We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in Haiti”
Review of Le Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Plaza Hotel
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Port-au-Prince
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

This was my first trip every to Haiti and I stay at Le Plaza hotel in Champs de Mars, this is really a five star hotel in the Ville. When I first arrived I was greeted by pleasant front desk ladies who assisted me with my reservation. I got to my from and was blown away because of how it decorated (beautiful Haitian arts in the room). The only issue I had was in my bathtube when I turned on the water black things, I didn't complain because I didn't feel like being bothered with maintenance coming in my room. I love the restaurant area the servers were excellent and they were always a second away when they were needed. The only thing I dislike about the hotel was that you only get wifi at the restaurant and not in the rooms. Le Plaza may want to consider of providing wifi service so customer can utilize the internet while they are in their room instead of the restaurant area only.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Trusha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

Traveled to this hotel March 2014 and was pleasantly surprised to find this gem of a hotel.
Rooms are standard and clean-had problems with A/C which was repaired; Open & common spaces are lovely-many plants & trees; pool well maintained; staff courteous and helpful though there may be some language barriers with some of the front desk staff-not all of them are fluent in English; They are appreciative of any efforts to speak French or Kreyol; Bar & dining area both open air area and enclosed restaurant. They sell 20oz bottled water; Food was good-though service is slow; Nice buffet breakfast was included in our visit.

This hotel is close to the University Hospital (HUEH), palace area; Hotel is well secured both at front entrance and gated back parking lot; Be aware of art vendors near front entrance-they are persistent.

Room Tip: Lower rooms have a walk out patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mgomez2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LePlazaPortauPrince, Manager at Le Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and give us feedback.
I am pleased to say that all our Front Desk Staff and many other are currently enrolled in English courses. We hope that this will help offer a seamless stay and we will also continue to work on speed of service. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Le Plaza Hotel is downtown on Champs de Mar Park. it is a lovely and warm hotel that maintains a quiet atmosphere. The rooms are simple and very clean. Internet does not always work in the room, but the business office and the restaurant (with great haitian coffee and good food) works.
I loved the porched buildings and gardens with a swimming pool.And the staff are really kind and helpful. A great Haitian style hotel. I work on Routes des Freres so it was a long drive through dense traffic, but worth coming back to! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: overlooking gardens and close to office on second floor are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Storydevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LePlazaPortauPrince, General Manager at Le Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We greatly appreciate it
We are please that you had a pleasant stay and we are constantly working to improve our internet coverage.
We hope that you will stay with us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This is my 2nd trip to Port-au-Prince this year. We stayed in Carrefour area earlier. This is a VERY average hotel. We paid $90 for a standard room, which is extremely over priced (2nd floor- building B). The AC didn't work, the bathroom was dated and very old. Although the room description included a flat screen TV, that is NOT what we had. No big worry there, but not as described.

This room, though not sold as such, did include a buffet breakfast. Pleasant surprise. It was adequate: scrambled eggs, oatmeal, breads, fruit, cereals, OJ, sausage one day, bacon the next.

We were there for 3 days over Christmas as we were visiting my fiancé's family. We found the staff to be nice, friendly & accommodating. The staff in the breakfast room were superb; the waitresses the first night in the bar/restaurant were nice enough but not very knowledgeable about the menu or bar/drink orders. The other times in the same restaurant area the male waiters were great.

Now, back to the room. We asked to be moved on the 2nd day and we were offered an Executive Room (+ $8.00/night). Not sure that it was "worth it". But we got a functioning AC unit, updated bathroom & flat screen TV. We were moved to building E, 3rd floor. We were comfortable. We were satisfied.

The hotel is rather nice when you first walk in. There is plenty of parking behind the entrance gates which are kept closed by armed guards (typical in Haiti). The hotel grounds are lush with vegetation; and the pool area is nice.

The other plus is the gym. It's on the 3rd floor in one of the buildings overlooking the pool. It is small, but adequate. There are two AC units, but they barely kept the room cool. There is a treadmill, 2 bikes & elliptical. There is a bench and plenty of free weights. There is also a very clean bathroom with shower. We enjoyed using the gym everyday.

I should note that there are two dining areas. The bar/restaurant is outdoors, partially covered, no AC. This is also where the breakfast buffet is served. We had lunch there one day, dinner, too. Meals were good!

The indoor restaurant is French. It is quite nice, with AC & linen. They have a dress code for lunch & dinner (we tried going in with pool cover ups & flip flops for lunch & were turned away).

On Christmas Day, we invited family over for a private dinner in this restaurant. We spoke to the manager in advance & she set up a buffet for 20pp. We had a marvelous time. Ended up having the restaurant to ourselves, as I'm sure the other hotel guests were out with family. The wait staff was excellent and the food very good.

One small complaint: we asked the reception staff for a recommendation for a Catholic church so we could attend mass on Christmas Day, and she had none. Never tried to do any research or offer any assistance. The internet was no help. God forgive us for not attending mass. :(

Overall, I would recommend. Just set your expectations appropriately. We will likely try another location on our next visit just to see what else is available.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LePlazaPortauPrince, General Manager at Le Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your detailed feedback on our property.
We very much appreciate the time you have taken to write this review and all points shares.
We continue to work on renovating our rooms which is a step by step process.
We appreciate that you enjoyed the restaurant service and hope that on your next visit we will be able to change your mind about our rooms

Thank you again for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I didn't stay at the hotel, but ate at the restaurant. It does not have air conditioning, but is an extremely pleasant little oasis in the middle of the hotel, and has great fans. Very delicious and reasonable meal, Creole-style but with international touches. We enjoyed the accra fritters; fresh vegetable salad (perfectly safe to eat); whole salted grilled fish; and "national rice" that was ridiculously tasty.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Person2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LePlazaPortauPrince, General Manager at Le Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a feedback.
We are delighted that you enjoyed our restaurant and hope that you will join us for lunch or dinner again sometime soon. We also have a wonderful indoor air conditioned Restaurant called Kanel which is open Monday to Saturday.
We hope to see again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

There are a few new hotels opening in port-au-prince which I think have drawn business away. The first night, the usual Sunday buffet was not available, neither was any food selection. It was either steak or some sort of stew. Meat was tough and the service was not good. For the next three days, this pattern continued. The rooms are pretty much the same but without any upgrades, continue to get more dingy and dated. Will certainly try another hotel next time. Seems some of the newer hotels are not that much more expensive.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CTNYC16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LePlazaPortauPrince, General Manager at Le Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us.
We apologize that your stay was not satisfactory especially with the levels of service in the restaurant. We continuously try to engage in training programs and hope that you may give us another chance.
We have indeed replaced the buffet option with 2 specials for Sunday but our regular menus is still available.
Several of our rooms have been upgraded an we hope to be able to offer you one of these executive rooms on you next visit.
Thank you again for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I love this hotel the service is great they very friendly and comfortable.you have to be on it to see what I m talking about,they workers specially I like they way they train them they very friendly ready to serve you anything that you want,i love they treat like im home.

Room Tip: higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emmanuel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LePlazaPortauPrince, General Manager at Le Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having take the time to post feedback.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience and appreciate the comments about our staff.
We hope to be able to serve you again soon.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port-au-Prince
0.9 mi away
Marriott Port-au-Prince Hotel
Marriott Port-au-Prince Hotel
#1 of 21 in Port-au-Prince
287 reviews
3.1 mi away
NH Haiti El Rancho
NH Haiti El Rancho
#1 of 13 in Petionville
718 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Premier Petion-Ville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Karibe Hotel
Karibe Hotel
#3 of 13 in Petionville
327 reviews
3.2 mi away
Royal Oasis
Royal Oasis
#8 of 13 in Petionville
247 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Habitation Hatt
Hotel Habitation Hatt
#10 of 21 in Port-au-Prince
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Plaza Hotel

Address: Rue Capois 10, Port-au-Prince, Haiti
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Haiti > Ouest Department > Port-au-Prince
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Port-au-Prince
Price Range: £67 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A well-established hotel in the center of Port-au-Prince, on the Champ de Mars, with 97 spacious guestrooms, On-site parking and direct access to a bank - Sogebank and Casino (Roy Plaza Casino) within our grounds. Large outdoor pool, and lush tropical garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Le Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Plaza Haiti Hotel Port-Au-Prince
Le Plaza Hotel Haiti/Port-Au-Prince

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing