We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chips missing ingredient X!”
Review of Y Talbot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Y Talbot
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tregaron
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Lovely place, rooms are great, clean tidy and modern.
Staff are helpful and cheerful. Location is fab, thought it might be a bit noisy as we had a front facing room but all was quiet throughout the night.
My husband was looking forward to the evening meal but was a little disappointed with the chips - the missing ingredient was LOVE! He felt they were overcooked, acceptable but not wonderful which was a bit of a shame.
Everything else was spot on.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gaynor271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

Stopped here on the off chance and found a fabulous pub that's been sympathetically restored. We had the homemade burger for lunch which was one of the best we've ever had. Friendly service and a spectacular garden at the back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Noahgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed here on business for just the one night and have booked again for next week.

A gem of a place which I only wish I had found years ago.

Staff are fantastic and cannot do enough for you and with real ale and fresh food it was a pleasure staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank SunTan_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The restaurant has been modernised and looks clean and well looked after. Charming waitress (but could do with some training re; menu/drinks. However lovely girl and a credit to the business. The meal was nice but the menu is quite limited. The food was good though well presented & tasty. Very friendly staff and would visit again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Come here every year for a biking weekend and am amazed by hard work of management to bring the hotel and gardens up to a great standard. Also pleased to see that the bar is also popular with locals as the centre of the town. Food in restaurant is first class and local sourced. Well worth a visit for local scenery whether on foot, cycle, bike or car!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Like a previous reviewer I must return to find fault!! The beer was proper draught beer well looked after. I do enjoy a lager but not when there is beer like this available. The food was outstanding. The beetroot cured salmon starter, the duck with bean cassoulet, the crème brulie to name but a few dishes. The staff were all very helpful. We were there on a 3 day deal B & B + evening meal which was very good value for money.
An excellent location for Rural Mid-Wales. We enjoyed Strata Florida, Cors Caron, Newquay dolphins and the Welsh Wildlife Centre in Cilgeran and more red kites than I have ever seen.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

It was such a surprise to find an hotel/inn of this high quality in a quiet Welsh backwater. My wife and I stayed 2 nights bed and breakfast and then paid extra for 2 nights dinner at the hotel which proved to be a wise choice as the quality of the food and price were really good. There is a reasonably extensive wine list and again, reasonable prices. The bedroom we had (No. 1.) was well appointed and stylishly decorated and with a bed that was very comfortable. The bathroom was very large and equipped with the highest quality fittings imaginable. The shower was among the best we have ever encountered. The room overlooks the town square where there is plenty of daytime activity, often interesting to watch. There is a modern type restaurant as an integral part of the hotel and this is where breakfast is served. However, we chose to eat in the bar rooms where the atmosphere was very pleasant. It would be remiss if we did not mention the very friendly staff at all levels, from the owner downwards. He is obviously a hands on owner to whom we got chance to chat, and he told us that he had owned it since 2010, and only now are the main refurbishment tasks completed. The last seems to have been the rear car park and gardens, those being to a very high standard in keeping with the rest of the place. Parking is free in the car park but the town square at the front of the hotel is also free to park and we never had a problem finding a space. The surrounding countryside is absolutely delightful and should we be in the area again, would not hesitate to choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: A room at the front of the hotel would be a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FreddyFBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tregaron
9.7 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lampeter
736 reviews
14.0 mi away
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
Aberystwyth Park Lodge Hotel
#6 of 13 in Aberystwyth
326 reviews
12.2 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
Belle Vue Royal Hotel
#8 of 13 in Aberystwyth
368 reviews
15.2 mi away
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
Gwesty'r Marine Hotel
#10 of 13 in Aberystwyth
458 reviews
15.0 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Y Talbot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Y Talbot

Address: The Square, Tregaron SY25 6JL, Wales (Formerly Talbot Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Tregaron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tregaron
Price Range: £79 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Y Talbot 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Y Talbot is an historic Grade 2 Listed Inn situated on the town square in the bustling market town of Tregaron. Under new ownership since 2010 the property has been sensitively restored to offer 13 high quality rooms, restaurant and characterful 16th century pub all set in a superb landscaped garden. The Welsh speaking staff offer a warm "Croeso" to guests from near and far. Whether its for a weekend break in the stunning and tranquil Cambrian mountains, for a feast of Welsh cuisine or for a wedding or celebration Y Talbot can cater for your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Y Talbot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
y Talbot Hotel Tregaron
Y Talbot Tregaron, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing