws had to be picked up from the floor.
We had entered another world!
The breakfast was set out on a table for us to choose from cereal, fresh fruit salad, yoghurts, fruit juices etc. Croissants were brought to us by a smiling Eve and Melvyn took our order for a cooked breakfast - fresh duck eggs - how wonderful.
The whole experience was so wonderful that we decided to book for an evening meal. Could things get any better? YES! The meal was as good as any Mitchillen Star Restaurant but without the cost.
Definitely going back - hopefully to celebrate Christmas or New Year.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blossom007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Rhyd-y-Groes Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhyd-y-Groes Bed and Breakfast

Property: Rhyd-y-Groes Bed and Breakfast
Address: Bwlchllan SA48 8QN, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Bwlchllan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bwlchllan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Rhyd-y-Groes Bed And Breakfast Bwlchllan, UK - Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing