We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Toubana Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Sainte-Anne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We have stayed in the suite overlooking the sea. It was more like a two storey town house rather than a room.
It had a kitchen, lounge, terrace, downstairs bathroom with shower, upstairs bedroom with on suite and balcony. It is all brand new and stylishly decorated. Kitchen had quality appliances, there is dish washer, washing machine, fridge, nespresso coffee machine, blender, toaster, etc. There is also it's own little garden.
The hotel has a small private beach that they have created. It is inside a small cove which means it is fairly quiet. The hotel guests have the use of the beach beds that are size of king beds with what you can describe as beach mattresses.
The hotel is not too far from what is considered one of the best beaches in Guadeloupe, Caravelle beach. It is sheltered from the waves in the swimming area and quite windy and suitable for kite and windsurfing around the corner. It is a public beach.

The only 2 faults I found with hotel were

1. Dish washer wanted us to load rinse aid and salt on top of tablets. Given that we were self catering and only staying a week, it was sort of expensive to buy all of that for dishwasher, so we just bought washing up liquid.
2. No water for 2 days. That was an issue indeed and not very pleasant one.

Stayed: December 2013
4  Thank Elena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (934)
There are newer reviews for La Toubana Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 934 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

I was there a few years ago. What a wonderful place to stay. Very close to the beach of Set-Anne and a few minutes from the Club-Med, wish is a very good place to spend a day if you want.
I recommend this hotel, the staff, the rooms and the restaurant are very good...

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Ocean
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanAnderson-Quebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 days in July 2013. We stayed in a beach bungalow that was clean and pleasant but did feel a little dark unless you had all the shutters open and were prepared to provide a food supply for the mosquitos.It's a shame to have to put lights on in the middle of the day. The other parts of the hotel, at the beach bar, the bar at the pool side (never open) and the pool all need some serious maintenance to replace the rotten wood and rusting railings.
During our stay we found the staff to be very friendly, helpful in patient with our non-existent French. The restaurant in the evening deserves a special mention as it served some of the best meals we had on the island and more than compensated for the tired building.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

My husband and I spent the last 3 nights of our honeymoon at this hotel, and it had it's pluses and minuses. I'll start with the pluses.

We had bungalow #10, which I highly recommend for what I believe was the best view of all the bungalows. The view of the ocean was absolutely stunning. You could see the beautiful hotel beach down the hill below the room, the Club Med beach across the way and an endless ocean view.

The room had a great verandah with chaise loungers and a table and chairs. It was a nice place to relax with a glass of wine, and it truly was the best part of the bungalow. Inside, the room was basic and pretty small. It had a kitchenette with a sink and small refrigerator. The bedroom was taken up almost entirely by a comfortable, king-size bed. The closet was extremely shallow/small, and there was a small flat screen TV. The bathroom had an open shower to the sink and toilet. The room was clean and the AC worked very well.

We enjoyed spending time at the hotel's beach, which offered a gorgeous view of the coastline and a nice, calm and clear beach. There were plenty of loungers to choose from and the beach got sun all day.

Service at the front desk was pretty good, considering that we didn't speak any French, and most of the staff there speak limited English. The front desk was helpful in escorting us to our room, calling cabs for us and recommending restaurants.

Now for the minuses...

The hotel needs some serious TLC (a fresh coat of paint would be a good start). I couldn't help but feel that this hotel had so much potential to be really luxurious (Nicolas Sarkozy has stayed there), but there were a lot of issues. The pool was just okay. It's made up of a very nice infinity pool with a wonderful view, a wading pool and a hot tub. However, the wading pool didn't have any water in it. Instead the hotel had randomly put beanbag chairs and a table and chairs in it, to make for a social gather area. Very strange. Also, the Jacuzzi didn't work. It was cold.

The shower in our bathroom didn't work properly. It was a hand-held shower that you should have been able to hook up to the wall to free up your hands, but this hook didn't work. We ended up getting water all over the floor of the bathroom since there is no door to the shower.

The restaurant was convenient, but our dinner wasn't very good. In particular, my husband's mahi-mahi was very bland. We went out for dinner the rest of the time we stayed there.

The service at the beach wasn't good. We had to get up and go to the beachside restaurant every time we wanted something, as there were very few waiters. The waiters would bring out your drinks to you after you ordered, but it was frustrating to have to go find someone every time you wanted a drink or food.

This hotel is open to the public, and the public very much take advantage of this, which we were fine with up to a certain point. However, on our last day there, as we were laying out at the beach, we looked up to see a strange woman and man taking in the view from our private balcony right outside our room. My husband walked all the way up the hill, back to our bungalow to see what was going on. We could tell these strangers were rearranging our chase loungers, so apparently they were looking to stay for a while. When my husband got there, he found 3 people in the middle of what appeared to be an amature photo shoot. He asked them to leave, and they asked him for 5 more minutes. He insisted that they leave at once. This was probably the most inappropriate experience I've ever had at a hotel. We tried to explain this to the front desk, but I'm not sure that they understood us entirely. If the hotel wasn't so open to the public, I don't think this would have happened, but these people clearly felt entitled to our private space that we were paying for. It was unnerving to say the least.

I cannot recommend this hotel with total confidence. I got the sense that it was more of a public restaurant, public beach and public pool with some rooms for those that may like to stay there, rather than a nice hotel/resort.

La Toubana may be nice when comparing with Guadeloupean standards, so I'm not sure how much nicer of a hotel you could find in Guadeloupe. However, I'm sorry to say that this hotel is only average by American standards. I was disappointed.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
12  Thank chethoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Toubana is a wonderful hostel with bungalows and a very nice swimming pool. There is a very nice private beach!!!
I recommanded this place for the view, the personal who is very smart. The location of the hostel is just amazing you can see the ocean, WONDERFUL

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pierre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We chose to have drinks at the pool bar before heading back to Deshaies after our sailing trip. This place is beautiful (the pictures don't give it justice). We had refreshing Mojitos by the pool and enjoyed the amazing views. They have two restaurants (one by the pool and one by the ocean). The restaurants don't open until Noon and nothing moves fast, but nothing moves fast in Guadeloupe. They speak very little English here, but were willing to work with my very little French.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Aspendouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We have recently returned from a three night stay at La Toubana as part of a 4 island Caribbean holiday. The location of the hotel is amazing and the entrance to the hotel on walkways over ponds is very attractive. All the accommodation is in bungalows and we had Number 10 which seemed to have the best location as it was near the reception and pool and at the top of the hill with a fabulous view of the water. As other reviewers have mentioned, the walk down to some of the bungalows and the beach is very steep and I might suggest that the hotel considers using a golf buggy to transport guests up and down as the beach area is definitely worth a visit. The small bay is great for swimming and the area is surrounded by a lovely deck with super comfy loungers.

The infinity pool looks beautiful but the swimming area is quite small as there are several raised areas within the pool which limit the swimming area. There is a beach bar at the pool but unfortunately it was never open during our stay. There are a few comfy loungers at the pool and several large bean bag chairs.

One of the problems we encountered was that the hotel allows local residents to use the pool and beach facilities. We were there over a weekend and there were several noisy children who were not hotel guests, splashing around in the pool. The local residents also took over most of the loungers at the pool and beach.

The hotel has wifi but we could not connect in our bungalow or at the pool, only in the lobby area. The hotel is located near St. Anne’s which also has beaches, several shops, cheap restaurants and bars. You do need to rent a car as the hotel is situated about 2km from the main town area. One of the major issues is the traffic in the morning and evening rush hour. We wanted to go to Basse Terre and had to leave the hotel at 5.30am to avoid the traffic into Point a Pitre as the previous day it took us an hour and a half to cover 8 km.

Although the hotel itself is lovely and is quite expensive the staff are generally rather abrupt and unfriendly. The reception staff speak adequate English but we found the bar and restaurant staff had very limited knowledge of English.

The bathroom needs to be improved. The light was on a motion sensor which took several seconds to turn on. The shower was a hand held style located fairly low down on the wall and when we tried to attach it to the upper connection, it kept falling down. A fixed shower should be installed. There was no bathtub. Facecloths were not provided.

There was also a lack of managerial presence in the hotel. When staying at a hotel that advertises itself as 4 stars, with prices to match, one expects to see the manager walking around, talking to the guests and making sure everyone is satisfied with the hotel but this was not the case in this hotel. We ate dinner one night at the hotel and although my meal was OK, my husband ordered the chicken curry which was awful, more like a scraggy pigeon.

To summarise I would give the hotel 3.5- 4 stars, mainly because of its location but would suggest that visitors try and avoid staying there over the weekend if possible.

Room Tip: Be sure to try and get a bungalow near the pool and reception area at the top of the hill
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 1BriKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte-Anne
7.0 mi away
La Creole Beach Hotel & Spa
4.3 mi away
Le Relais du Moulin
Le Relais du Moulin
#3 of 9 in Sainte-Anne
118 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Amaudo
Hotel Amaudo
#1 of 8 in Saint Francois
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Auberge de la Vieille Tour
Auberge de la Vieille Tour
#4 of 23 in Le Gosier
477 reviews
7.1 mi away
Mahogany Hotel Residence and Spa
22.2 mi away
Le Jardin Malanga
Le Jardin Malanga
#1 of 3 in Trois Rivieres
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Toubana Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Toubana Hotel & Spa

Address: 4 On N, Sainte-Anne 97180, Guadeloupe
Region: Caribbean > Guadeloupe > Grande-Terre Island > Sainte-Anne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Sainte-Anne
Price Range: £218 - £493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Toubana Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms : 32 sea view bungalows including 6 Junior Suites Ocean view, 4 Junior Suites Garden View and 1 Suite Ocean spread in a tropical garden. (bungalow quadruple = Junior Suite)Occupation bungalow classic : 2 adults + 1 child OR 3 adults + 1 child. Maximum occupation 3 persons. Surface area ≈ 50 sqm. Occupation Junior Suite : 2 adults + 2 children OR 3 adults + 1 child OR 2 adults + 1 child + 1 infant. Maximum occupation 4 persons. Surface area ≈ 70sqm.Amenities :Bungalow equipped with kitchenette, bathroom with bath tub or shower, hair-drier, private terrace with long chairs, chairs and table. Room: internationnal dial phone, flat TV, individual air-conditioning, safe box, 220 V electricity, a king size bed or 2 twin beds. Seminars : 2 meeting rooms ; 12 and 30 people, air conditioned, projection system, WIRELESS on communal part. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Toubana Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Toubana
La Toubana Ste Anne
La Toubana Hotel & Spa Guadeloupe/Sainte-Anne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing