We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tired tourist's paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Papillon Enterprise

Papillon Enterprise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Papillon Enterprises is a socially & ecologically conscious business with a mission of stimulating the Haitian economy by selling and marketing Haitian artisan goods. We offer a beautiful and safe shopping experience with a variety of locally made products. Grab a fresh made smoothie, or coffee drink while you shop.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A tired tourist's paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

I shopped at Papillon Enterprises in December 2012 after participating in the Jimmy and Rosalyn Carter project with Habitat for Humanity and then visiting friends in Les Cayes and Bonnefin. In Port au Prince I stayed at a Guesthouse (My Father's House?) near Papillon Enterprise. The Papillon shops are comfortable, cool, and well organized. The crafts, artwork, and other goods are fun to shop. I stocked up on thank-you gifts that I was able to share with friends and family who contributed funds for some of my activities in Haiti. Jewelry items were especially popular among my friends. I am almost out of artisan note cards I bought in the shop. Seems like a sign that it's time to go back and visit friends in Haiti. When I do, I will make an effort to get back to Papillon.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    12
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oromocto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Great shop for tourist. Prices are decent. Very cute little cafe in the back and the staff are very friendly.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jo-Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port-au-Prince, Haiti
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Product”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

This is a business in Haiti that is doing it right. The product is beautiful, wholesale options are available, as well as tours, coffee and smoothies. Follow the orange papillon (butterfly) signs place around the city to help you find your way. New roads to this location are also making it easier to find. Its a must see for any visitor or local to see.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CallieHimsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Shop handmade antiques and Haitian’s handicraft”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Papillon is an incredible place to shop for antique and Haitian handicrafts. There is a working where you can actually watch the procedure of making antiques and the raw material they use. Basically, they use quality raw material, which does not affect your health and looks beautiful in your house. Moreover, the product they use is well-finished and gives the lustrous look to every antique and handicraft. There you will many gifting items that are reasonable in price as well. All the workers who are working actually giving advantage to their families plus they are putting all their efforts in the work. Their work actually shows their hard work and sincerity towards their work. I loved this place very much and fact that workers are working for their family, not only for themselves.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank lorna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hard to get to, but well worth the effort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Papillon is an incredible find. It is both a gallery of Haitian handicraft (that is geared to a wider audience's tastes) and a working factory. You'll find great beads, ceramics, punched tin ornaments and pieces of art--and these fabulous rolled paper beaded creations being used now by Donna Karan and Chan Lu in their jewelry. And there's a smoothie bar to boot! What's really special is that the folks working here are being paid a living wage, and their work provides for their families. It was easy to find beautiful things for Christmas gifts, the only problem is that I want to keep them for myself.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Papillon Enterprise also viewed

Port-au-Prince, Ouest Department
Port-au-Prince, Ouest Department
 
Haiti, Caribbean
Port-au-Prince, Ouest Department
 

Been to Papillon Enterprise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing