We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good mixed with bad”
Review of Visa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Visa Lodge
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Port-au-Prince
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Visa Lodge is near the airport in Port au Prince so it is very convenient for that reason. However, we experienced some serious problems with our reservations. We were a group of 8, in Haiti for volunteer work. We reserved 5 rooms, by email, and after a while received a confirmation. Subse-quently, questions regarding the rooms, were rarely answered. We did confirm by phone that we needed the 5 rooms, and were assured 3 days prior to arrival that we had them. On arrival, we were told there were only 3 rooms. So some of us had to double up. Four of us in my room made do with a double bed and two small rollaway beds; fortunately the room was large and able to accomodate these beds. The front desk did substantially reduce the rate for all 8 of us, but only when strongly suggested by our group leader. The shower in our room was excellent, enough force and hot water, and we had a refrigerator, wide screen TV, and air conditioning. Wifi was available but very sporadic.
The rooms are in bungalows, each one with two units. The grounds are lovely, grassy with trees; it felt very peaceful. The pool is large and the view is nice from the pool area, which is adjacent to the dining area. The seafood pizza, on the menu, is outstanding. Breakfast, included with the rooms, was average, fruit, rolls, pancakes, and one can request a made to order omelet. The front desk staff were friendly and pleasant, as was the wait staff.
There is a shuttle to the airport, but it is a pickup truck so they cannot take a large group.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank schwartzapn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

I've stayed here about 10 or more times. Price is high for what you get. Port au Prince is an unpredictable city and you never know when civil unrest will shut down the city (or country), so the hotel's proximity to the airport is a positive. The rooms are OK -- usually clean (although I've had problems once or twice). Tile floors. Bathroom is below average because the counters are wooden, usually waterstained or otherwise marred with burns or marks, and sometimes just kind of hang a bit loosely from the wall. TV is usually snowy to some extent, but with several English channels. Light fixtures are frequently broken (esp. over the bed), or have missing bulbs. Cheap bar of soap and no shampoo. There's a large, tall cathedral ceiling over many rooms' sleeping area, with a good ceiling fan. But the lights in this same area are blinding flourescents. A/C usually work OK, but on at least 3 occasions the A/C was spewing water onto the desk area, then onto the floor (and in one room was draining down the wall into the light fixture). Decent breakfast service in the morning. There's a 3' refrigerator in the room (be sure to turn the thermostat down in the refrigerator when you first arrive -- otherwise it will only keep your liquids lukewarm). I don't use the swimming pool, but it looks nice (the dining area overlooks the pool).

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the reception area; otherwise you could be placed in a room in the far corner of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chartsfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The grounds are well-kept. The service is good. The food is good. The rooms are clean and the beds comfortable. Loved having air conditioning. Security is good. This is the second stay here for me, and I have no hesitation in returning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tkaylewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two days. Cery comfortable hotel. Rooms were clean, beds were comfortable, food was excellent, pool area was very nice, and Air Conditioning was excellent. Comparable to a good 3 Star in the states. All in all a good stay. I will return on my next mission trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kenspidey52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Had to be there for my work. Good nice bungelow style appartments and normal environment. As everywhere in haiti just must be careful with whatvyou eat and drink but the pizza at the bar restaurant is the bestbpizza i had in years so....
Swimmingpool was nice after work and for the rest is was fine. Ok the wifi far from the lobby is not working but that give you an excuses to go to the bar and order pizza.
Ok bring your own shampoo soap is present. And ofcourse armed guards and the entrance but that is an relaxing point.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aecur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

My wife and I booked this hotel for 2 nights after staying at a dismal hotel (Habitation Hatt). I am so glad that we found this place. I do not have anything bad to say about this hotel. Food was great. Pool, room and atmosphere made this hotel awesome for my wife and I. We are coming back in 30 days for 4 more nights. Employees all were very nice and always had smiles. The owner was a cool dude nice to talk to. I did not know they had free airport transportation but I do now. Thank you VISA LODGE.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PabloNagua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

I found that the rooms were clean and the airconditioning was very good. We had supper there and the portions were huge and the food was good. Also included was breakfast which I found the selection to be fine

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port-au-Prince
0.0 mi away
Marriott Port-au-Prince Hotel
Marriott Port-au-Prince Hotel
#1 of 21 in Port-au-Prince
284 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Plaza Hotel
Le Plaza Hotel
#3 of 21 in Port-au-Prince
178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Servotel
Servotel
#2 of 21 in Port-au-Prince
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Habitation Hatt
Hotel Habitation Hatt
#10 of 21 in Port-au-Prince
51 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palm Inn
Palm Inn
#4 of 21 in Port-au-Prince
97 reviews
0.0 mi away
NH Haiti El Rancho
NH Haiti El Rancho
#1 of 13 in Petionville
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Visa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Visa Lodge

Address: Route des Nimes, Port-au-Prince, Haiti
Region: Caribbean > Haiti > Ouest Department > Port-au-Prince
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Port-au-Prince
Price Range: £99 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Visa Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Visa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Visa Hotel Port Au Prince
Visa Lodge Haiti/Port-Au-Prince

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing