We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Day trip to Petite Terre Guadeloupe with Miami Vice 2”
Review of Petite Terre

Petite Terre
Ranked #7 of 198 things to do in Guadeloupe
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Day trip to Petite Terre Guadeloupe with Miami Vice 2”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We booked with our children a boat trip to Petite Terre with Miami Vice 2 but first day they said they had mechanical problems so they told us to come back next day. So next day we were there at 7 o'clock in the morning, children all excited but again cancelled because of maybe bad weather coming. All other boats left that morning except Miami Vice 2. If I would like to make suggestion look at the booking office in the harbour and book there and not with the Miami Vice.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Jan Willem e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    82
    29
    13
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Take AWAK boat with Capt. Gilles”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We booked a trip with Capt. Gilles and AWAK which was located just down the st. from our hotel. He speaks English which helped as we were the only non-French speakers on board. The boat is very comfortable. There were no problems with sea-sickness and we arrived after about 35 minutes on the water. There were kayaks and snorkeling equipment (which was a bit old) so we swam, snorkeled, and walked to the lighthouse (where we saw HUGE iguanas - it's a protected reserve). It was a hot day, and there's not much shade so take a lot of sunscreen. We saw a large lemon shark out in the water which was a bit disconcerting (even though we read they were "harmless" the one we saw was 6-8 ft. long), and to get to the best snorkeling spots was a bit of a swim. We also saw 4 baby lemon sharks close to the beach which was more entertaining and not scary! After re-boarding the ship we went below decks to the glass bottom and got to see many large sea turtles which was great. Lunch was grilled chicken, couscous, bread with dip and blood sausage (not our cup of tea but others seemed to enjoy it). Lots of punch and shots of rum. Day runs from about 8 am to 5 pm. Cost was 68 Euros per adult. Well worth it - was definitely one of our favorite days on the island.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Dani R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a must see”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

take the bigger katamarans, otherwise there is a chance of getting see sick. very nice service on board and on the island

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank PetR971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great trip to Petite Terre with AWAK and Captain Gilles”
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We chose to do a full-day trip with our three children (12, 10 and 9) to Petite Terre with AWAK -- the cost was 65EU per adult and 30EU per child (adults are 12 and up). The day was overcast, which was good, as we were on and in the water for hours! The ride out to Petite Terre was a bit lumpy, with 3 or 4 of the 50 passengers feeling seasick (one man very sick off the back of the boat). We fortunately took anti-nausea medication the night before, which I think helped. The ride is about 45 minutes and departed in a timely fashion (maybe 5-10 min late, waiting for a couple of late passengers -- including ourselves). We were immediately warmly greeted by Captain Gilles, a charming Frenchman with a big personality! As the only English-speaking passengers, he went out of his way to make us feel at home, and took the time to translate all information to us separately. The crew was great as well, with one crewman in particular (Jean-Marc), taking particular care to speak to us in English and make us feel at home. When we arrived at the island, the water was clear and we could see the harmless lemon sharks and barracuda around the boat -- very exciting from the start! To get from the boat to the land, you must either go in small dinghy or walk across in waist-deep water as the boat is anchored out about 20 feet from shore. We snorkeled immediately and saw many pretty fish as well as a sea-turtle. Back on land we took the guided walk about the island and to the lighthouse. Lovely views and many iguana. Back at the beach, it was time for a ti-punch and appertifs, followed by lunch (rice dish, chicken, baked potato from the grill, bananas in rum)....all very good. Captain Gilles was very entertaining throughout the lunch-time -- even calling up various guests to do kissing shots which was very funny and actually brought together a couple of young guests who previously had not known one another. He took great care to speak to each and every guest and to say something funny to make everyone smile. Lunch took about 2 hours and then we went back for more snorkeling followed by a short tour in the bottom of the glass-bottomed boat. AWAK also provides 4 kayaks although we did not have time to use them. The ride back was smooth and we were able to sit on the top deck and enjoy the warm breeze. A lovely and memorable day. Thank you Captain Gilles!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank PartyOfFive_ChicagO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Petite Terre - a must do while in Guadeloupe!”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

A day trip to the Islands of Petite Terre is a must while visiting Guadeloupe. Petite Terre is a protected reserve about 20 kilometers south-east of Saint-Francois on the east end of Guadeloupe. We chose to take a 13.7 m (45 ft) Catamaran (Frantz III with Uhaina Croisieres) at about 80 euros per person. The boat leaves on time (around 7:30 am) from the Marina in Saint-Francois and the sailing trip takes about 1.5 to 2 hours and can be rough at times depending on the sea, but the views of Grande Terre and la Pointe des Chateaux and eventually Petite Terre are beautiful. The tour boats anchor in a beautiful lagoon between the two islands where the main attraction is the snorkelling. In the lagoon, you may see beautiful fish, turtles, rays, barracudas and harmless small lemon sharks. The current in the lagoon can be strong in some areas so flippers are recommended. On land, the main attraction is the palm tree-lined beach and the iguanas which are all over. You can take an easy 30-minute walk to the lighthouse and nearby shores. We had a grilled barbecued lunch (fish and chicken) in the picnic area, grilled bananas with rum for dessert and homemade maracuja ti-punch (always a treat!). The boat leaves by 3:30 pm and is back at the Marina before 5:30 pm. The Uhaina crew (Tibo and JF) were great!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank RumRunner65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Petite Terre also viewed

Guadeloupe, Caribbean
Saint Francois, Grande-Terre Island
 
Parc National, Basse-Terre Island
Sainte-Anne, Grande-Terre Island
 

Been to Petite Terre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing