We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mission trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mont Joli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mont Joli
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Cap-Haitien
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Mission trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel was nice. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Lobo, the bartender made us feel like we were actually on vacation instead of a work-filled mission trip. The pool is very clean and the food was very good.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank djb0726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    35
    19
    17
    3
See reviews for
16
7
7
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

After spending a week with a medical mission team in the mountains of Haiti, Monti Joli came a breath of fresh air to relax, rejuvenate, and regroup. The room was clean and comfortable, the bar is open and inviting, and the food is hot and delicious. Easy to find and well priced, I would recommend Mont Joli to anyone traveling and staying abroad in Cap-Haitien. I will stay there myself from now on and use it as a base of operations for any medical missions and water teams I might be working with in the future. Thanks Nicolas, your hotel and hospitality were very much appreciated.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClayBeers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

I was surprised and disturbed that the room I stayed was in such poor condition.
I hope they renovate the rooms and change the furnitures! matress was bad and led to a poor sleep, chairs and table are damaged. Bathroom is unreal, tub was stained or discolored, no toiled tissue holder, around the bar there is a very strong sewer smell basically I would never stay there again and would never refer any friends there. I post this review so other people can read it and the owner hopefully renovates the hotel for that amount he charges. Cap-Hsitien needs more hotel like the one on boulevard.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justingallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haymarket, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

I had a wonderful stay at the Mont Joli earlier this month. The room was very accommodating, central location, food was excellence and late night drink service was fantastic. We had a great time at the pool in the evening and the breakfast hot and fresh in the morning. Can’t wait to come back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

I've stayed at Mont Joli on several occasions and even stayed for an extended period of time a few years ago. I have absolutely no complaints. The views are breathtaking, the service is great and the food is to die for!!! They have those troubadou musicians by the restsurant at night playing beautiful local music. Its so relaxing to listen to that while having a delicious dinner by the pool. Yhey have functionning A/C, clean running water, HOT water thank you Lord lol! The staff is friendly, professional and well versed in several languages. In my opinion it is THE place to stay in Cap-Haitien. I have recommended it to my family and friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centreville, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Mont Joli is situated above the city of Cap Haitien with beautiful terraces and a pool. The sunrise and views are spectacular! You can see across Cap Haitien to the mountains beyond as well as sailboats making their way out to fish each morning. It is a very peaceful location away from the hustle bustle of the city but within walking distance of restaurants. There is a great flat screen TV and covered bar area for watching sporting events and informal gatherings. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are clean with great pillows. My stay at Mont Joli was wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorton, VA
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

It is important to know a person’s level of travel and expectations when reading reviews; therefore, I offer an introduction:

My husband and I have used Trip Advisor for 10 years to select our hotels all over the world. We do a lot of research before we take a trip to minimize any surprises and get what we pay for. We are well-traveled; staying in hostels and 5 star beach front suites both in the States and abroad. My husband planned our 3 week African safari honeymoon based on the Trip Advisor forums. We are so grateful for the suggestions and recommendations we received.

I went without my husband to Haiti in support of the Helping Haitian Angels (HHA) organization out of northern Virginia. Accommodations were arranged by HHA. This is my review.

Mont Joli Hotel is a beautiful hotel overlooking Cap Haiten and the Caribbean Sea. The staff were very friendly providing very good service with great smiles! I enjoyed meeting and talking with Raphoël of the evening dining/pool service and Lobo of the main level patio terrace and bar.

Mont Joli has spectacular views of Cap Haiten from every level of the hotel. You can watch the sunrise over the sea from the main level patio terrace. The pool was clean. The rooms and bathrooms are clean and the bed was comfortable and I had 4 nice fluffy pillows. The rooms have a flat screen TV. There is one restaurant with indoor and outdoor dining with both a buffet and a la carte dining. We had the breakfast buffet (American breakfast) and dinner buffet daily (we did not order a la carte); the restaurant was clean and the food was good. The last night it rained and we took refuge as a group in the main level patio terrace bar overlooking the lights of Cap Haiten and a huge night sky; there was also a huge flat screen TV usually showing sporting events.

Always there is room for improvement: the shower curtain was too short and we had ants. But really, if ants are a problem for you then you probably shouldn’t be visiting Haiti. Coffee service on the Terrace would be nice; currently you have to get coffee at the main dining room on the lower level. I recommend the hotel and would return.

Personal photos attached (9/30/2013-10/7/2013).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cap-Haitien hotels
2.4 mi away
Cormier Plage Resort
Cormier Plage Resort
#3 of 9 in Cap-Haitien
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Roi Christophe
Hotel du Roi Christophe
#4 of 9 in Cap-Haitien
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
5.1 mi away
Auberge Villa Cana
Auberge Villa Cana
#6 of 9 in Cap-Haitien
3.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Imperial
Hotel Imperial
#7 of 9 in Cap-Haitien
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.8 mi away
Habitation Jouissant
Habitation Jouissant
#1 of 9 in Cap-Haitien
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rival Hotel
Rival Hotel
#9 of 9 in Cap-Haitien
3.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mont Joli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mont Joli

Property: Mont Joli
Address: Rue 29, Cap-Haitien 1113, Haiti
Region: Caribbean > Haiti > Nord Department > Cap-Haitien
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Cap-Haitien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mont Joli 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Mont Joli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mont Joli Hotel Cap-Haitien
Mont Joli Cap Haitien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing