We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pretty fine place indeed”
Review of Y Talbot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Y Talbot
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tregaron
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Came away for a weekend break - last time we stayed was 1990 so expected a few changes ... Well , the cosy , characterful inn part has not changed at all but the rooms are now extremely clean , comfortable and contemporary . And the food was really of the highest standard - & as part of their weekend break deal was very good value . Staff were friendly and helpful , breakfast was excellent .
We really noticed the small touches and things like ground coffee available in the room plus home made biscuits were very well received .
Finding it hard to offer any criticism - so I won't . A great place for a break indeed .

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank will b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 334 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

As a party of 25 tourist guides dining at the Talbot on Saturday 26th we all had a warm Welsh welcome by staff, a wonderful atmosphere. Modernised but retaining a charming character. Food was scrumtious all locally sourced.Everyone left happy. A Great Sense of Place.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Roberta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

A lovely hotel, nicely refurbished. Nice touches included a cafetière and ground coffee in the bedroom as well as an iPod dock. There is also secure bike storage for cyclists. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stripysocks123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This hotel is in a gorgeous part of the world in a town that is nestled in the Welsh countryside. The hotel itself is awesome - we loved the atmosphere and spent several hours sitting in the bar enjoying the ambience. We ate here as well and were impressed with the food. My Welsh Crawl was very tasty and my husband's mushroom lasagna was a huge hit.
We stayed in a small twin room as this was all that was available when we booked. The beds were very comfortable though the room itself was small. The hotel didn't seem that busy so it may have been the booking site we used that suggested limited availability.
Breakfast was delicious - the bacon the best we've had in the UK... My boiled eggs - perfect!
If our room was a little larger (and a double or queen bed) this hotel would definitely rate a five.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Diandjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

we had only booked for one night , wish we could have stayed for longer. Property has been renovated to a very high standard, great room with really big bathroom. comfortable bed, fantastic shower.we enjoyed a wonderful dinner in the restaurant. the braised Lamb was beautiful and the caramelised banana cheese cake was probably the best cheese cake I have ever had. will definitely return hopefully for longer next time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill0528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here overnight and couldn't praise it highly enough. The decor is modern but warm and inviting. Bathrooms and bedrooms fitted out to a very high standard and all the expected facilities were available. The food on offer was of a high standard and plenty of it, you won't go hungry here! Breakfast food and service were brilliant. We will be back!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jacqui B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We are so pleased to have discovered Y Talbot. It is one of the best places we have ever stayed. We had a lovely welcome at reception and throughout our stay every single member of staff was friendly, cheerful and helpful. Our room was beautiful and comfortable, with free wifi, ground coffee and perculator, home made biscuits, flat screen TV, comfy chairs, desk, huge bed and fantastic bathroom . Food was delicious - the steak and the home made pies are lovely and the desserts are absolutely gorgeous. Breakfast was filling with local bacon and sausages, huge field mushrooms and roast tomatoes. The location was perfect. Its a beautiful part of the world and we have personal connections to both Strata Florida and Aberystwyth so it was the ideal spot for us. Possibly parking could have been a problem - there was no space in the pub car park due to decorators vans and the spaces in the Square outside seem to fill up quickly, but we managed to find a place each time and I am sure there is usually plenty of space in the Talbot's own car park. We are already planning a return visit and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The rooms over looking the Square are great - there is always something going on but there is no noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorsetbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tregaron
9.7 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lampeter
747 reviews
12.2 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
528 reviews
13.8 mi away
Feathers@Aberaeron
Feathers@Aberaeron
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
505 reviews
18.1 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
946 reviews
15.2 mi away
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
#10 of 13 in Aberystwyth
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Y Talbot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Y Talbot

Address: The Square, Tregaron SY25 6JL, Wales (Formerly Talbot Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Tregaron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tregaron
Price Range: £80 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Y Talbot 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Y Talbot is an historic Grade 2 Listed Inn situated on the town square in the bustling market town of Tregaron. Under new ownership since 2010 the property has been sensitively restored to offer 13 high quality rooms, restaurant and characterful 16th century pub all set in a superb landscaped garden. The Welsh speaking staff offer a warm "Croeso" to guests from near and far. Whether its for a weekend break in the stunning and tranquil Cambrian mountains, for a feast of Welsh cuisine or for a wedding or celebration Y Talbot can cater for your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Y Talbot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
y Talbot Hotel Tregaron
Y Talbot Tregaron, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing