We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect hosts and wonderful venue!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Glass House

Amazing View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Amazing View
Look how close we are to the sea!!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
Amazing View
Look how close we are to the sea!!
Your own enclosed veranda and entrance.
Fully equipped kitchen, complete with 2 ring electric induction hob,kettle,toaster,and microwave.
Bathway beach with sun umbrellas, hire loungers, lifeguards and beach bars.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Levera National Park, Saint Patrick Parish, Grenada

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Yogajane3
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect hosts and wonderful venue!”
Reviewed 30 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This is simply a wonderful place to stay and made so by the very welcoming and kind Jane and Denis. They went out of their way to make me feel at home and were very helpful in helping me to make the most of what I wanted from my holiday
The accommodation is superb and I lacked for nothing. The view and the amazing sound of the sea could not have been beaten. This area of the island is unspoiled and the buses provide excellent transportation to access other parts of the island. Peace and quiet and yet great access ability to the other splendours of the island. The chocolate plantation is not to be missed! Also, nearby are the very relaxing, if smelly, sulphur springs.... definitely worth more than one visit there!
The only problem with this whole holiday, was that I did not want to leave and cannot recommend the venue and Jane and Denis highly enough !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2017
Thank-you Jane for a perfect review. We loved hosting you and seeing you make the most of beautiful Grenada. Do, do come again, there is still so much to see and do, especially those turtles which you just missed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janbeaty6...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place to listen to the waves”
Reviewed 11 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Fantastic location in the north of the island - very local, near small town of Sauteurs. Bathway beach a short walk where there are a a few beach bars and a couple of places to eat. Apartment good, clean and well equipped but could do with ceiling fans. Car a must in order to enjoy local areas of interest.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Mar 2017
Thanks for your review Janice, we really enjoyed hosting you. As suggested we are looking into suitable ceiling fans that don't rust in the sea air/breezes and are safe for our ceiling height. We will continue to offer a floor fan until we source that. Yes a car is advised if you are not comfortable with local buses if you want to explore, or we can offer tours and drop offs. Plenty of local walks, beaches, views if you are not wanting to drive, as we know some guests prefer not to drive on holiday . We can always give numbers for local car hires that are are a little more reasonable than St George prices!! Do come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dixie E
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing View”
Reviewed 21 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The location is within walking distance to Bathway Beach & a short drive to lovely Levera Beach in North Grenada. Very relaxing. Convenient to Belmont Estates where cocoa is harvested & made into chocolate. ( I highly recommend the tour). The apartment is as advertised. Jane goes out of her way to make sure you have everything you need. She was quick to reply to E-Mails ahead & gave very good directions there as well as other places we were headed. There are 2 friendly dogs on the property. I was a little wary of not having AC, but it was fine with the open windows. Always a breeze there, & we went to sleep with the sound of the waves.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2017
Many thanks for your lovely review, do come again some day soon !!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lukejpark...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly laid back vibes in beachfront apartment showcases another side to Grenada”
Reviewed 10 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was my third trip to Grenada and I was keen to base myself in the north of the island to get away from the crowds. I must say my stay at the Glass house near Bathway beach was more than I could have hoped for.

The house stands alone overlooking an undeveloped picturesque rugged coastline. A lovely little beach with a couple of low key bar and restaurants was literally around the corner. The apartment was newly furnished and clean.

Jane and Denis the owners were what really made the stay there - with plenty of recommendations for things to do, and going down to nearby Sauters with them was an amazing experience; they introduced me to pretty much the whole town! I certainly felt like a local by the time I left!!

It’s really hard to explain but my time there really was a different, charming, experience and I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking to discover a part of Grenada that the cruise crowds never see.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2017
Many thanks for your lovely review, it's really great to see guests embrace the Island and appreciate how very special the North is. Do come again soon!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy F
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
“CEO of Omega IM Group, LLC”
Reviewed 8 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

The place itself is clean and nice. However there is no air conditioning, no hot water and no access to food or drink of any kind. Too much roughing it for me!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2016
We do give our environmental reasons for no A/C clearly on the site in order for guests to choose whether this is essential for their stay.The natural breeze is generally cool enough, however we do provide a fan for those warmer evenings.The hot water is solar powered, and most guests find it too hot (as we have so much sun and most guests prefer a cool shower), we therefore regulate water pressure all the time. This is easy to do if we are made aware that the water is not hot enough . It is a shame that you did not have time on your 1 night to visit the local beach(5 min stroll) to enjoy the local food and drink at the 8 beach bars (all range of drinks available), or indeed Aggies the local restaurant. A 15 min drive to Sauteurs is also great for several eating places and Petit Anse hotel offers more formal dining. It is also unfortunate the term 'roughing it' has been used as a review, as it conjures up images of back packing/camping, which we feel is not a term that would describe our location and apartment. It is listed as fully equipped as a self catering apartment, for those people who want alternatives to hotels and that is accurately described within the listing. We would always advise guests to fully read descriptions on websites before booking accommodation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amagenis2...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Getting away from it all.....”
Reviewed 23 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

From our first email, Jane was welcoming and accommodating. We had some issues with our travel arrangements but Jane wasn't phased and kept our booking open even without any confirmation that we would even make it to the house!

The apartment itself was just what we wanted; super clean, spacious enough for two people for a week, had excellent views and a nice breeze. Both Jane and her husband Denis gave excellent recommendations for activities and places to visit and even gave us a lift to the bus stop on occasion so we didn't have to walk through the heat of the day! The buses didn't take much getting used to but are nothing like the ones in the UK....actually a refreshing change and you get a great idea of Grenadian life. They can be a bit frantic but far more fun (and much cheaper!) than hiring a car.

For the same price as the local taxis, Jane and Denis collected us from the airport and dropped us off again. I would recommend this as you get a locals' view of the island and they gave us a guided tour of two different routes across the island.

All in all, Grenada is a beautiful island and The Glass House is perfect to get away from it all as it's nowhere near the hustle and bustle of St George's. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and just wish we could have stayed a bit longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and style of the property
Liked least: Mosquitoes
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2016
Thanks so much for a great review. It was a pleasure to see how much you embraced the Island, culture, peace and tranquility . Would certainly love to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAJ21
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So Perfect we've Already booked in for Next Year!”
Reviewed 27 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

After a few days on Grande Anse Beach, we drove North and spent five fabulous days staying in the apartment of The Glass House, aptly named by the locals. I have to make a confession that we have been back in the UK a week but delayed posting a review until we had our next stay booked! From the moment of making initial enquiries, the owners Jane and Denis were very welcoming, gave lots of valuable advice and before we even met them, we felt we were going to visit friends. Their home that they designed and built is stunning and the apartment is furnished and equipped to an exceptionally high standard. It is comfortable and stylish with lovely personal touches. There's even an outside tap close by to rinse the sand off your feet. There are no immediate neighbours and the Atlantic Ocean is a few yards away so you hear the sound of the sea constantly, which we loved. The uninterrupted views of the sea and islands are breath-taking. We woke early every morning and strolled along the beach to a natural pool where it is safe to swim - totally blissful. The sea is as warm as the Caribbean on the other side of the island and there is a constant breeze which makes it very comfortable. Jane and Denis were the perfect hosts and made us feel part of their family. It was my husband's birthday while we were there and Jane surprised him with a home-made birthday cake! Life in this part of the island is a much slower pace than in St Georges. There is only one restaurant, a take-away and a couple of beach shack bars. It is essential to hire a car and be prewarned that the local petrol stations only accept cash. While you will find places in St George's take US$ and sterling, in the north it is mainly EC$ only so be prepared. There are a couple of banks locally so you can exchange foreign currency and take money out of the hole in the wall. The main supermarkets are in St Georges so make sure you stock up before heading north. You can buy in-season fruit and vegetables, eggs and bread locally but Jane did recommend that we do a shop for the more luxury items such as coffee, wine, milk, cream, yoghurt before we went - wise advice. My husband and I usually spend our holidays in places where there is a wide choice of restaurants, so this was a very different experience for us. But... we loved it, so much so, we have already booked to spend 4 weeks at The Glass House next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Jane & Denis were the perfect hosts
Liked least: We loved everything about our stay. We have nothing negative to say.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2016
Thanks Carolyn for an amazing review, we do pre-warn guests they will fall in love with the Island, especially the relaxed pace and culture in the North. We do recommend car hire when staying with us for ease of getting around, although we feel not always essential as many guests staying at Bathway relish the chance to give up their cars , escape the 'rat race' ,and enjoy the beautiful walks. The local buses are very cheap and a great way to explore the Island with the locals, they are certainly an experience worth trying!! You hail and stop them anywhere along the route, very convenient. Lot's of eating places in Sauteurs and Grenville (note most close around 6pm) and a fab hotel, Petit Anse, is open every day and longer hours than the local run eateries.
So glad that guests are choosing to return to Grenada and more importantly, choose to stay with us again!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing