We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Y Talbot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Y Talbot
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tregaron
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed at The Talbot on a Saturday night in September and really enjoyed the stay. We had room no 1 which has been recently refurbished and it was lovely. Nice modern decor, very comfy bed and great wifi. Nice coffee too.

The bathroom was gorgeous with a very clean modern feel and a fantastic shower. My wife took photos and is now talking of doing our bathroom at home so this may end up a more expensive stay than planned.

Service throughout was really friendly and professional. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and the food was very nice and well priced - more pub food than restaurant food if that makes sense. We adjourned to the bar for the rest of the night and met some local characters. The pub seems to make a lot of effort to be a local affair as well as for the benefit of guests which is great to see,

Breakfast was delicious. We will come back again

Room Tip: Make sure you get one of the refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jstanton8869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    69
    13
    6
    0
See reviews for
78
118
11
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, South Wales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

We didn't stay at the hotel but had meal there for our anniversary whilst staying in a cottage nearby. This hotel restaurant had been recommended by a few people so we thought we would treat ourselves for our anniversary.

All the staff were extremely nice, the place was clean and quite nice but the bill £90 for 2 bottles of wine, a bottle of water (£5!) 2 x starters, 2 x main courses, 1 dessert and a coffee!

My husband ordered a Steak medium rare, char-grilled with chips, mushrooms and tomatoes and I ordered a steak, medium, in a red wine sauce with green beans, field mushrooms and potatoes. The steaks were obviously the wrong way around as mine had a lot of blood in it and my husband's didn't. We couldn't swap them as there was sauce on mine. They offered to cook mine more but in my experience if you send a steak back because it is undercooked you usually end up with a cinder so I didn't bother.

We'll just mark this one up to experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gorseinonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

This is the third time in around 3 years that we've stayed at Y Talbot. Very often, when you return somehwere you have really enjoyed in the past the experience can be disappointing. This certainly isn't the case at Y Talbot. The bedrooms are kept spotlessly clean and the high quality of the furniture, fittings etc. used for the refurbishment is evident. All the staff are welcoming and provide an excellent service. We stayed for three nights and ate in the restaurant every night - the standard of the food there is simply amazing. Breakfast was also excellent every day. Our room was on the top floor with a lovely view of the square. The bed was really comfortable, lovely biscuits and even filter coffee in the room, and a lovely, luxurious bathroom. During our stay at the end of August the bar, restaurant and hotel was very busy hosting different events but that made no difference to the quality of the food or the friendly smiles of the staff. Nothing we asked for was 'any touble'. Looking for an excuse now to return!

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Lh15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Travelling through Wales and called in at Tregaron at lunch time.
We have eaten at Y Talbot before and so new what we would expect.
The hotel lived up to expectation on service, food quality, welcome, cleanliness....
Sadly there was no Welsh beer - they apparently had an "English beer week"
We were very disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mick T, Owner at Y Talbot, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thanks for visiting and delighted that you enjoyed your meal. As you know we specialise in top quality ales from Welsh micro breweries sourced from within 50 miles of Tregaron but also have occasional special weeks-last week we had a Burton Ale week featuring four classic Burton ales. We are very proud of the excellent Welsh breweries that we support and encourage (next week we will be serving two ales from the new Mantle brewery in Ceredigion).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frieth, Oxon. UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

As one of the organisers of a touring event for 60 pre-war cars (120 people) we needed to find a suitable lunch stop midway through a tour of the Cambrian mountains.

We stumbled over Y Talbot and are so pleased we did so! In the slightly remote town of Tregaron here is a hotel that can cater for groups of our size with ease.

The hotel management is friendly and professional and their catering is extremely good - and also so generous that we were sent on our ways with doggie bags!

They were catering for a wedding party straight after our visit, all of which they took in their stride.

The hotel and its bedrooms have recently had a makeover and the rooms are stylishly and comfortably appointed.

I returned 2 days later with my wife and we enjoyed a very pleasant bar meal - nice menu, good choice of dishes. Would I re-visit? Definitely!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGPAman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxon
Level Contributor
120 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

I only stayed for one night in a single room but this hotel seemed to get everything right.
I ate in the bar which was rather busy however service and quality were fine. Probably
should have gone into the restaurant for a bit more space. room had small flat screen TV
kettle with tea and coffee, however no bath. A few tables outside the bar area overlook the town square. Breakfast was substantial.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ironmanOxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

My husband had stayed there previously and his room had been one of the newly 'done up' ones at the posh end of the hotel.
He was sufficiently thrilled with it to suggest we go back together. Plush, he said; great food, he said; lots of attention to detail, he said. Book us in, I said.
Anyway, booked in once again for work he was in the older part of the hotel - sparklingly clean but a little unloved. That said, we had the kind of room the Americans would call 'quaint'.
I ended up staying with him because... well, long story.
If we'd booked independently, we would have known to ask for a room at the "other" end. As my appearance was an impromptu one, we just were glad of a huge comfy bed and Jacuzzi bath.
So what if the floor flooded because the shower curtain didn't quite fit right?
There were plenty of towels to mop it up.
And so what if the wardrobe door came off in his hand when he went to look for another pillow?
Bit of balancing in the morning, and it was fine.
Previously we'd had food in the main bar, a dark and lovely space that just drips in nostalgia.
This time, we pushed the boat out and headed for the restaurant - it's a swankier setting, but the menu's the same as you'll find in the bar.
Again situated in the posh part, it was just brilliant and some of the best restaurant food we've had.
A table for two in a room which became quite busy due to a wedding party, we weren't kept waiting for anything.
The portions were generous and simply delicious. Ever had smoky mashed potatoes? Try them here first, and make sure you have it with the chicken. I could have had 2 plates of it and still have been in a dream land made up of spuds and meat and veg done good
The wardrobe breaker had duck comfit which was very good. We followed it with two slabs of strawberry cheesecake, a thin band of chocolate running on top of the biscuit base a surprise that worked.
Breakfast in the morning was lovely too - only one criticism, please sort out the toaster,
At the breakfast bar, which groaned under the weight of the usual cereal/fruit/pastry combos, there was a self-service toaster.
It took 76 years for my two slices of brown to do. I could have gone back up and fixed the wardrobe door by the time it took to pop out if I'd thought about it.
But we'll be back - what better recommendation is there than that?
And we'll ask for a room on the posh side.
And we'll definitely eat in the just brilliant restaurant again.
And I think I'll make do without the toast.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly done up ones. You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HJCorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mick T, Owner at Y Talbot, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thanks for your review. You stayed in our last unrenovated Standard Double Room which will close for renovation next week to emerge as a Superior Double Room early next year. Needless to say the wardrobe will also be retired-but thanks for fixing the door!
Delighted that you enjoyed both the food and the ambience and that you will visit us again. With all our nine superior rooms and suites renovated to the same high specification it won't matter where you stay in the hotel and our renovated rooms are proving very popular, if in any doubt please give us a ring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tregaron
9.7 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
12.2 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#3 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
15.1 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Black Lion Royal Hotel
14.7 mi away
George Borrow Hotel
George Borrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ponterwyd
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Y Talbot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Y Talbot

Property: Y Talbot
Address: The Square, Tregaron SY25 6JL, Wales (Formerly Talbot Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Tregaron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tregaron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Y Talbot 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Y Talbot is an historic Grade 2 Listed Inn situated on the town square in the bustling market town of Tregaron. Under new ownership since 2010 the property has been sensitively restored to offer 13 high quality rooms, restaurant and characterful 16th century pub all set in a superb landscaped garden. The Welsh speaking staff offer a warm "Croeso" to guests from near and far. Whether its for a weekend break in the stunning and tranquil Cambrian mountains, for a feast of Welsh cuisine or for a wedding or celebration Y Talbot can cater for your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Y Talbot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
y Talbot Hotel Tregaron
Y Talbot Tregaron, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing