We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food with a great host”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostellerie des Chateaux
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Saint Francois
Certificate of Excellence
HEL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food with a great host”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Spent 7 days here in early December with the family. Food was outstanding and the bungalows very clean and comfortable.

Good location to best beaches on this side of the island.

Thanks to Michel for making our stay a pleasant one.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tuomas p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    45
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
133
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Located near a beautiful beach, this hotel is perfect for enjoying Guadeloupe. Michel make you want to stay forever with great tips of what to do, amazing hospitality, and if you are lost he even lends you his car ;) The restaurant at the hostellerie serves delicious food, one of the best crab starters we have ever tasted. Great value for money!

Remember: Rent a car in advance!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank djblund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We spent 9 nights here. The bungalow was very comfortable and the outdoor kitchen allowed us to eat fabulous French cheese and bread on our patio and save a bundle on food which helped since were felt exchange rate poor. The manager and all the staff were perfect: pleasant, attentive and helpful. My wife's travel French is OK, but the manager was indispensable when we had some car trouble. Very close to the East end and marvelous beaches. The only draw back is the distance from Basse-Terre and the hiking there. However, there are well marked, good quality walking paths throughout Guadeloupe and great walks from the hotel.
Nice pool. Great family atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greybutstillgoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

My husband and I and 2 kids had a great time here. It's a lovely place and they really look after you well. We found Guadeloupe really expensive generally, but at this hotel you get a really nice hotel for a decent price. The pool is lovely and so is the food, all really fresh and local; what looked like homemade yoghurt for breakfast. We had an evening meal here too and that was great. Michel is a fantastic host - couldn't rate him highly enough, he made us feel very welcome. Other staff were really nice too. A great hotel.

Room Tip: It all seems really nice here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bobty47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2011

We've been in Guadeloupe at the beginning of April, and it has been a great stay! We were in one of the bungalows - really nice!, birds singing in the morning and soft lights in the evening, and we've enjoyed Michel's hospitality since the very first moment (he welcomed us with a delighful aperitif and a nice chat by the swimming-pool!). Michel helped us in many ways, finding the right car rental, figuring out what to do on the isles, suggesting trips and places to see. The Hostellerie's restaurant, too, is very good, perfect for a well deserved dinner after a whole day out having fun! We miss you, guys...

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zakfett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2011

Michel is the perfect host, helping with any problem you might have on the island as well as with routine questions. His warm welcome was much appreciated. He and his staff provide comfort and good service. We loved the quiet setting which is also convenient (by car) to nice beaches, walks, and other sites of interest.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2011

If you're among the myriad Americans who love France, the French language, and French food, we strongly encourage you to consider Guadeloupe and the lovely Hostellerie des Chateaux as a winter getaway. You'll be in a tiny minority -- Guadeloupe's tourists are overwhelmingly European -- but you'll enjoy glorious uncrowded beaches, gorgeous rainforest, and some of the best food in the Caribbean. Hostellerie des Chateaux is a small (eight units) complex, east of St-François and just west of the tip of the island. For 110 euros a night, we got a spacious bungalow with a kitchenette and private terrace, excellent breakfasts (the homemade yogurt flecked with local vanilla bean was a real treat), and access to a superb outdoor restaurant/bar and beautiful large swimming pool. After exploring the towns, beaches, and rainforests of Guadeloupe all day, it was heavenly to return to this tropical French enclave. The owner of Hostellerie des Chateaux, Michel, is a welcoming, knowledgeable Swiss host who speaks excellent English (but indulged our fractured French because we wanted to practice it). If you want to get away from all-inclusive resorts and cruise-ship hordes, Hostellerie des Chateaux is for you. Vive la différence!

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank E.Bachman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Francois
8.3 mi away
Hotel Amaudo
Hotel Amaudo
#1 of 8 in Saint Francois
5.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
13.7 mi away
La Toubana Hotel & Spa
La Toubana Hotel & Spa
#2 of 9 in Sainte-Anne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
20.7 mi away
La Creole Beach Hotel
La Creole Beach Hotel
#1 of 23 in Le Gosier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
La Metisse
La Metisse
#2 of 8 in Saint Francois
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
9.7 mi away
Le Relais du Moulin
Le Relais du Moulin
#3 of 9 in Sainte-Anne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
4.7 mi away
Bwa Chik Hotel & Golf
Bwa Chik Hotel & Golf
#4 of 8 in Saint Francois
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie des Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie des Chateaux

Property: Hostellerie des Chateaux
Address: 1 Pointe des Chateaux, Saint Francois 97118, Guadeloupe
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Guadeloupe > Grande-Terre Island > Saint Francois
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Saint Francois
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel with 4 bungalows, 4 rooms in the main house and a restaurant around a large swimingpool in a tropical garden with a nice seasight. We are located near the reserve of Pointe des châteaux and the nices beaches in Guadeloupe ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostellerie des Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Des Chateaux Guadeloupe/Saint Francois

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing