We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expectations”
Review of Y Talbot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Y Talbot
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tregaron
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2014

After a very nice first visit expectations were high prior to our second. The rooms cannot be faulted, clean and well equipped. In the dining room the food was good and well presented but lacked the flair we previously experienced. On the one evening there were a handful of children in the dining room who were constantly in and out of the room, not ideal for paying guests. The staff are a very friendly smiling bunch who will help in any way they can. The contrast in the bar area is vast, the smoking, open fire resulted in our clothes being unwearable without being washed. Overall it is worth a visit and would recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nev1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mick T, Owner at Y Talbot, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Thanks for your comments and for visiting us again. I regret that you were disturbed during your meal by some lively children, we welcome families in our restaurant but note your comments and have discussed this with our staff to give them more confidence in managing this more effectively.
Concerning the fire in the bar we have had problems this winter with the very strong winds which can create a down draught in the extreme weather that we have experienced. A stove rather than an open fire would resolve this occasional problem but our customers love the welcome of an open fire!
We will be completing our landscaping this spring to provide a series of attractive outdoor seating areas, we hope to welcome you again in more clement weather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
There are newer reviews for Y Talbot
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

This was our second stay at the Talbot the 1st being during the re-ferb.It has been finished to a high standard and the staff were very welcoming.If your dining in the restaurant try not to have a table by the doors to the kitchen as my back was cold with the doors being opened at regular intervals.The food was of high standard but i thought had dropped slightly from our last visit,just little things like food balance and bread to starter ratio. There were children running round the dinning room on one night which was slightly unpleasant when trying to have a quite dinner.The rooms are finished to a high standard but cold on first arrival.The on suite bathroom was stunning but a larger towel wouldn't go a miss when coming out of the shower.Overall another good stay will be going back.

Room Tip: Its worth staying in room 1 or 2 superior rooms with good views of the square.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mick T, Owner at Y Talbot, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thankyou for visiting us again. There were clearly a couple of niggles on your second visit for which we apologise; all our rooms have individual thermostatic controls and our policy is to have them set prior to arrival to ensure your room is warm-we clearly failed in this instance; concerning children running around in the restaurant on one evening of your stay we note your comments-we aim to provide a relaxing environment for all our guests.
We very much look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I had a fantastic experience at this hotel. The quality of the rooms is outstanding and good value-for-money; the quality of finish would easily be comparable to a good four star hotel. The staff are welcoming and keen to ensure that you enjoy your stay. The food is delicious and there is a good range. I would recommend this place without reservation and I am looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveB1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mick T, Owner at Y Talbot, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thanks for your kind feedback, we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

After travelling to our place in Llanfair, we had worked in the rain and were absolutely soaking, wet through. On our return we stopped at the talbot as we had previously. The Lunch was divine. Beer battered cod, puree peas and Chips were from Heaven. My wife had the Beef pie with puff oastry which was also excellent. The staff are so pleasing it is a pleasure to stay there.

Room Tip: The hotel is warm and inviting the rooms are brilliant.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frederic J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I recently stayed in this recently remodelled historic hotel and was very pleasantly surprised at the overall quality of the accommodation and food. The decor in the public areas and rooms is of a very high standard, my top floor room overlooking the centre of the village had a particularly large and stylish ensuite shower room, all furnished and specified to a much higher standard than you would expect to find in rural hotels.
The remodelling and new decor has not destroyed the character of the building, the bar areas in particular remain cosy and intimate, with none of the faux village pub fakery you find in the chain pubs. My evening meal which I ate by the bar's open fire was a delicious steak pie with super smooth buttery mash and fresh veg, very tasty and well presented. The Welsh breakfast next morning was excellent too, the bacon being very nice indeed.
Y Talbot would be an excellent base for exploring the local area, which has some fine scenery, with plenty of free parking immediately outside, level access into the building and a variety of public spaces for functions or meetings. I'll be back to Y Talbot if I return to Tregaron.

Room Tip: The village seems quite quiet at night and the windows are refurbished so rooms at the front are unl...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corb2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This is the best Hotel that we have stayed in, the staff was friendly, and so efficient, the room was clean and comfy !! The food is first class, and excellent value for your money. The breakfast kept us going all day.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Son no 1 and myself had a bowl of cawl first class reminded me of my childhood (60 years ago) in this area. Pont Llanio .The wife had the fish cake again very good. The staff were friendly and helpful. Still no sign of the Elephant. Will visit again if I am in the area. Diolch

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Billm42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tregaron
9.7 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
730 reviews
14.0 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
319 reviews
12.2 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
225 reviews
15.0 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
484 reviews
18.1 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Y Talbot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Y Talbot

Address: The Square, Tregaron SY25 6JL, Wales (Formerly Talbot Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Tregaron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tregaron
Price Range: £77 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Y Talbot 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Y Talbot is an historic Grade 2 Listed Inn situated on the town square in the bustling market town of Tregaron. Under new ownership since 2010 the property has been sensitively restored to offer 13 high quality rooms, restaurant and characterful 16th century pub all set in a superb landscaped garden. The Welsh speaking staff offer a warm "Croeso" to guests from near and far. Whether its for a weekend break in the stunning and tranquil Cambrian mountains, for a feast of Welsh cuisine or for a wedding or celebration Y Talbot can cater for your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Y Talbot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
y Talbot Hotel Tregaron
Y Talbot Tregaron, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing